Pleasantrees Farm

  (Hopkins , Michigan)
Random thoughts and tips
[ Member listing ]

First Ever Blog Post

My first ever blog post!

 

I have been planning to do this for a while now, and just haven't had the extra time.

For starters, I am a 36 year old male. Married to my wonderful wife of just over three years, with our 3 children ages 5,8,11.  We all live on 6 acres just outside of a small town, about an hour east Lake Michigan.

Our plan is to raise beef, rabbits, chickens, ducks, and maybe a goat or two.We have had one other attempt at raising livestock. Last year we raised a  Holstein bull calf, and several ducks.   (The kids have a riot naming the animals, Piglet was the calves name, and our one remaining duck is named hot chocolate.)

In addition to the animals, I plan on growing the majority of the food our family will need throughout the season. We are also registered medical marijuana caregivers, and grow organic medicine for our three patients.

  As money is available, we will be swapping out our terribly inefficient propane powered furnace, and replacing it with a combination of wood, solar, and geothermal.  We have a creek in the back, and my dream is to somehow convert to hydroelectric. Probably just a pipe dream,

So, what I will do on this site, is take a little time each day to type down the adventures of our family.  Feel free to read, comment, or offer advice as you see fit.  I will welcome it all.

J

 




Bookmark:    add to del.icio.us del.icio.us   add to technorati Technorati   add to Digg Digg   add to Google Google   add to stumbleupon StumbleUpon
 
 
Comments:

Post a Comment:
Comments are closed for this entry.

RSS feed for Pleasantrees Farm blog. Right-click, copy link and paste into your newsfeed reader

Calendar


Search


Navigation


Topics


Feeds


BlogRoll