Decent, but a bit disappointing
By: Sam (Apr 21, 2012)
I placed an order for some Egyptian walking onion sets. Before ordering, I e-mailed the store to ask them how soon the sets would ship out if I were to place an order. The owner responded and said that they would ship out the very same day.
So, I placed an order for the onion sets. However, even though I placed my order before 8 a.m., the sets did NOT ship out the same day. Instead, they shipped out the following day. Normally, that wouldn't be a big deal, but if you promise somebody something and then don't deliver, it certainly doesn't look good.
Anyway, the item description said "10 onion sets," and the price was about $8 (not including shipping). I thought the sets would be about as big as regular onion sets. But when they arrived, I was shocked at how small they were. I put them all on a digital kitchen scale, and they weighed only a *tenth* of an ounce! (Yes, a tenth of an ounce.) Another merchant on LocalHarvest sells a whole ounce (i.e., 10 times the weight) for about the same price. So, I do think this item was overpriced.
Even though the sets were tiny, I was actually sent 14. Of those 14, 8 came up, which is pretty decent. They're not growing super-fast, but they look healthy, so I'm looking forward to having some nice onions.
In a nutshell, my experience with this store was decent, but a bit disappointing.
Comments on this Review:
Jessica Morgan says: (Apr 26, 2012)
Sam, I am terribly sorry you were dissatisfied with your purchase. I work very hard and take pride in shipping my orders 6 days a week. Sometimes delays arise. But I'm happy your onions sprouted and I am certain that you will receive great joy from them, as they are truly a beautiful plant. Thank you for leaving feedback. ~Jessica Morgan