Reviews for: Porter Community Farm

Average Review:

9 reviews



Worth the Drive!
By: Amie Gonzalez    (Dec 15, 2011)

This is the third year my family, friends and I have known about Stephen's market. We all enjoy driving out on Saturdays to visit and enjoy the wonderful aspects of the farm that Stephen shares with us all, he works really hard to make the market the best it can be for everyone in the community.

The produce we have purchased at the farm has always been wonderful, and like someone before mentioned, it is amazing to see how much longer it lasts compared to store bought goods. At least with produce from the market you know exactly where it came from and know it is grown in a very conscientious way. There is also the added bonus of the freshest, most beautiful eggs you can find anywhere... and the tamales and goat cheese that is occasionally offered as well.

My 11 year old son loves going to the farm and feeding the chickens and visiting "Mr. Farmer Stephen Sir". We have really enjoyed all the special days offered at the farm as well! The recent pumpkin patch and last year's pick your own Sunflowers day stand out in my mind as really fun days I got to spend with my family in a wonderful environment, and I have some wonderful pictures to show for them! I am really glad there is a place I can bring my son, that he enjoys going, to show him where his food comes from and how beautiful it all can be!

We really do appreciate all your hard work and effort with the farm and the market Stephen, and I am very thankful that you are willing to work so hard for our community. Thank you for everything you do!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



LOVE my CSA share, love the market!
By: Jennifer Land    (Oct 18, 2010)

I have been a part of Stephen's CSA for the 2010 season (which will be about 40+ weeks of produce!) and I have been so pleased with the offerings!

We have received extremely generous portions of the most delicious locally grown food. During the winter and spring, we received huge helpings of crisp greens, the summer yielded juicy melons, awesome winter and summer squash, and tons of okra, tomatoes, black eyed peas, peppers and more... I am loving all of the fall goodies right now (especially the sweet potatoes!

Every week has been like opening a goody box and our family has benefited greatly from this modest investment. Not only have I gotten WELL more than my money's worth, but my kids have been able to come out to the farm weekly to feed the chickens, run around in the sunflowers, harvest vegetables with me, and just get a general understanding of WHERE their food comes from. It is so refreshing and we've had a total blast! Stephen is easy going and answers any questions you may have (even if they seem dumb! haha!). I can't wait to sign up for the 2011 CSA. I'm so glad he's expanding it so that more families can get in on the CSA... it will allow him to diversify the crops some, I think, and it'll continue to be an inexpensive way for my family to get the best produce out there! We're really excited about the possible addition of some more fruit this year... yum!

If you are on the fence about joining the CSA, I encourage you to ask questions and GO FOR IT! :) We have truly, truly enjoyed it. I've never been a bit disappointed! The share has always exceeded our expectations and there's always a surprise or two! :)

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



High Quality Produce Locally Grown
By: Mary Stortz    (Jan 5, 2009)

Stephen puts a lot of time and hard work into his market and consistently provides high quality produce for the area. What's also nice is that he works with other people in the area to provide farm fresh eggs, bread, and other items that are ordinarily hard to find. He is also very good about keeping everyone posted about what he's got, or is going to have the next week. Way to go Stephen, 2009 will be even better!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Fresh Produce/Local Blessing
By: Marla Carr    (Dec 10, 2008)

I was privelaged this summer to be introduced to Stephen and the fresh vegetables and other products he offers by Gerenda Sawyer an Executive Chef here in Midland. What a blessing to have the availability of fresh produce, eggs and home-made breads and relishes! The products are always freshly picked and delicious! The shopping is well organized and the prices are well....cheap! It is amazing to me how long the fresh produce lasts vs buying the same items at the grocery store. The color, texture and flavor of all the produce can not even be compared to what you purchase at the grocery store. It is such a "refreshing experience" to visit the country on Saturday mornings and bring home locally grown goodies! My husband and I will continue to visit the farm every Saturday to purchase the freshest, most beautiful and best tasting products we can buy for our money and better health! I will close by saying, it's not as hard to find as you might think, once you've been there~it's a breeze to get to and very well worth the trip! Thank you Stephen for blessing our lives with your "Local Harvest!" Marla and Joe Carr

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Best Fresh Produce in Midland
By: Rose Marie Stortz    (Dec 4, 2008)

Everything Stephen has for sale is freshly picked, cleaned, and neatly boxed on tables or, in the case of greens, washed and bagged in zip-locks. Stephen is pleasant to deal with and always expresses his gratitude that people will drive several miles out of town to buy his produce. A faithful group of appreciative customers know to be there early to avoid missing out on some of his vegetables.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Great farm, best farmer ever!
By: Carol Ann Bauer    (Dec 3, 2008)

I just found Stephen Porter's farm this year and have been dragging my friends out there as much as I can. The produce is top notch, including the fact that much of it is washed and packaged so all I have to do is cook! I even got to pick some of my own peas, a very big deal for a city girl. I am delighted with the quality and variety, even though 2008 was a tough year with no rain. Plus, the people who are always out there to assist are friendly and fun. And Stephen cans, he pickles, he sells fresh home made bread baked locally and eggs from two wonderful egg farms -- first time I ever saw green eggs! How would a chicken do that? Seriously, this is a wonderful place to support and I am a big fan.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



THE FRIENDLIEST FARMER IN WEST TEXAS
By: LINDA ROBINSON    (Dec 3, 2008)

STEPHEN ALWAYS TELLS HIS CUSTOMERS "THANKS FOR COMING OUT" AND I KNOW HE IS SINCERE. THE FARM IS OUT OF THE CITY A LITTLE WAYS AND I THINK HE REALLY APPRECIATES THAT PEOPLE TAKE TIME FROM THEIR BUSY SCHEDULES TO DRIVE OUT THERE. IT IS WELL WORTH THE DRIVE (IT'S REALLY JUST A FEW MILES OUT). THE PRODUCE IS GREAT, YOU MEET SO MANY AGREEABLE FOLKS OUT THERE. STEPHEN IS AN INCREDIBLE YOUNG MAN AND WE ALL THINK THE WORLD OF HIM AND APPRECIATE HIS HARD WORK TO BRING US SUCH FRESH PRODUCE.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Tom's farm is great!
By: steve & lisa gandy    (Dec 3, 2008)

This is the second year we have purchased the locally grown products from Tom's farm and we couldn't be more satisfied. From the great variety of home grown seasonal veggies to the eggs, bread, and canned goods we have never been disappointed. The farm has even provided fresh pork and goat cheese on occasion. We really like the conveinence and quality available from this local producer so we tell everyone we know. It's a great way to promote healthy eating habits. Check it out! The best in Midland!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

steve & lisa gandy says:    (Dec 3, 2008)

I don't know why I used "Tom" as Stephen's name. I must be getting to old! But the comments all are valid. Sorry Stephen!