Reviews for: Darling Hill Community Farm

Average Review:

9 reviews



regarding nourishment
By: Nancy Kellogg    (Apr 28, 2011)

I have inside information that this farm produced nearly 8,000 pounds of quality, wholesome food one season. Compare that to a VT farm prison of 100 inmates who grew 9,000 pounds of produce in a recent season. I'd say Z & LM were pretty industrious farmers. Nourishment isn't a personality contest or gossip opportunity - it's just about good wholesome food. Let's believe we're all doing the best we can in life. Rye Cooder said "The farmer feeds us all" - and that farmer is 1% of the population feeding the other 99% .... unless you live on junk food and alcohol, though most people wouldn't call that food. Growing food is serious labor and some would say it is indeed 'rocket science'. Try growing even a tenth of what you consume; let's give credit where credit is due and be sure to factor in the carbon footprint a CSA lowers by eliminating the transportation miles and processing and packaging that produce those (carbon) emissions. The atmospheric CO2 level went up 1ppm last year from 391ppm to 392ppm. The tipping point was 350ppm. It's predicted when the atmosphere hits 400 ppm of CO2 the climate will "hit the wall' and we all better hope we have a personal farmer to feed us. The bottom line is the food grown at Darling Hill Farm is better than decent.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Nancy Kellogg says:    (Apr 28, 2011)

Incidentally, I don't even like Leighmae. She's rude and disrespectful (to me) and cut down a 150 year old ash tree, a hundred year old Baldwin orchard, and my beloved magnolia ..... a lot of people don't like her, especially her immediate neighbors - she clearly has a personality disorder. It would be nice if she could get along with her neighbors. Maybe when she matures a bit she'll be more friendly. But that aside, she's a conscientious grower ....and, again, food is about nourishment.



Excellent Produce - Knowledgeable Farmer
By: Jeanne Larssen    (Mar 4, 2011)

Two of my neighbors suggested I join this CSA a couple years ago and I am so glad I did. Leigh Mae is so knowledgeable and always takes time to answer my own gardening questions. I actually like doing the service hours because it's like getting a free class on how to grow things!

She offers a good variety of produce and runs a very long season which is now even longer with the addition of the new growing tunnel. When I was unfamiliar with some of the vegetables, Leigh Mae gave me suggestions on how to prepare them and what they go well with to complete a meal. She is very committed to this work and is always learning new ways to run her farm better and produce the best quality she can.

Two green thumbs up for this farm!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



very pleased with Darling Hill
By: Heidi Lee    (Aug 15, 2010)

My family chose Darling Hill as our first experience with a CSA and at this point, I'm very happy. I was sorry to look on this site today and see the nature of what so publicly took place, but I feel that the person who is running the farm right now should be judged on the produce that is provided and not the nature of her personal life. We do not know the details and I agree with the previous reviewer, we should not judge. The produce that I have received has been beautiful and when things got on track, has run very smoothly. I'm actually pleased that we will be receiving goods until January! I like that it is a smaller operation than some and I will choose Darling Hill again.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



How Christian
By: Alice Scofield    (Aug 4, 2010)

I have not yet joined Darling Hill as I found a more affordable CSA within 10 miles of Greenville.

BUT, it isn't because the young woman who runs the farm had the misfortune to be friends with a pedophile. They don't advertise you know.

This woman is trying to make a living; and, from all I hear, doing a great job of it.

Judge not, lest ye be judged!?

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



So sad
By: Bob D'omain    (Jul 28, 2010)

I am from France country... not good with Enlish- but this banter back and forth- is com se, com sa- nes pa tre bein if you know what I mean.... the man was pal mal (merci) but good worker, nec pa?.... the Fille is a tre bein ( Bon appetite!)... girl! and travaille tre bein! works hard- good girl! .... should not judge because Garcon was so tres stupid! Nes pas? I think so!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

What a dumbass says:    (May 30, 2011)

So sad to see a native French speaker cannot spell n'est-ce pas. I see illiteracy has gone way up overseas, but then again based on the nature of this person's post it doesn't surprise me.



shocked
By: Bob Bombidille    (Jul 28, 2010)

Zeb Roe is no where to be found on this farm! He is gone to the "big house" for choosing to have a sexual relationship with a 12 year old girl!! which he did not deny, nor defend.. nor apologize for.

these people should be shunned by anybody decent, and this business is not supported by anyone that I know that has decent morals.

Zeb's "girlfriend" is less then friendly- to say the least- and they are actively harrassing Zeb's father- and everyone that enters the property.

I would give this business 5 thumbs down, and strongly urge anyone that has any human decency to boycotte this business.

It is a well known public fact that the owner of this business is less then reputable.

When decent people find out what a horrible reputation the owner of this farm had- they RUN away in the oposite direction- as fast as possible! I woudl feel very guilty ( in fact ) suggesting to anyone to use these people as providers for the sustinance of any family I know. Sincerely.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Bob Bombidille says:    (Jul 28, 2010)

Wow- I stand corrected on this Farm!

screw ball says:    (Jul 28, 2010)

I saw all the newspaper coverage- and I couldn't believe what a wack job this guy was! I can't imagine what type of person would associate with a mollester of 12 years old girls! ..... it's amazing.



Life changing
By: Frank Mulcahy    (Sep 1, 2009)

This is probably just as much about the lifestyle change as it is about Darling Hill, but my family could not be more happy with our decision. So many great tasting veggies with a nice variety. Plenty of food each week with staples always available. It's very nice to be able to pick and choose what we want instead of just taking what's pre boxed. Financially it's been a great investment considering what all of the produce would have cost over the course of the summer. And did I mention the lifestyle change? With all of the fresh veggies in the house, it's almost "guilt eating". I can't let the lettuce not get eaten on Monday night, we're getting more on Tuesday. What's that mean? You nosh on nice leafy greens instead of whatever junk you've got in the pantry. I'm down 21 lbs and counting!! New recipes to try and wild new things to eat. Throw in fresh wildflowers to put in a vase to cheer up the house and some fresh eggs, and you've got a winner. Thank you Darling Hill!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



fantastic
By: Ashley Kolod    (Mar 8, 2009)

they are great! we joined last year, rejoining this year! great selection and wonderful people!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review