Reviews for: Deauville Farm

Average Review:

8 reviews



My favorite place
By: Kathryn Pasternak    (Jul 7, 2010)

These days everyone I know hears about the "deer lady" who lives and farms out near my house in the Shenandoah. Gail's gotten used to my visits, always accompanied by some new guest I've brought out to meet her, and to hear about her charming flock of chickens, and her large, beloved herd of fallow deer.... as well as to sample some treats from her lush organic garden.

My new housemate, Lisa, first thought I was talking about a "dear old lady" when I mentioned Gail, but then she finally realized I meant the "deer" with two "e"s.

I bring my two boys out to Gail's farm as often as possible, and they love it and afterwards talk about "Blueberry" the chicken, pulling grass to feed the deer, and about Gail, too, and how nice she is to kids. I've brought film-making friends from far flung locations like South Africa and Angola, friends from Spain and Argentina and they come away fascinated and enriched by this unexpected experience in America. And I've brought my dear friends from Northern Virginia, who now return on their own with their family and friends because people just can't get enough of Gail and her farm. I know that now-- Gail hasn't just grown an organic farm, she's grown a community of people who love spreading the word far and wide about why we need to change the way we feed ourselves in this country.

Gail is a fountain of knowledge we should all know -- things we've known in the past but somehow have forgotten. Like why chickens are best buddies with a tomato garden, cleaning up all the pesky insects that might do the tender plants harm. Things about the food we should be eating, and thankfully do get to eat after a visit to her fantastic organic vegetable garden, or to the fridge full of beautiful "rainbow" colored eggs.

So just like probably many other people who make regular visits to Gail's farm, I go for far more than the delicious organic vegetables and eggs she has on offer. I go for her wisdom and incredible kindness and generosity. A trip to the Shenandoah just wouldn't be the same without seeing my friend Gail.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Sandra Welch says:    (Jul 20, 2010)

I second the comments made by Kathryn. I discovered Gail's Garden and deer farm about 8 years ago. She is an amazing woman who has a depth of knowledge about plants, animals, and the earth and a talent for teaching others and instilling in them a love of nature. Every springtime I start regular visits to hear about what new varities she is planting, how she has enriched the soil, what new experiments she is trying. Then I am thrilled to see the plants grow, and this year got to taste her first ripe tomato. I also had the thrill of taking my grandsons (ages 3 and 8 months) for their first visit with Gail this year. She is wonderful with children. I expect to take my grandsons to see her every time they come for a visit from Kentucky. Gail has informed and inspired hundreds---maybe thousands of people to understand and appreciate the world of plants and animals and how our lives can be blessed by them.



This is the place to go for truly pure plants
By:    (May 9, 2010)

Having visited the farm many times since Gail first started selling plants and vegtables there I can say I have learned alot. I learned that the food we buy in a supermarket has some horror stories that it goes through before we see the finished product. I am happy to say that each and every plant on Gails farm is 1000000 % natural and healthy without the poisons that many farmers throw on the plants that provide many supermarkets with food. I also learned how well you cna make a garden full of many different kinds of vegtables for a wide variety of flavor be so productive in a small city yard. This is definately the place to learn about living a greener healthier life, not to mention how fun it is to visit as well !

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



This is the PLACE!
By: Penny Adams    (Aug 8, 2009)

I won't go anywhere else for my starter plants. Gail has the best price anywhere - and her plants WILL thrive and produce. As if that wasn't good enough, you will be greeted as if you were a long lost friend. Gail knows no stranger and is happy to spend time visiting and explaining about the hundreds of tomato plants she offers, or pepper plants, or herbs, or....... the variety of plants she offers is unbelievable! And you can peruse all of this while watching the deer forage and the chickens peck about. An all around GREAT experience. I highly recommend it.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Wonderful farm, wonderful farmer!
By: Carol Rhodes    (May 23, 2009)

We make a twice yearly morning trip out to Gail's farm. She is always so friendly!

My children fed the deer grass, watched many assorted chickens enjoy their day, all as I chatted with Farmer Gail about the many varieties of tomatoes and other plants available. I picked up some very healthy looking heirloom tomato plants and a pepper plant to add to my garden.

Just before we left, we added some very tastey fresh eggs to our list! We went home and had them for lunch. They were so good in comparision to store bought. I think I could have eaten another and another!

It was also interesting to see the many recycled items Gail has in use, things I would have not thought of to do!

Thanks for the great morning!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Absolutely Loved It
By: Sue Tylee    (May 17, 2009)

What a great place. You feel like family. Gail is wonderful to talk with and will answer any and all questions. It is amazing what she has going. I will definately go back!!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Great experience for all ages
By: Wendy Fitzgerald    (Jun 18, 2008)

We recently visited Gail's farm while on vacation in Virginia. After 16 hours of driving we were looking for something to do with our young daughters. We read about Deauville Farms and decided to check it out. Gail greeted us as if we were old friends. She walked us through her farm and answered the endless questions that poured from us and our 8 year old. She handed a bucket of feed to my daughters and they were able to help her feed the chickens and the deer. It was such a fun experience that a week later we are still talking about it. We were even talked right into buying chickens ourselves. I really recommend that everyone have Deauville Farms on their destination this summer. FANTASTIC! Thanks for everything Gail!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



I wouldn't buy my herloom tomato seedlings anywhere else
By: ktriarch    (Jun 5, 2008)

What else is there to say? Gail has an incredible selection and can give you lots of advice on how to turn the seedlings you buy from her into healthy, prolific plants. Plus, visiting her operation is an opportunity for a great outing.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Vortex of good energy, healthy food, and wonderful people
By: Linna    (May 14, 2008)

I am honored to write the first review of Gail's wonderful farm. Her and her farm have been such an influence in my life I can say nothing but glowing things. She has created this wonderful farm that offers so much for the mind, body and soul. Her vegetables are out of sight - especially the seedlings she is offering this year. Touring her greenhouses that have over 160 heirloom tomatoes is overwhelming and Gail can give you a story about all of them. The eggs are fantastic, but I have never had the deer meat so I can comment on that. But I can say that going here is an experience. Gail opens her arms to anyone that wants to learn and understand more about their food. She is rich in knowledge and enthusiasm. This is a farm and a trip you DO NOT WANT TO MISS. If I could give her infinity number of starts I would!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review