Reviews for: Houde Family Farm

Average Review:

10 reviews



Best. Porkchops. Ever.
By: Lorraine    (Nov 9, 2008)

I've been enjoying the beef, pork and veal from Houde Family Farm for a year now and have been thoroughly impressed. The taste, quality and convenience can't be beat. The Tamworth pork chops, in particular, are amazing. I'm spoiled for life. I'm very happy to support a local farm, and to know where my food is coming from. I recently visited the Houde's operation in VT and was heartened to see how well the animals were treated and how happy and healthy they seemed. Farmers David and Tina are extremely caring and dedicated stewards of their animals and their land.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Fantastic Meat
By: Peter    (Oct 27, 2008)

My wife and I have been getting a monthly meat share from the Houde Family Farm for about a year, now, and we couldn't be happier. The quality and freshness are fantastic (particularly the Tamworth pig). The packaging is so convenient...one to two pound individually frozen packages defrost in a day in the refrigerator...and since the meat is so fresh, you don't have to be worried that it will spoil if you don't use it in a day or two. The locally cured bacon and ham is also delicious, and after reading all the horror stories about the livestock industry, it's reassuring to know that there are people out there like the Houde's, who are doing their part to make a difference.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Fantastic Meat/Great People
By: James Stringer    (Sep 4, 2008)

Having been in the food business for 25 years I can say without question that the meat I have been getting from the Houdes CSA is top quality and would reccomend it to any one. You will receive a mixed bag of pork, beef and veal. All is pre cut, portioned and you will get a mix of premium cuts, cured & smoked meat and some ground or stew meats. Nice variety.

The pork that the Houdes raise is great, has a wonderful depth of flavor that you will never find in supermarket pork. This same pork is also shred with members as ham and bacon and these two are some of the best you will find anywhere.

Anyone who has problems eating veal is thinkiung about factory farmed calves that are confined and fed too much, and end up pale, squishy and with no flavor. The veal that comes in a CSA share from David is sweet, tender and flavorful. It is from young animals that have grazed freely and had the pleasures of their own mothers milk not factory "Baby" formula. Any one squeamish should re-educate themselves and try this, it is lip smacking good, and I feel it is guilt free.

The toughest part of a CSA for most people, whether it is meat or vegies is not knowing what you are getting. I think this is the most interesting part and think that it inspires creativity. With a meat share that comes to you frozen you have plenty of time to work it out.

I heartily reccomend the Houde Family Farm CSA to anyone interested.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



very pleased
By: A Chuang    (Jul 8, 2008)

The meat tastes really great, the Houdes have been very helpful in arranging delivery times--I would highly recommend to everyone!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Great meat and convenience.
By: Cliff    (Jun 8, 2008)

We, like many others, no longer want to buy factory-farmed animals because of what big agribusiness has done to the environment and our health. This is a great, convenient (can't beat home delivery!), and relatively reasonably option for grass-fed meat.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Highly Recommend Houde Family Farm
By: Jim Donohue    (May 16, 2008)

My family and I have participated in the Houde farm's CSA for the past few years and have been very happy. The quality of the meat has been excellent and it has been comforting to know how the animals are cared for and what they are fed. The difference in the taste of their meats compared with those available at the supermarket is really noticeable (especially in the pork).

As I have become more aware of how meat in the supermarkets has been raised and its impact on diet, the environment etc, our family has pretty much stopped buying supermarket beef and pork. In addition to being great quality, the beef and pork from the Houde farm is very reasonably priced compared with other options we have found for naturally raised meats.

We have also enjoyed some of the additional cuts of meat they occasionally offer for sale such as pork and beef roasts, babyback ribs and others.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Great Farm Practice, Great Food, Great People
By: Erin    (May 16, 2008)

After reading Animal, Vegetable, Miracle I was compelled to change my eating/purchasing habits, and when looking to get local humanely raised meats, I ran across Houde Farm. Being from a farming family myself, I was instantly endeared to theirs, and with the convenience factor (home delivery, what's better than that?) I had to try it. The quality of the product is so great, I've signed up again for their CSA and upped my share amount! I can't imagine going back to store bought meats and eggs, the quality just does not compare.

Knowing your farmers, knowing their practice, and that your food has been raised with care, love, and the natural way it should be is worth every penny. David and Tina are really on top of communication with their customers, and Jeff offers some great cooking ideas during deliveries! The selection is great, and the option for "extras" is a nice touch. I've been overly pleased and rave about them all the time!

Now if we could just get Mass to allow sales of their chickens....

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



All around excellence!
By: Sue Triggs-Rhuda    (May 16, 2008)

We've been a part of the Houde Family Farm CSA since they started with the Farm Direct Co-op here in Massachusettes. We cannot say enough great things about the Houdes.

Their meat is amazing, it even looks better than the grocery store stuff. That it is sustainably raised is extremely important to our family. I also like that we're supporting a family farm, it's "local" and the Houdes are so nice and really go the extra mile for their customers. Their customer service is the best and I don't even have to pick it up anymore, Jeff drops it at my house...worth every penny and I hope they keep going...now if we could only "import" chicken from them, I'd never have to buy any meat at the grocery store.

The Houdes have invited their coop clients to stop by the farm anytime for a visit. I would love to take my girls up to show them a real farm and meet the people that raise our food. I hope the Houdes will continue to build their business, they are certainly on the right track!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review