Reviews for: Hastings Farm

Average Review:

7 reviews



Satisfied Customer!
By: Heidi Forgione    (Apr 22, 2010)

We have ordered a 1/4 side of beef twice in the past year, together with a few other families. All of us are very pleased with this product!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



You Can Trust Their Product & Cookbook Helps
By: Lisa Pritchett    (Jul 17, 2008)

Going on nine years we have been eating grass-fed beef. Back then it was extremely hard to find local farmers producing pasture raised all natural meats & produce so we started our own production of beef cattle, chickens and vegetables using organic methods. Due to several reasons we had to find someone producing the type/kind of beef that we strongly desire & trust.

We are currently on our second Hastings Farm beef. We have seen that The Hastings men are working to give their customers a healthy dependable product. Having raised our own, we know that this takes time but they are moving extremely fast in getting their meat to the point of tenderness and tastiness that many are not able to achieve. We observe that each wants to learn what it takes to give quality products to their customers. We have confidence in them and in how they raise their beef.

It is obvious these guys are passionate about what they are doing. We enjoyed riding around the pasture with Randall looking over the herd and talking with him concerning his practices. It was a spur of the moment visit and he was most congenial in taking his time to talk with us. So if you are anywhere near their place don't hesitate to call them for a visit.

If you are looking for correct information concerning the health benefits and why grass-fed is best refer to the following books: The Grassfed Gourmet Cookbook by Shannon Hayes, Pasture Perfect by Jo Robinson or Nourishing Traditions by Sally Fallon.

Having cooked grass-fed meats for years I will leave you with info from The Grassfed Gourmet Cookbook by Shannon Hayes, pg 5. There are four basic principles for cooking grass-fed meats:

1. Put away your timer, get a good meat thermometer, and be prepared to use it.

2. Turn down the heat.

3. Learn when to use dry-heat cooking methods and when to use moist-heat cooking methods.

4. Ease up on the seasonings and sauces.

I had the opportunity to meet and talk with Shannon Hayes and she highly recommends bone-in cuts. After reading these books I realize how important it is to use ALL parts of the meat for our health - and besides our dogs LOVE the bones. (P.S. We find our dog food bill going down in allowing them to enjoy what comes natural to them.)

We believe we will see Randall, Randy and Jody become leaders here in the Southeast in producing quality grass-fed beef. Better get your orders in now!!!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



What a difference
By: Roslyn Winterhalter    (Jul 10, 2008)

My family and I purchased 1/4 calf about a month ago and have been so impressed! Every cut we've eaten has been outstanding. I love serving it to our guests and seeing their reaction to how much better it is than anything I've ever bought at the grocery store. It is tender and delicious! I will definitely be buying from Hastings Farm again! It was a pleasure doing business with them.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Happy Cows Live in Bayminette!
By: Michele Isacson    (Jun 26, 2008)

I was amazed when visiting this farm how healthy the catttle appeared. I am no expert on cows, but you really don't have to be to see the quality of what you are getting. When I received my beef I decided to trick my kids. I cooked steaks. Some of them were from Hastings Farm and some from the local grocery store. I myself was shocked at the difference in the taste and texture of the meat, but my kid's reactions were the best. One of my daughters said the meat had a "cleaner" taste to it. My son, after eating the Hastings steak and then the piece from the grocer, suggested I give the ribeye from the grocer to the dog!!!! I was amazed they could tell such a difference. Now I have a problem, they don't want to eat any of the meat I have left in the freezer!! But that's okay, I totally agree with them. This beef is outstanding! And I feel better feeding them a very healthy alternative to the antibiotic, pesticide laden meat we get from the grocery.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Great flavor!
By: Amy Bell    (Jun 12, 2008)

When tasting this beef for the first time, I noticed a BIG difference in the flavor. It is very good. I've tried the hamburger, steaks, roast, and stew meat. It is all fantastic! Try some!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Great eats ! ! ! ! ! !
By: Bill Palmer    (Jun 4, 2008)

Folks I just got a 1/4 of beef from the Hastings farm and have been thru out there cattle with Randy and found them to be really nice cattle with a lot of meat on there bones well bred well fed working on good grass pastures that these men take the time to do there home work on!! The meat was awsome ! ! My wife is a pretty finicky eater with preconceived notions an she found the meat to really have a great taste an were both excited about it's health benefits. I've found as I got older that most hamburger meat if not all hamburger meat I buy in the chain stores really tears me up, not this beef it's good just about any way you cook it. Randy I'll be getting another one real soon thanks again! Bill

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Awesome taste.
By: Duke Wiser    (Apr 26, 2008)

We received our meat about two weeks ago and have been enjoying it every since. The taste and texture have been very noticable. The taste alone is awesome and our kids rave about how good everything is with this meat. Will definitely order more of this wonderful meat.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review