Reviews for: Murray Hill Farm

Average Review:

24 reviews



Quality and Convenience
By: Jessica Alley    (Nov 16, 2013)

We have been subscribing to the Winter and Summer CSA at Murray Hill Farm for 3 years. We obviously have been very satisfied with the quality of the produce and other products that they provide. Chuck is always accommodating if we cannot make our normal pickup time/day. Often he adds in extra produce if it is available making up for any weeks that may have had fewer items due to weather. We have received much more organic produce than we could purchase in the store for the cost of the CSA. Chuck offers discounts and extra products for early payment every season and it keeps us out of the big box grocery stores which is what our original goal was. His produce is incomparable, non GMO and free of chemicals and pesticides. The CSA at Murray Hill has been a wonderful resource for our family. I would recommend it to anyone looking to support local business.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Good for our Paleo diet
By: Michael Murray    (Nov 15, 2013)

My wife and I have been very happy with what we've gotten from Murray Hill Farm (good name! =D). We try to eat Paleo since we started Crossfit. We enjoy the produce and eggs but also the available beef, chickens and pork. There's a lot of variety of produce and we've been introduced to some new things that we've really enjoyed. Thanks!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Still Glad with Our Choice
By: George Crisci    (Nov 14, 2013)

I commented on the quality of Chuck's produce during the Winter program in January. After participating in the Summer program, our high opinion of the quality of the produce and the service remains unchanged. We are participating in the Winter program for the second time.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Fantastic organic options!
By: Christina Scherley    (Nov 10, 2013)

We have been purchasing both summer and winter shares from Murray Hill Farm for nearly two years now. We cannot be happier with our decision to go organic. We have had the pleasure of getting high-quality, fresh produce, along with tasty chickens, turkeys, and beef. Chuck is friendly, knowledgable, and accommodating. He is always willing to work with us to ensure that we have a positive CSA experience. We but very little at the grocery store and don't plan on ever returning! Thanks, Chuck!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Not great
By: Nicole Pieffer    (Aug 20, 2013)

We purchased the full share with eggs, we have yet to receive a full box since it began and have gone weeks without eggs. More than half the produce that is in season and on the list of expected items we have not gotten. One box I received had four peaches (along with a few other produce items) in it, and they were completely rotten and moldy. We are supposed to get a dozen eggs every other week, and went four weeks without getting any. A friend of mine went with another farm and their box is full with all different types of produce, we have yet to have that. It is over $36 a week, I feel I could go to a farmers marker and purchase much more produce and a larger variety for that amount of money. We have been getting zucchini, squash, cucumbers, and cabbage...I love those things but was really looking forward to a variety of produce. We are very disappointed.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Chuck Murray says:    (Nov 5, 2013)

I wish you would have contacted us during the season. We would have addressed your concerns and made things right. As far as the eggs go, we doubled up eggs whenever we were short the week before. I do not recall you telling us you did not receive eggs. Speaking directly with someone from the farm is the best remedy.



Good quality, but disappointed
By: John    (Aug 10, 2013)

As a member of the CSA program, I found myself disappointed in the amount of produce that I get each week. The share is supposed to be approximately one bushel per week, and I have found that it has consistently been half of a bushel or less. So, the quantity is what I'm really disappointed in. I know that MHF takes pride in its product, and the quality has been fine, but for what it charges (higher than the average CSA), I'm not sure it's worth it.

There are many, many positive reviews for MHF, so maybe it's just me!?

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

John says:    (Sep 28, 2013)

I continue to be unhappy and echo the review following my own.

Chuck Murray says:    (Nov 5, 2013)

We encourage our CSA customers to contact us in season with any concerns they may have. We always strive for 100% satisfaction. I was not aware you were looking for more quantity. For every customer that asks for more, I have 5 others telling me we are giving them too much produce. On the weeks we have plenty of fruit, the boxes will be not always be full to the top. I do not want to load up the boxes with lots of kale or other produce that cannot be consumed in one week. I am sorry you did not feel the quantity was sufficient and will be contacting you to pick up a free Winter basket.

Chuck Murray says:    (Nov 5, 2013)

I am not sure who this is. Please email me so I can get you a complimentary winter basket with eggs on November 9th.



Worth the Investment
By: George Crisci    (Jan 4, 2013)

As with others, this was our first CSA experience. It has been well worth it! The food quality is excellent. Chuck is a pleasure to work with. He is informative and responsive. We look forward to ordering from him in the future

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



A Great CSA Experience!
By: Angie Obbish    (Mar 20, 2012)

Our winter share with Murray Hill Farm was the first CSA experience we have ever had, and I must say it exceeded our expectations by far. We were astounded at the wonderful variety of vegetables, fruit, meats, eggs, grain products, and all of the great extras like honey, maple syrup, jam, cider and so much more. Everything was of the highest quality and so flavorful. The meat literally melts in your mouth. You can really taste the difference when you buy locally grown food. Chuck is very knowledgeable, great to work with and you can see that he puts his heart and soul into his farm. He cares about his CSA customers, answers any questions we may have, and shares a glimpse of his life on Murray Hill Farm through his website and facebook page. It is so much fun to see the video clips he posts. It makes you feel like you are right there working right along side of him, plus it is great to see where your food comes from. I encourage you to give the Murray Hill CSA a try. You will be glad you did!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review