Reviews for: Murray Hill Farm

Average Review:

28 reviews



Not great
By: Nicole Pieffer    (Aug 20, 2013)

We purchased the full share with eggs, we have yet to receive a full box since it began and have gone weeks without eggs. More than half the produce that is in season and on the list of expected items we have not gotten. One box I received had four peaches (along with a few other produce items) in it, and they were completely rotten and moldy. We are supposed to get a dozen eggs every other week, and went four weeks without getting any. A friend of mine went with another farm and their box is full with all different types of produce, we have yet to have that. It is over $36 a week, I feel I could go to a farmers marker and purchase much more produce and a larger variety for that amount of money. We have been getting zucchini, squash, cucumbers, and cabbage...I love those things but was really looking forward to a variety of produce. We are very disappointed.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Chuck Murray says:    (Nov 5, 2013)

I wish you would have contacted us during the season. We would have addressed your concerns and made things right. As far as the eggs go, we doubled up eggs whenever we were short the week before. I do not recall you telling us you did not receive eggs. Speaking directly with someone from the farm is the best remedy.

Dyane Sherwood says:    (Jul 23, 2014)

I wish I had paid more attention to your review! unhappy customer 2014



Good quality, but disappointed
By: John    (Aug 10, 2013)

As a member of the CSA program, I found myself disappointed in the amount of produce that I get each week. The share is supposed to be approximately one bushel per week, and I have found that it has consistently been half of a bushel or less. So, the quantity is what I'm really disappointed in. I know that MHF takes pride in its product, and the quality has been fine, but for what it charges (higher than the average CSA), I'm not sure it's worth it.

There are many, many positive reviews for MHF, so maybe it's just me!?

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

John says:    (Sep 28, 2013)

I continue to be unhappy and echo the review following my own.

Chuck Murray says:    (Nov 5, 2013)

We encourage our CSA customers to contact us in season with any concerns they may have. We always strive for 100% satisfaction. I was not aware you were looking for more quantity. For every customer that asks for more, I have 5 others telling me we are giving them too much produce. On the weeks we have plenty of fruit, the boxes will be not always be full to the top. I do not want to load up the boxes with lots of kale or other produce that cannot be consumed in one week. I am sorry you did not feel the quantity was sufficient and will be contacting you to pick up a free Winter basket.

Chuck Murray says:    (Nov 5, 2013)

I am not sure who this is. Please email me so I can get you a complimentary winter basket with eggs on November 9th.

Dyane Sherwood says:    (Jul 23, 2014)

Dear John, See my review, and thank you for posting yours. I wish I had paid more attention to it! Unhappy 2014 Customer



Worth the Investment
By: George Crisci    (Jan 4, 2013)

As with others, this was our first CSA experience. It has been well worth it! The food quality is excellent. Chuck is a pleasure to work with. He is informative and responsive. We look forward to ordering from him in the future

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



A Great CSA Experience!
By: Angie Obbish    (Mar 20, 2012)

Our winter share with Murray Hill Farm was the first CSA experience we have ever had, and I must say it exceeded our expectations by far. We were astounded at the wonderful variety of vegetables, fruit, meats, eggs, grain products, and all of the great extras like honey, maple syrup, jam, cider and so much more. Everything was of the highest quality and so flavorful. The meat literally melts in your mouth. You can really taste the difference when you buy locally grown food. Chuck is very knowledgeable, great to work with and you can see that he puts his heart and soul into his farm. He cares about his CSA customers, answers any questions we may have, and shares a glimpse of his life on Murray Hill Farm through his website and facebook page. It is so much fun to see the video clips he posts. It makes you feel like you are right there working right along side of him, plus it is great to see where your food comes from. I encourage you to give the Murray Hill CSA a try. You will be glad you did!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Taste and see the difference!
By: Trisha Grisko    (Jan 18, 2012)

After hearing all the great things about CSA's and Murray Hill Farm, we decided to give it a run and haven't looked back. Let me tell you first hand; the switch from grocery store bought produce to Murray Hill Farm has been astounding! It can not get any more fresh, which makes for some fantastic cooking. My husband thinks I am a gourmet chef now and he's even joined me in the kitchen! Chuck has been great to work with. His excitement and knowledge has inspired me to learn more about my food. Not just where it comes from and how it gets there (next time check the labels and see just how far the stuff travels to get to you- and ask yourself how fresh could it really be?) but also different kinds of fruits & vegetables that aren't even in the stores! He shares recipes and tips on what to use first out of your CSA basket. You will have fun experimenting in the kitchen and finding new ways to prepare foods you have made for years. Not only is the food great but so are the people at Murray Hill. They take great pride in what they do & it shows. You are even welcome out on the Farm to help & you'll catch me out there getting my hands dirty. The baskets are plentiful and so are the friends. As Murray Hill saying goes ****Peace, Love & Veggies***** Thanks guys!- Trish

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Wonderful CSA
By: Kathi Fay    (Oct 4, 2011)

this is our first year as CSA members and we are more than pleased. we get a variety of fruits and vegetables and all are delicious as well as the farm fresh eggs. it's amazing how much better everything takes than the grocery store equivalents. and it's awesome that it's organic. every week we can't wait to see what we're getting. we are so pleased we are definitely continuing on with the winter csa. thanks

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Great CSA!
By: Marcy Anderson    (Oct 3, 2011)

This was our first year with the Murray Hill CSA and we are so happy we joined! The veggies, fruit, and meat were very fresh and you truly taste the difference when you are buying all natural and local! I have peace of mind knowing where our food is coming from.

Chuck does a great job and we are looking forward to continuing with the Murray Hill CSA!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Love taking the kids to the farm!!!!
By: Rhoda Rak    (Jan 24, 2011)

This is our 2nd year as CSA members and we love the fruit, veggies and eggs. Everything is so fresh and delicious! Chuck loves what he does and puts a lot of hard work into providing a great selection of fruit and veggies. Each week we look forward to trying a new veggie and a new recipe. Our whole family enjoys driving out to the farm to feed the chickens and collect some fresh eggs. We will never go back to store bought produce or eggs again. Looking forward to another delicious season!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review