Reviews for: Prairie Pride Farm of Minnesota

Average Review:

18 reviews



Highly Recommended
By: gerald meyer    (Jun 20, 2012)

I cut this up into chops and they were fantastic. Extremely juicy and tender, they were so much better than the pale stuff at the supermarket that it's hard to believe. Jump on this when available.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



To compensate for my prior review
By: Jennifer Nichol    (Sep 19, 2011)

I am rating this again to try to give a more accurate/fair representation of the company. Although the product I purchased didn't work for me, I can't say enough about how great the company is. Definitely worth trying!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Dawn Hubmer says:    (Sep 20, 2011)

Thank you so much for giving us a fair and honest review. I hope you purchase from us again sometime. Dawn

Grace Dunn says:    (Mar 11, 2014)

Why didn't the pork chops work for you? More specifics would be helpful. Were the chops tough, not flavorful, etc.?



LOVED EVERYTHING!!!
By: Kevi Sutter    (Apr 3, 2011)

The breakfast sausage was perfectly seasoned. The hot dogs were incredible. I'm still drooling over the ham. The bacon is fabulous! The Summer Sausage yummy! Excellent Chorizo!

I could go on and on. I'm ordering it again. I think the price is reasonable and the products are fantastic.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Dawn Hubmer says:    (Apr 5, 2011)

Thank you! Our passion is good food from start to finish! I appreciate the wonderful review! Dawn @ PPF



Just thanking you all at Prairie Pride Farm
By:    (Feb 21, 2011)

I've yet to break into my leaf lard, but last night I did cut into thenwonderful ham portion ordered from you. It arrived wonderfully well, perfectly packed, and although I chose to freeze it for a few months it is still yummy! My husband will smile when it gets into his lunches.

Thank you for the great care to keep good, honest food available.

Muchly appreciated!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

says:    (Feb 21, 2011)

"the wonderful" ham. Sorry about the typo and lack of proofreading at this side of the screen. But I suppose the ham will be then wonderful...until it's gone. Thanks again, Deb Marques

Dawn Hubmer says:    (Feb 24, 2011)

Thank you very much for the kind words! Enjoy! Dawn



Leaf Lard
By: Burnie Berrey    (Feb 10, 2011)

Dear Open Kettle I have tried to recreate a biscuit recipe for years now. As well as copy Grandma's fried apple pie recipe. A lot of trial and error and I've gotten close over the years, but I just couldn't duplicate Grandma, until I ordered your Leaf Lard. It makes biscuits light and flaky and the pastries for the apple pies, well there indescribable. Its like going backward 40 years sitting at Grandma's table. If any recipe you have calls shortning or oil. Substitute it with leaf lard and you will be back at Grandma's table as well.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Dawn Hubmer says:    (Feb 16, 2011)

So Glad you found the KEY! to success in baking biscuits. I grew up on the farm, using lard for everything! So, I am using our lard for everything again. I made the best french toast the other day. OMG, perfect! Next is baking bread using my old 4-H bread recipe. My husband will be so happy and me too! Dawn @ PPF



Hickory Smoked Ham
By:    (Jan 30, 2011)

I posted a review that criticized Prairie Pride Farm for advertising "no nitrates, no nitrites" and then I rec'd a ham hock that was labeled as containing sodium nitrite. It turns out the ham hock was mis-labeled. I threw the meat out, but the farm refunded my money without me even asking or returning the item. I also bought a hickory smoked ham which I made for company tonight. It was the best ham I've had in years. It was tender and flavorful. There was absolutely no nasty chemical aftertaste from additives, because there were no additives. I was hoping to have leftovers to make sandwiches, but no such luck. I will made soup out of the bone, however. I was happy to serve the ham to the children, especially, so they can taste authentic, good food. This product is excellent and Prairie Pride Farms is an honest, trustworthy vendor. I will definitely buy here again.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Dawn Hubmer says:    (Feb 24, 2011)

Thank you, I appreciate your thoughtfulness to comment again on the ham. Have a wonderful rest of the winter. It snowed another 12 inches here this week! I should really post some snow photos. Dawn @ PPF



"No Nitrites" is Not True
By:    (Jan 23, 2011)

I ordered a ham and a ham hock from Prairie Pride because they advertise their pork products have no nitrates, no nitrites. The ingredients on the ham list none of these poisons but the ingredient listing on the ham hock clearly lists Sodium Nitrite as one of the ingredients in the product. This is false advertising at best, unethical at worst. I can't eat this meat and will have to throw it away.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Dawn Hubmer says:    (Jan 27, 2011)

All of our hams are uncured and contain no nitrates or nitrites. The ham hock was mislabled and has been removed from our list of products until this is solved. Very sorry for the mistake and poor feelings this caused. We care about every item and customer.



Wonderful Chicken!
By: erika gallagher    (Jan 10, 2011)

I have purchased from this vendor three times now and have been pleased with each purchase!

Great communication, fast delivery, and the chicken is delicious and wonderful. I love the whole roasters and the already cut up chickens. We have also had the ground chicken. This chicken cooks up beautiful and makes for a flavorful stock later!

Thanks so much! I will continue to buy for a long time to come.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review