Reviews for: Prairie Pride Farm of Minnesota

Average Review:

18 reviews



The Best
By: marilyn wolgat    (Jul 6, 2014)

Oh No, Out of Stock? I bought the smallest bucket (from the Prairie Farms website to test. The lard is white and clean and must be refrigerated. It will soften fast if it hits room temp. First I made apple pies with an old Tennessee recipe (1 lb lard, 5 1/2 C flour, 1 teasp salt, 1 egg beaten in a 1 cup measure with 2 teasp vinegar to which water is added to fill the cup). As they baked the house filled with mouth watering aroma, The crust was flaky melt in your mouth delicious. With a good lard, the crimped edges of the pie wont melt down or fall off the pie, and even if the edges are thick, they are not hard and taste great. Next I used the recipe came with the lard. Also delicious. Might have enough left to test Grandma's recipe next (lard plus butter). She was pastry chef for Henry Ford I at his private club and baked us the same recipes. Prairie lard makes pie like Grandma. I grew up on those pies and thought I would never taste such again.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



It Is That Good
By: marilyn wolgat    (Jul 6, 2014)

I purchased my first order in June, 2014 through their regular web site, and not local harvest (wanted to compare sites). The first thing I tried was the Hickory Smoked Bacon. The package was not filled with pink water, and it did not boil off scum like grocery bacon, which I had stopped buying. This bacon was thick, and meaty. There was not as much fat in the skillet after it cooked. I poured the fat into a dish and wasn't sure it really was fat, as it was crystal clear and thin. But it hardened up in the refrigerator. The bacon was so darn good my cat went crazy. I had four slices and lay down in total happiness. I have diverticulitis, but my stomach loves this. I ate the whole pound in one week. Me and the cat. Couldn't stop. I never knew what a difference it made to pasture raise pork. This bacon is pricey but worth it. I am rationing the left over bacon fat. The fat of these pigs almost melts at room temperature.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Excellent ham
By: Marena Fisher    (Apr 8, 2014)

I ordered the 8 lb. ham, and folks, it was the best I'd had in forty years. It reminded me of the days when hams weren't injected with water, and when meat had real flavor. You'll love it! Thank God for a farmer that is willing to invest in quality, and restore ancient ways.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Dawn Hubmer says:    (Apr 9, 2014)

Thank you Marena! I appreciate the wonderful comment! Dawn



Just Like Old Times
By: Kate Krenshaw    (Aug 20, 2013)

I was raised in the country and this reminded me of the quality of poultry we raised ourselves back in the 1960's. Todays supermarket variety makes me sick with the slime under the skin and knowing the birds have been fed on GMO corn laced with arsenic. These are expensive, yes but I for one would rather pay here than pay with my health.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Outrageously Good
By: Kate Krenshaw    (Aug 20, 2013)

This is so tender, flavorful and a real difference between this and supermarket bands in the same cut. I made the best pork schnitzel I've ever made with this pork. Good trick: cut to 1/4" or a little better, then flatten with side of mallet (not tenderizing ends of mallet) to about 1/8" thickness before breading. My husband does not normally say much more than "this is good" but this time he raved and was still raving the next day! Beware of the only negative: If you live a long way from Minnesota and where it's hot, don't order until winter because they do not use dry ice. Something I hope they'll come to use in the future.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Very Good Chicken
By: Marilyn R. Morita    (May 17, 2013)

So pleased to find chicken that doesn't contain soy in it's feed as well as being gluten free. I appreciate the grass grazing and just the wholesome farmyard surroundings you provide for the chickens. Thank you!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Lard Lover
By: Philip Fleming    (Nov 26, 2012)

I'm on my second pail of open kettle leaf lard from Prairie Pride Farm. Everyone asks what my secret is for flaky and delicious pie crusts. There is no substitute for fine quality lard like this.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



It tastes like pork!
By: Brigid M. Rauch    (Nov 10, 2012)

I've ordered the Best of Prairie Pride bundle for the last few Christmas seasons. I wanted a natural ham, but I was thrilled to taste the rest of the package. The pork chops actually taste like pork, not generic white meat!

I've always had excellent service.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review