Reviews for: Southern Exposure Seed Exchange

Average Review:

13 reviews



Great bean!!
By: Shawn Hensley    (Jun 22, 2014)

We were given seed by "Granny" years ago, and always called our beans "Granny beans." These are the most versatile bean. They grow in bunches that are easy to pick and are very prolific. We usually plant the seeds in the ground in mid-April and have beans from mid-June until late September. We can/freeze them green and let some dry (better flavor than common pinto beans). They have one string on each side that is super easy to remove as you "break" them. We will keep producing seed to pass down to the next generation.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Good value & just what I wanted
By: Nancy Smith    (Mar 25, 2014)

fast response and mailing

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



So far so GREAT !!
By: Jennifer Looy    (Feb 18, 2014)

I just received my seed packets (artichoke, Brussels sprouts, arugula, and dill). They arrived safe and sound in a padded envelope. They arrived on time and as expected. Each seed packet has instructions on how to sow the seeds. I look forward to giving them a try this season. Thank you Southern Exposure Seed Exchange.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Hearty, grows well in extremely adverse conditions,
By: Marilyn Sloper    (Feb 12, 2014)

Last year (summer 2013) I was renting in the city. The only yard space to grow anything was at the end of a long, sloping driveway where plows had pushed the snow and the salt runoff there had accumulated for years. It was far from ideal!

The "Hazel Field Farm" Tomatoes were the only ones which grew well and produced lots of tomatoes in spite of the horrible soil conditions. 90% of all of my other tomatoes - and 100% of every other vegetable planted in that area -died before producing anything at all. Hazel Field, however, grew bushy and gave heavy yields of large, red tomatoes, even though the plants didn't grow higher than 3-4 feet and died off before the first hard frost.

I was very impressed with the strength of these tomato plants to overcome such adversity!

This year I live in the country and am going to plant these again. I can imagine how great they will be when planted in very favorable conditions!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Thank you <3
By: DUSTIN P ALEXANDER    (Dec 6, 2013)

Came to me very fast and packaged beautifully! Thank you so much,I look forward to my first harvest. Aletheia and Dustin Alexander

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



WOW ! Every seed came up.
By: T. A. THOMAS    (Aug 21, 2011)

The cow horn seed i purchased from you had 100% germination. All seed planted sprouted and i am still cutting okra off them.Thanks for providing a first class product. Thomas in South Carolina

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



No such place as Pungo Creek VA
By: Jane Winsor    (Aug 10, 2011)

There is no such place as Pungo Creek, VA on the Eastern Shore. Therefore, this corn could not have been grown there for 165 years! False Advertising.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Carey Creed says:    (Oct 7, 2012)

Mr. Savage is probably accustomed to using the abbreviated name; it's actually Pungoteague Creek located in Accomack County, VA. For more info, please see http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pungoteague_Creek_Light.



On the ball shipping!
By: Jill McKeever    (Apr 6, 2011)

Thank you for sending my seeds so quickly!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Becky Vigon says:    (May 26, 2011)

I have never had anything but happy and excellent results from SE seeds. (Did you think to call and talk to them before writing a nasty review?)