Reviews for: Byrd Farm

Average Review:

12 reviews



Consistently superior quality and service
By: Sherron Marquina    (Mar 30, 2013)

We have been members of Debra Stoneman's CSA since we first met them at their initial location, the Goochland market. It only gets better year after year. The fact that Debra, Philip, and their staff are friendly, helpful, and full of recipes ideas, and information about the harvested crops is a bonus. The quality of eggs (yes, you can taste the difference!), the quality and variety of vegetables (who knew kale, radishes, and squash could be so interesting?), the consciousness that goes into the meats and poultry production, is amazing. We are grateful that these foods are available for our family. Only one "complaint": membership in this CSA is so flexible, so accommodating to our schedule and budget that we almost feel cheated of the "risk" of supporting community agriculture that used to accompany CSA membership. So we do what we can: buy quality organic food from people that we know and appreciate, enjoy it immensely, and enjoy the knowlege that our purchases are supporting the availability of local organic food from earth-conscious farming.

--Sherron & Nelson Marquina

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Excellent local farm
By: Laura Ortiz    (Mar 24, 2013)

I've grown to love Byrd Farm's produce through a membership in their Rural Virginia Market CSA. Their produce is super fresh, and of excellent quality and size.

Also, Deb & co. are very responsive to any questions I might have. And they have just received their organic certification. I love that I can buy local and organic now, and get to know the farm that produces our food.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



THE BEST!!!
By: Jennifer Dowda    (Mar 18, 2013)

Byrd Farm/Rural VA Market CSA is absolutely incredible. I cannot recommend them highly enough - the VERY BEST eggs and chicken you have ever tasted in your life!!! All produce super yummy - everything they bring is incredible. Do not miss out any longer - join this CSA!!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Fantastic!
By: Mayra Foster    (Mar 16, 2013)

We first joined a CSA last year. It was our first experience with a CSA, so we did not fully know what to expect. The experience with Rural Virginia CSA/Byrd Farm has exceeded our expectations. We knew immediately we would do it again, so we are happily into our second year. Oh, and this year, they received USDA organic status!

- The produce is fresh and simply delicious! So is everything else they carry: eggs, meat products, and some fun extras (jams, chocolate, etc.). Outstanding quality all around.

- Debra, Phillip, and their staff are knowledgeable and super friendly! We look forward to seeing them at the market every week.

- The system for placing weekly orders is flexible and easy to use.

We love Byrd Farm/Rural Virginia CSA and totally recommend it!

Mayra and Dan

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Byrd Farm is my favorite
By: amy Newman    (Mar 14, 2013)

It is so nice to trust the farm where you get your food. The CSA is easy to use and you can pick what you like. They are so incredibly helpful and the food is fresh, fabulous and plentiful.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Why I chose Byrd Farm CSA - 2nd year in a row
By: Natalya Shulgina    (Mar 11, 2013)

I preface this review by saying that I rarely write reviews in general, and being in my last months of the dissertation-writing, I don't write anything except what is related to it. But I am writing this review because of the deep respect I have for the people who work on this farm, and because I hope that it might be helpful for somebody who has been "in my shoes."

This is my 4th year of CSA experience, which started because of the diagnosis of an auto-immune condition. In the 1st year, we payed an upfront payment for the weekly share; the produce was good, but by the end of the year I and my husband were getting a bit "tired" of the lack of control we had over the the type/quantities of produce received. (Too many days I had to decide on the spot to can/freeze/dehydrate.)

So, when the 2nd year came around, we chose not to renew, but instead just come to the market and get what we need on the week-to-week basis. This worked well, we got to know different people, different kinds of produce, meats, etc, and there was no upfront payment and weekly commitment. We thought we had found the best way to do CSA -- until we had two bad experiences on the market. On one occasion, we bought a supposedly locally grown cantaloupe that happened to be partially frozen (yes, just like the ones you get at the grocery store) and some tomatoes, one of which had a grocery store sticker on it. On another occasion, we learned that the produce that was sold to us for almost an entire season as "not-sprayed" was in fact treated with fungicides and pesticides.

I do not like writing these things about people who sell "local" produce on RVA markets. And I do realize that growing organic produce is a very risky and costly undertaking. Therefore, I do not argue that "everybody must go organic." However, I do hope for some simple honesty about the ways produce is grown and sold.

This is why I chose Byrd Farm. I know Deb and most of the farm people who come to the marker personally, they know me and my medical condition (now, even if I forget to ask, they themselves alert me to the "conventionally grown" fruit), and I know that I can trust them. This means a lot to me.

Other reasons include the following:

1. Assortment of goods: to my knowledge, they offer the widest collection vegetables, mushroom, fruit, meats, eggs, dairy, honey (and even some delectable chocolate!)

2."Debit system" of payments: no big investment upfront, customers themselves monitor and add funds as needed to their accounts throughout the season

3. Flexibility: what I get is determined not by the farmer, but by what I order in their online store

4. Quality of food: all products are always very fresh (once we overlooked their bag of lettuce in our crisper, and it was fine for 2 weeks!)

5. Customers could suggest the kinds of produce for the farm to plant--and Deb really listens!

Thank you, Byrd! - and I highly recommend Byrd Farm to other customers

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Great food, great experience for the children
By: Niki Mason    (Mar 11, 2013)

Byrd Farm and their CSA came as highly recommended by a friend and fellow "foodie". We joined up with Deb last year and couldn't be happier. We've continue going to the market even through these winter months and I honestly love to brag to family and friends that what we're eating or serving them is not only good for them but local and supporting a family just down the road. Deb and her crew know me and my children by name, they have our order ready and are so flexible if we see something else we can't resist.

The food is incredible! I didn't even know what to do with kale until last fall and now we (the children included) eat kale chips weekly thanks to Deb and Bobby for not only introducing us to the leafy green but telling us how to prepare it. I can no longer eat a store-bought apple - I'm spoiled by the wonderful flavor of the CSA's apples. The children enjoy choosing which color and sized egg will make their breakfast and really enjoyed being introduced to the "ladies" who lay them.

The market is an experience in itself and the children get so much out of it. The people, the foods, the smells and sights. It's a wonderful education for our children and one every child should experience.

Overall, there's nothing like eating fresh and local and knowing the people who've put their heart and soul into feeding our family a healthy meals. Join up!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



LOVE MY CSA!
By: Cathi Poston    (Mar 11, 2013)

Love going to the market every week (even during the winter months)!! Produce is always fresh, packaged great for pick-up. Website so easy to use to order. Deb and everyone at the table VERY nice and always helpful. It's great knowing exactly where and how my food is grown, as well as the people who grow it. THANKS, CP

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review