Not logged in, login or create an account

There are 13 replies To this message.

Author Topic: How much pasture land for how many cows? Numbers
Click to reply to this message
  yummyfarmer
  Bronx
How much pasture land for how many cows? Numbers    (Posted Wed, May 9 '07 at 08:24 UTC)

Hi Everyone,
I'd like to know how much acre of pasture land would be needed for x number of cattle/cows. PA/NY/NY region.
Or.. if you have 5 acre what is the maximum number of cows allowed to have enough food for all them...grass feeding etc.
Just trying to learn and find out things.
Also what about food for winter for the cows. How much and what is needed to feed them organically.
I am a newbie.
thanks
Ibo

kitchensqueen
 Chicago
Re: How much pasture land for how many cows? Numbers    (Posted Thu, May 10 '07 at 04:25 UTC)

Probably 1-2 full size head on 5 acres. For small breed/miniature breeds you could do 2 head per acre, so 8-10.

http://apartmentfarm.wordpress.com http://shadetreestudios.etsy.com
 yummyfarmer
 Bronx
Re: How much pasture land for how many cows? Numbers    (Posted Thu, May 10 '07 at 08:04 UTC)

Hi,
thank you very much. Wow....
I thought it would be more...anyone else who has some experience or answers on this?
2 full size cows for 5 acres...Is that because there is just not enough food?...I guess so? How to feed them in winter? Buy hay in advance?? What would one have to grow on his own farm to feed them through the winter...? Grow grains and then dry the whole plants?
Sorry for so many questions...
thanks for anyone who has answers
Ibo

eightoclockranch
 De Kalb Junction
Re: How much pasture land for how many cows? Numbers    (Posted Thu, May 10 '07 at 09:44 UTC)