Reviews for: Murray Hill Farm

Average Review:

24 reviews



Recommended
By: Martin Douglas    (Sep 28, 2010)

This is my first CSA experience and I really enjoyed the variety of fresh fruits and vegetables. Also I have tried many new vegetables (new to me) that I have seen at the grocery store and passed by. From the spring asparagus and rhubarb to the summer tomatoes and herbs to the fall squash there has been a nice variety. Also having the free range eggs each week has been a luxury. Chuck corresponds often with recipes, farm updates and photos along with what will be provided at the next pick up. I feel he really wants his members to be involved. The pick up at Kamm's Corner is a snap. Plus the option of honey, flowers, maple syrup, meat and/or extra fruits and vegetables is a nice option. Thanks for a great summer.

DC Rocky River

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Great opportunity!
By: n. mcbride    (Sep 27, 2010)

Wow! What a great opportunity. We were able to be part of Murray Hill Farm's CSA program starting in the spring of 2010. Weekly, we received bountiful baskets of fresh produce from the farm. The continual supply of locally grown, organic produce has been amazing. New items would be added as they came into harvest. Recipes and recommended uses for the weekly crops were a bonus.

Farmer Chuck puts his heart and soul into his work!

Fresh free range chicken eggs were delicious. Our whole family appreciated the more flavorful taste in the eggs! We also were able to purchase fresh cut (then frozen) chickens, pork-packs and beef for our meat supply. Outstanding.

It has been quite a treat to be part of the Murray Hill farm CSA. We look forward to future deliveries! We can't recommend it enough.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



So glad I joined a CSA
By: Vikki Fitz    (Sep 25, 2010)

This was my first time in a CSA. I was very happy with all the fresh food that was provided every week. There is nothing like fresh eggs. Chuck is great with sending weekly emails & helpful hints. I would recommend that everyone purchase from a local farmer. The fact that we are helping our local farmers while feeding our family the best & safest food is rewarding. Join today!!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Great Experience
By: Katie Mayor    (Sep 25, 2010)

This was my first CSA experience. I chose to purchase a half share with half a dozen eggs. I was not sure what to expect, but was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the fruits and veggies I received every week. I absolutely enjoyed trying new items that I had never used before. I appreciated that Chuck would take the time to tell us what to expect each week. He works very hard to provide great quality produce as well as many other options such as free range eggs, chickens, honey, pork, fresh flowers, etc. He provides a lot of options. It was fantastic to know that everything I was eating was grown organically and was healthy for me. I especially loved the free range eggs and it was a relief to know they were on hand. It was a good experience. I would recommend Murray Hill.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Wonderful food, great people
By: Jennifer Reeves    (Sep 25, 2010)

This is my second CSA, and so far my favored one. I really appreciated the availability of eggs, fruits and meats, in addition to the vegetables that I normally associate with CSAs. The variety of foods that came in each week had me perusing my cookbooks to find the best seasonal combination of everything that was available. I had a blast looking up and sharing recipes with other people in the CSA.

I highly recommend at least coming out to the farm to see where the food is grown. There's little recommendation greater than a land cared for with love.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



grown with love
By: Amy Sasack    (Jan 30, 2010)

Chuck and Sue are dedicated farmers who provide a beautiful and plentiful variety of veggies and herbs as well as delicious farm fresh eggs, honey and meats. It all starts in the spring with asparagus and peas followed by the summer favorites sweet corn and tomatoes. There are an array of squashes, garlic and the best onions I have ever had to enjoy in the fall and all winter long. It feels good to eat with the seasons and I feel great feeding my family locally and organically raised foods that are grown with love.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



The Best Eggs and Veggies!
By: Rachel Mishak    (Jan 12, 2010)

Everything is grown locally, fresh, organic and delicious. It does not cost a lot and it is supporting our local farmers and community. The farmers are super nice, helpful, offer a product that is exactly as wonderful as they say it is. The eggs are the best, after having these eggs you will not want to ever buy from the grocery store again! The garlic and onions are super juicy and delicious. Everything was great!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Wonderful experience! Highly recommend!
By: Linda Hatton    (Dec 30, 2009)

This past spring I finally bit the bullet and joined a CSA. I'd been thinking of doing so for years, and for one reason or another (generally due to my own laziness) always managed to miss out. Chuck and Sue made this an experience that I'd recommend to anyone. Their produce was always top quality, the extras just kept coming and they were wonderful. They even provided recipes. I have never been much of a beef eater (I think because the grocery store stuff is so gross), but the beef I got from Murray Hill was just yummy. The chickens were tender and each made two meals (we just had the last one yesterday), and the eggs are to die for. In a time when we need to think of our land stewardship more and more, these people are out in the field doing the hard work. All I had to do was pick up my produce and eat it right away or freeze it for use this winter. And speaking of this winter, I had so much (we are a family of four) to put up that we still have a pretty well stocked freezer and larder. If all goes as it has been, not only are we eating fresher, healthier locally grown food, but we're saving money on our food bill. I have estimated that our total savings from June 2009 to May 2010 will be right around $1000. If you live near Wakeman or the Kamm's Corners area of Cleveland, Ohio this would be well worth it for you and your family.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review