Reviews for: Gilmer County Farmers' Market

Average Review:

9 reviews



Care2 Review: We love this market!
By: Linda R.    (Jul 22, 2009)

I have been involved with the Gilmer County Farmers' Market since its inception and am absolutely thrilled to see how it has grown. Not only has it been a much needed boost for area farmers, it has provided a valuable service to the residents of our county. The market has encouraged people to feed their families with local produce and inspired others to replant long dormant gardens. Neighbors greeting neighbors and everyone welcoming newcomers and visitors creates a wonderful Saturday morning ritual. The most striking example is the smiles on everyone's faces.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Care2 Review: We love this market!
By: Camille D.    (Jun 29, 2009)

We love our local farmers, gardeners and craftsmen and want to do everything we can to support them and our local economy.....we're growing our own!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Care2 Review: We love this market!
By: Crystal C.    (Jun 27, 2009)

Our Farmers' Market is a great way to eat healthy locally grown veggie's and support our local economy.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Care2 Review: We love this market!
By: Christine W.    (Jun 26, 2009)

We love our Farmer's Market. It's a great economic help to our small, local farmers and a wonderful source of fresh, wholesome produce for our customers. It's a great alternative to shopping in the grocery chains for produce that may have been shipped across the country. It's comforting to know where your food is coming from and who is growing it. The market has been a real enhancement to our downtown area merchants, bringing much needed additional shoppers to the area. Plus, the market has become quite the social event for like-minded shoppers interested in supporting the local economy.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Care2 Review: We love this market!
By: Loretta H.    (Jun 26, 2009)

It is a boost to the economy in the county and provides an outlet for local vendors to sell fresh vegetables and crafts at a fair and and competitive price.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Care2 Review: We love this market!
By: Michael W.    (Jun 26, 2009)

Community driven, community supported farmers' market. It is a great way for farmers and crafters to get together with customers and sell their products, socialize, and be part of the Gilmer County community.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Care2 Review: We love this market!
By: Lynn R.    (Jun 26, 2009)

It's been a rea; asset to Ellijay and provided also more interest in the town on weekends.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Care2 Review: We love this market!
By: L M.    (Jun 25, 2009)

This is a vendor and consumer friendly market. The market itself is not run to be a profit generator - it just seeks to be a community source for super fresh produce. This means lower prices for consumers because the vendors don't have to cover an exorbitant seller fee. Consequently, local "hobby" gardeners can afford to sell their produce whenever they have excess, even if that's only 1 or 2 times during the season. This is a model that really should be reapeated all over the country. Personally, I only buy pesticide-free produce. Even in this ultra-conservative county, I can find several organic vendors, thanks to the Gilmer County Farmers Market!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review