Reviews for: Misty Meadows Farm

Average Review:

9 reviews



Recommend Misty Meadows Farm
By: Jay Thompson    (Oct 15, 2010)

We started with MMFarm when they were at the Bardstown Road Farmers Market and switched to Phoenix Hill Farmers Market (in the Felice Complex) when they moved. We get eggs every week. For two years now we've subscribed to their CSA and I recommend it to others and recommend it to you.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Good experience in a hard summer season
By: Karen Chandler    (Oct 11, 2010)

As a first-time CSA member, I was very happy with the produce in my box each week. I liked the variety and the quality. Without exception, the fruit and vegetables tasted better than similar items from Whole Foods, Paul's and Kroger. Also, Kathy and Ralph were very supportive, taking time to share basic information about unfamiliar items. The posted recipes also were helpful.

Kathy and Ralph were at times apologetic about the dryness of the season and the loss of crops, which I know I would have been very frustrated about if I were farming. Another reviewer mentioned a week in which her box had only a few items. I think I had a similar experience one time, but every other week there was more than enough. Indeed, the week there was only a little, my family was still enjoying the surplus from the week before.

It has been a wonderful experience to be able to count on such wonderful produce, from the chard and kale of the spring to the squash of the summer and fall, and the sweet and lush apples, cantaloupe, peaches and watermelon.

My family and I had no complaints.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Pleased with Packard Produce
By: Angela Elliott    (Oct 9, 2010)

This is the third year I've participated in a farm share from Ralph and Kathy Packard's farm. I have found them to be hard working and helpful people. The food they deliver has been of excellent quality and, considering the severe drought that grips their area of Kentucky, quite plentiful.

Having a farm share has pushed me to be a more thoughtful and, I hope, better cook with all the different vegetables they grow. It also keeps me mindful of the simple idea of in-season produce which can be easily overlooked.

I love being apart of their CSA family and plan on continuing with them in the coming years.

P.S. Their eggs are AWESOME!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



We Love Misty Meadows!
By: rachael fasciotto    (Oct 9, 2010)

My husband and I have considered a CSA every year for the last few years, but this year we finally decided to dive in and give it a try! We had our first baby in April, so I knew that if we had any leftovers we could make baby food and freeze it. Over the summer we had lots of amazing dishes to eat at dinner and I made some huge batches of baby food out of the squash and peaches. When our little one was finally big enough to eat her baby food, I was delighted to give her the best of the best - homegrown, natural, nothing added or removed. What a gift for a kid who lives in the city! We've learned a lot about cooking and we've become very creative with our meals. Ralph and Kathy have worked hard to give us some wonderful food and a wonderful farm experience!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



amazing
By: Lisa Arnold    (Oct 9, 2010)

Being involved with Misty Meadows has literally changed the way I see/think about food. I finally bit the bullet and joined this spring because I had been making other "good" changes in my life (eating better, exercising, etc.) and with that transition came a greater concern for what I was putting into my body and how very little I knew where my food was coming from and what it took to get to me in the first place. So I joined Misty Meadows not only because I wanted fresh/local/organic food (which of course I wanted), but also because I wanted to educate myself about food. I have learned so much through this experience, and my friends and family have probably learned a lot too because I can't stop marveling at how hard Ralph and Kathy work to bring me fresh and delicious food every week. It's been a very special experience to me to not only receive the food from Misty Meadows but also participate in its production -- Ralph and Kathy have welcomed me onto the farm and trusted me to plant their broccoli, even upside down (luckily Ralph caught that before it was too late)!

It is a privilege to be able to receive locally grown and delivered food. It is a privilege to consume what is in season and to understand that there *are* seasons. It is a great privilege to understand the limits that nature imposes on humankind because this keeps our pride in check and reminds us to appreciate what we receive. Being a part of the CSA at Misty Meadows has given me these privileges.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Misty Meadows is Wonderful!
By: Amy Goodenough    (Oct 8, 2010)

After researching the idea of joining a CSA for many months, my husband and I decided to join Misty Meadows for the summer session and continued on into the fall session. We could not have made a better decision! Becoming a member of Misty Meadows has changed the way my family eats and thinks about the food we put in our bodies. As a mother of two daughters, ages six and three, I have been amazed at how excited they get each week about kale, peppers, and squash. Despite the crazy and unfortunate weather we have had this summer, we have been nothing less than pleased and excited with our box each week... not to mention being able to buy fresh eggs every week too!

Perhaps the most important and rewarding part of joining Misty Meadows has been meeting Ralph and Kathy and learning about their family. They are truly the most wonderful people we have ever met, and we consider them to be a part of our family now. Watching them interact with our children and their customers is a joy to see. We will most definitely be back again next year!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Disappointing
By: Jane Coldwell    (Oct 8, 2010)

The site advertising does not reflect the quality and quantity of the share each week. It has not been worth the drive to our pick up spot. This weeks half share was 6 small apples, 1 giant zucchini, 1 spaghetti squash, and 6 baby yellow squash. This does not feed two people for one week.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Sarah Cole says:    (Oct 8, 2010)

I think it is very important to remember the reasons for joining a CSA. It is not just about what you get each week in your box; that is a very selfish reaction to have in this situation. To me, being a part of a CSA is about giving back, doing your part to promote local agriculture, feeling like you are taking part in a food movement, supporting a family of farmers, and so many other rewarding things. Of course it is wonderful to reap the benefits and have loads of fruits and veggies to enjoy each week, however that is not always 100% possible. It is ignorant to spend the money on being part of a CSA and then not fully appreciate what your money is going towards. It is much greater than an abundance of fruits and veggies. I urge anyone who feels similar to the original posted comment to look further into CSAs and think it over before signing up for one; it may not be for you.

