Reviews for: Logan County Farmers Market

Average Review:

35 reviews



Logan County Farmers Market
By: B. J Fulton Fulton    (Jun 14, 2013)

I love our Farmer's Market, I look so forward every Saturday to go and buy my produce. I have been to larger markets that are very good but the prices are much higher, and I don't know those folks. I know the vendors in downtown Bellefontaine and people that show up to shop each week. I feel it is one of the better ones that are in the surrounding counties. I have been it other towns on Saturdays that have markets and was disappointed as to what they offered. We are very lucky to have a great market and great vendors. I drive quite a distance to come each week when I can, well worth the trip. My husband agrees when he sees what I bring home. Thank you to all that are involved in the venture. It is awesome. I am a little sad that Blue Jacket Dairy didn't come back this year, but I can stop at the store. It is always on my calendar from May to October!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Support Local
By: L McCoy    (Jun 13, 2013)

I am glad to live in a community that has a farmers market that works the way ours does. I enjoy knowing that I can go to the FM and know where my food is coming from. Where I can take the time to get to know the local farmers. Yes it may be on the smaller side but so is our community, nothing wrong with that. Absolutely love that I can get local eggs, grass fed beef, vegetables, honey, amazing maple syrup, and baked goods where people are conscious about what they are putting in them. In the beginning of the season of course there wasn't a lot of produce because it is the beginning of the growing season. It is just now roughly a month into the season and every weekend that I attend the market there is new produce & on weekends that I can attend it is kind of upsetting. Even my children LOVE market Saturdays. Just know that if you are attending the LCFM you are supporting your local community and getting food that is grown or prepared with hard work and love & that is something to feel good about!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Great Place to get the freshest of fresh.
By: Joe Hughes    (Jun 13, 2013)

I look forward to visiting and shopping the Logan Co. Farmers Market each Saturday. The local offering is unique as well as tasty.

Joe Hughes

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



The way a market should be
By: Amy Mattingly    (Jun 13, 2013)

This market is always a refreshing one! Having been to the big markets in Columbus and many of the smaller "big city" markets, this one is by far the best. All of the vendors are local and only bring local produce. This is hard to find with the other markets, but such a relief to consumers who truly want to support and eat local produce. The managers deserve props for enforcing this policy. As well, they are always available to answer questions, provide coffee, and often arrange for live music and entertainment. I never expected so much from a small market and the bar has risen for the others.

The variety of items available in this small community is surprising and impressive. Cheese, fish, meat, eggs, and of course the standard Ohio produce.... plus the syrups, coffees, and baked goods. Sometimes we have to wait longer for our tomatoes or fruit, but it is a good feeling knowing it wasn't shipped in and resold from a box under the guise of "local" or "home grown" to unsuspecting consumers.

For the review claiming there weren't enough vendors, there really isn't a need to have six vendors selling the same item in a small community. This market supports the community and serves as a business incubator to help local farmers sell produce. Many other markets are based on back yard hobbyists and aren't really there to enhance the community and support small business. I am proud of the support this market gives to actual small businesses and am happy to support them! This market really should serve as an example to others. I am so happy to have found it!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Friendly people great products
By: Kmiller    (Jun 12, 2013)

I have been going to this farm market for a couple years now. The vendors are friendly, there is a weekly coffee stand, and lots of great local products. I love supporting local farmers and vendors and feeding healthy locally grown foods to my family. I would highly recommend this to everyone around. it is a great way to spend a Saturday morning. It is smaller than the big city markets, but it really lets you get to know your vendors and have time to ask them questions about the products.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Good products, good people
By: Tom and Marty Lentz    (Jun 12, 2013)

After returning from St. Petersburg, Florida where there is one of the biggest outdoor markets in the state, we were excited to see the Bellefontaine market, which has as much variety and grass roots spirit as any market in existence. It's one of our favorite places to go on Saturday morning - good food, great people. Keep it growing!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



eat local
By: Joanne Ritter    (Jun 12, 2013)

I feel fortunate that we have a farmers market here in downtown Bellefontaine. Everything is locally grown, nothing being brought in from other areas such as Tennessee. Things are starting to roll now with sugar snap peas, green onions, lettuce, tomatoes-----yes they are grown locally---radishes, asparagus and much more. Fish, cheese, pork sausage. What's not to like?? The "regulars" just love it and hate to miss a Saturday morning. It is a great gathering place!!! Thanks to Jan Dawson for getting this Saturday event organized!!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Ann Streckfus says:    (Jun 12, 2013)

I really like the Logan Co Farmer's Market. We visited it from out of town last year, and picked up not only produce but some amazing maple syrup. In our town in southern IN, we have many craftspeople and food vendors in addition to produce providers at the local famers market. Early in June in Ohio is not the time to expect a bumper crop of produce just yet--it's still early in the growing season.



Don't Believe
By: DC Smith    (Jun 9, 2013)

Contrary to what people are posting, this farmers market is a joke. There are about 15 venders in a small parking lot across from the post office. Most of the venders have crafts or plants-NO FOOD. I moved here and was used to a farmers market with over 80 venders, mostly Amish, who picked and provided fresh produce every week. I was so disappointed in this farmers market. It is a joke. There are just a couple of venders at the Logan County Farmers Market that offer a little fresh produce. I am almost ready to drive to Columbus just to get fresh locally grown produce.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Jan Dawson says:    (Jun 12, 2013)

I'm sorry to get such a bad review for the Logan County Farmers' Market. As a small community, opening our Market with 15 vendors is a mile-marker for us. We average 20-25 vendors during our mid-summer Market. As everyone knows, locally grown produce takes time to come to Market. Our Market DOES have produce: asparagus, lettuce, spinach, onions, peas, broccoli, hydroponic tomatoes, etc. At this time of year we also have lots of plants. We have locally raised beef, pork, and tilapia. Honey, maple syrup, homemade breads and baked goods. Of course, as the season progresses, more items appear at the Market. Once a month we have a craft day for 2-3 crafts people to attend the Market (this is an experiment this year). Perhaps DC Smith attended that day. We are all very proud of our Market as we enter our 16th season. Of course we can't compete with Columbus or other large-city Markets. But keep in mind we only allow locally-produced products, so we won't have products that simply aren't in season yet. I ask DC Smith and everyone else to come visit us more than once to see what we have new each week.

Linda Haven says:    (Jun 12, 2013)

I think our local market is quite nice. We are, after all, a small community, so comparing us to something much larger probably is an unfair comparison. I hope Mr. Smith will give the market another chance, it only gets bigger and better as the season rolls along...

Ann Streckfus says:    (Jun 12, 2013)

I really like the Logan Co Farmer's Market. We visited it from out of town last year, and picked up not only produce but some amazing maple syrup. In our town in southern IN, we have many craftspeople and food vendors in addition to produce providers at the local famers market. Early in June in Ohio is not the time to expect a bumper crop of produce just yet--it's still early in the growing season.

Mark Collins says:    (Jun 12, 2013)

To sell at this market you must be local and produce the products you sell. Therefore this early in the season you cannot expect mellons, corn or things that come on later in the season. There are two vendors selling baked goods, another sells sausage sandwiches. All are there every week. If you meant hamburgers, hot dogs or other food, see the requirements above. This is a farmers market not a carnival. Just remember if you drive to Columbus or another place 50 - 60 miles away, it is no longer local.