Reviews for: Biophilia Organic Farm

Average Review:

15 reviews



The highlight of our week!
By: Christy Hawkins    (Apr 15, 2014)

I am so glad that it is almost time to start seeing Phil and his wonderful team weekly for our organic produce! Gathering our weekly surprises has encouraged us to be more creative in the kitchen and even as a vegeterian for 20 years, I am happy to be discovering new recipes as a result of our weekly "goods." With just half a share, it is more than enough for my husband and I. I usually have a few things to pass along to neighbors too. I know I feel better eating the veggies from Biophilia but I was pleasantly surprised for proof of just how important eating my greens and the veggies are. After our first Biophilia season, at my annual check up my doctor looked at my bloodwork results and said "obviously you take your multi-vitamins." And the coolest part is that I actually do not, I beleive in getting our nutrients from our food. For the last three years as a Biophilia member, each Fall I get the same excellent levels of vitamins. Much gratitidue and love to Phil, Clare & Pudge!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



First Experience
By: BOB SEYFARTH    (Apr 10, 2014)

Last year was our first experience with a CSA and we decided to work a couple of hours a week at Biophilia for a half share. We enjoyed the farm and Phil so much we found ourselves there longer than we needed to be. Our share provided us with many greens that we never tried before as well as nine different types of garlic. We also tried dozens of different types of tomatoes as well as okra, peppers, potatoes and other weekly surprises. All of this was absolutely delicious. Our half share was so abundant that we were often able to share it with family and neighbors. We enjoyed working on the farm with Phil and other members of the CSA so much we are doing it again this year (and have already been out there a few times before the season starts)!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Looking forward to another great season
By: Darlene Roces    (Apr 8, 2014)

Phil does a great job providing fresh produce as well as community spirit. I look forward to picking up our 1/2 share every Thursday which is always a decent quantity and exceptionally fresh. There is usually an interesting veggie or two that is sure to spark interesting conversation and a recipe exchange. We are now addicted to okra! Phil also allows a swapping table that allows one to customize their share.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Port Jefferson Farmers Market
By: Craig Hartog    (Apr 8, 2014)

I am looking forward to picking up the weekly "Goodies" provided by Phil from Biophilia Organic Farm at the Port Jeff Farmers Market. I needed a convenient pick up site and Biophilia was highly recommended by other organic CSA's. I have been very satified with our produce and service. Phil and family are a pleasure and the vegetables have been abundant and the variety is great. Phil is full of knowledge and always sharing interesting information on this weeks harvest. On the occasion I picked up at the farm, I was invited to jump in the golf cart and got the grand tour! I highly recommend Biophilla and look forward to the buckets of goodies all throughout the year.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Excellent
By:    (Apr 8, 2014)

This will be my third year with Biophilia. I am a full share worker, working at least 4 hours once a week for 20 weeks. The produce that we raise on the farm is excellent. In the Spring, we harvest mostly greens, and as the seasons progress, more and more vegetables enter our boxes. Everything is delicious and raised according to strict organic standards. This past year, we had enough tomatoes to make sauce. My wife and I had the last of the sweet potatoes on April 2, and they were sweet and delicious. I am very pleased with the quality of the produce and its abundance. As an added bonus, the flowers that we get each week are great.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



The Best!!! Unbelievable experience!!!
By:    (Apr 8, 2014)

I can't say enough good things about this farm and it's farmer Phil. I have been part of this CSA for years now, and each year is better than the last. The enormous quantity and variety of tomatoes at the end of the season is overwhelming. The potato variety is gorgeous in color, and all of the vegetables are picked the same day you get them, filling your car with the most amazing smell impossible to reproduce even from the supermarkets organic section or even from a regular farmstand I have not experienced this. Anything you don't like can be traded for something you do like. Farmer Phil is one of the nicest people I have ever met, and anyone associated with him is special as well. He runs a great young farmers program that he doesn't make a dime off of, just to teach the next generation. They plant, weed, and harvest their own plots.He also has potluck lunch days, and tastings (the tomatoe and garlic one is priceless. The variety of both are unreal) for members. Best farm and CSA!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Thank you Farmer Phil for a fantastic experience
By: Gia Heeg    (Apr 8, 2014)

We were members of Biophilia's CSA last year and joyfully joined again this year. Phil has a wonderful farm and a fantastic program that not only opened my eyes to what is available locally, but gave my young son a chance to learn about where his veggies come from. My son is 5 and was a member of the young farmer's program Phil is kind enough to have along with the CSA. Colin loved it, and so did we.

This was my first experience with a CSA, and I am so happy that I did it. The produce was great, and I am fully endorsing Farmer Phil and Biophilia. I cant wait for our first pick up!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Awesome Experience!
By: gina baranello    (Oct 25, 2013)

I have bought from quit a few Organic Farms on the East End of Long Island and and I must say this is one of the Best! What a great Experience. I had gotten the best shares of greens and herbs through the whole season. Buckets of Tomatos, potatoes, peppers, okra and sweet potatoes of Course Garlic and Hot peppers, just to name a few items and whatever was in season at the moment. Its great to know where your food comes from and any question that I may have Phil or Claire (the farmers Daughter) would be happy to answer. I met many nice, informative and smart people who were willing to share with everyone!! The best was that I had the pleasure of Sharing Phil and Claire's produce with my 83 year old Aunt who was here in August for a 2 week stay. We had Fresh Greens everynight. She knows the value of quality produce having grown up on a Farm from the age of 2 months old, on Long Island, she now lives in South Carolina. My Aunt could not get over how wonderful the greens and Tomatoes were. She kept saying "The tomatoes are like Papa's!! "They looked and tasted like her Fathers. Well when she went back to South Carolina I had to bring her to the airport and carry her bags Her pocket book was over 10 lbs all by itself. Keep in mind she is 4'9" and 85 lbs. We had to redistribute the contents of bags while at the airport. She had tomatoes from Biophilia in all 3 of her bags. When she got home her friends in her community had the pleasure of eating the tomatoes as well!!!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review