Kathy & Ralph Packard says:    (Oct 8, 2010)

Jane, I appreciate your concerns. I know your 1/2 share box seemed much smaller than you had anticipated, but frankly, we were pleased to be able to do that since we've had no rain since June at the farm and here it is, October!. 100 degree weather for 3 mths didn't help any. In all fairness to Misty Meadows Farm, had you picked up your share boxes throughout the season (you only picked up half of the 15 boxes delivered so far for you to your site drop) you would have seen many wonderful things, i.e. lots of summer squash, cucumbers (slicers and picklers), bell peppers (red and green), watermelons, cantaloupes, peaches, blueberries, apples, pears, sweet corn, beans, pumpkins, winter squash (several varieties), beets, potatoes, tomatoes (several different varieties), basil and much more. We managed to deliver all of this despite lack of rain, [thank God for our irrigation system] and despite the very hot days for many months. Had you picked up your shares you would have gotten all of that too; if the delivery spot was a problem, I wish you had communicated that to us, we could have worked out something a little closer than the one you chose. Several attempts to reach you to pick up boxes went unanswered. I hope you are kind to us when you talk about us, as we have been to you. Clearly, a CSA program is not what you're looking for. I think you'll find that even with our weather troubles this year, most of our almost 100 CSA members were quite happy.

Chele Zehnder says:    (Oct 9, 2010)

I don't expect my full share to feed my family of four for a whole week - though some weeks, we could come pretty close. What I do expect is to have tasty, healthy vegetables and, surprise! fruit and herbs - that complement and supplement our meals - grown by people I trust and know. I chose to join Misty Meadows CSA because of the added benefit of being able to buy meat and eggs with that same level of trust and knowledge of where they've come from and how the animals are treated. Knowing Kathy and Ralph - and how hard they work, and how much thought they put into what everyone receives every week - too much rain/ too little rain/ heat/ cold - whatever the weather brings - is what keeps me subscribing every year. It's COMMUNITY SUPPORTED AGRICULTURE!

Carrick Arehart says:    (Oct 9, 2010)

Ralph and Kathy have been great and provided quiet a bit when you consider the lack of rain. When you sign up for a CSa you assume the risks as well as reap the rewards.

rachael fasciotto says:    (Oct 9, 2010)

My husband and I have had no problems eating on our half-shares from Misty Meadows. Granted, we are meat eater, so our veggies are used as side-dishes for dinner every night. Not only do we love the veggies we've been getting, but we've been learning some great new dishes to cook. We've never cooked with squash before and now we're pros! If you can't make your half shares work, then a CSA is not for you. Ralph and Kathy are two of the hardest working people I know and we appreciate all of their efforts to bring us healthy, home-grown food each week.

Kara Amundson says:    (Oct 9, 2010)

My boyfriend and I also signed up for a half-box, and this was our first year with a CSA. Naturally the produce this year did not live up to what we had heard about Misty Meadows's quality from former satisfied partners. But we have a somewhat different take on the situation than Jane Coldwell. She--and certain others--seem to believe that by plunking down their dollars, they are owed a certaon quantity and variety of food, rather as if she had paid ahead to shop at a somewhat unusual grocery store. But the reality is quite different. By joining a CSA, we join a community--and we acknowledge the reality of the natural world and human impact upon it on food production. My boyfriend and I are professional gardeners and we are well aware of how difficult this year's weather has been on even the urban landscape, where backup resources of water are available. Kathy and Ralph, unlike the operators of several Metro-located CSAs, had to rely on natural water sources and I know they worked hard to make the most of the little they had. As My boyfriend remarked, "We joined a cooperative to support farmers...we should give them money even if we get nothing back." In future, I suspect that their situation will be the model all of us have to follow. Food diversity will doubtless diminish as the human energy footprint is forced to grow ever smaller.

Richard Brown says:    (Oct 11, 2010)

On the contrary, I have been pleased at what we have received this year. Had this drought happened 5 years ago, Ralph & Kathy would not have had the expanded pond they now have, nor the more water-efficient methods they now use to SSSTTRRREEETCH their limited water supply, and the drop off in supply and cancellations would have started sooner. You need only look as far as your grass to see how dry it is--last month was the driest Sept. on record, and the 3rd driest month...AND IT STILL HAS NOT RAINED SIGNIFICANTLY. I think some folks forget that their contract is not only with the farmer, it's with Mother Nature as well--and she doesn't always play fair. If you're not willing to accept that risk, then a CSA is not for you.



I feel like a part of a the family!
By: Cecilia M. Triplett    (Jun 16, 2010)

Kathy and Ralph have been super nice to me. As a first time CSA participant I wasn't sure what to expect but from the get-go at their open pot-luck farm day I felt welcome and comfortable. There's a lot of love and attention that goes into their work and it's easy to tell they've been doing this for a long time and know the ropes!

On top of great crops (this year you wouldn't believe when we got broccoli!) Misty Meadows makes sure to keep weekly communication about the drops. I'm a big fan of their boxes this year which are wax treated so there's no worry of soggy boxes.

Kathy and Ralph keep a very open communication with tips, information and just 'questions answered' whenever you ask. For instance, I heard about a canning class Kathy was hosting for her church and was welcomed to come along. A few days later Kathy followed up on how my strawberry preserves were setting. Weeks after that I had a question about what type of lettuce was in my box and got an email response back the same day!

Misty Meadows is a great farm. If you're looking for a place to feel at home with, this is for you.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review