Reviews for: Plaid Piper Farm LLC

Average Review:

13 reviews



A lamb addiction.
By: Claire MacBride    (Oct 11, 2011)

I was at Plaid Piper yesterday to pick up my pork order and a broiler which I know will all be out of this world. Next up turkey pick up and lamb pick up. If you like lamb you had better order some chops from Plaid Piper. I got some last year (not enough though), and I am telling you they were beyond excdellent - like crack cocaine. I have been dreaming of them ever since. Seriously, support your local farmers and especially Plaid Piper.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Gobble, gobble!!
By: Heather Hays    (Aug 15, 2011)

I am ordering the biggest turkey I can get from Plaid Piper Farm!! Last year it was gone before everyone went to bed!! Best turkey ever...order early so you don't miss out!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



The Real Deal
By: Sally Bowdle    (Oct 11, 2010)

This is it folks. If you've read Joel Salatin, Micheal Pollan, Barbara Kingsolver....watched Food Inc and Fresh, this it the best stuff right here in our own back yard.

I picked up a chicken while at their farm for the Slow Food dinner this summer. I saved it as long as I could stand, and then brought it to share with my family. My dad (turned 70 this year!) says- Best Chicken Ever! And I said, of course Dad, it's pasture raised and from Plaid Piper.

So now I have four more birds in my freezer, and one stew chicken in my slow cooker. I'm set for winter- till I get a chest freezer....

Go visit the farm and see for yourself! My favorite is the 'layer lair'....

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



The best london broil ever
By: Claire MacBride    (Sep 23, 2010)

Sometimes I think it is just me that thinks the meat from Plaid Piper farm is superlative in every way but this summer I grilled a london broil when my daughter was visiting and she could not stop talking about how good it was. Tender and oh so flavorfull with no additions. Plus the added bonus of knowing where the meat came from and what it ate and that it was local. You can't go wrong. Everything I have gotten from Plaid Piper had been out of this world tasty. Worth every penny.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Don't forget about the pork!
By:    (Sep 8, 2010)

I agree with everyone else who posted about the turkey, eggs, and chicken. But I would like to put a plug in for the pork. We order half a pig for our family of three, and each serving has been fantastic! We were able to choose how we wanted the order cut, and also had the option to have meats smoked. EVERYTHING tastes WONDERFUL!! It's absolutely worth the beautiful drive through scenic Sussex County to pick up the order.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



BY FAR THE BEST...
By: Natasha Alfsen    (Oct 30, 2009)

I know this review is going to wind up biting me in the butt, as much as I love them I don't want to share Paul and Eileen with anyone else. However I am going to give it to you straight, Plaid Piper is the best farm for sustainably farmed, naturally raised products PERIOD. I live in New York City, and I bypass farmers markets knowing that I can get the most delicious eggs, chicken, beef and pork in Sussex County. Their eggs are the best that I have had and I have sampled many. Anyone who reads this, please do me a favor, and leave some eggs for me.

The things that I have sampled include countless eggs, grass fed beef, pork shoulders, broiler chickens & bacon. Everything was phenomenal.

Unfortunately they are sold out of turkeys for this thanksgiving, I tried to bribe them but they wouldn't budge.

-Natasha

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Grass-Fed Beef tastes of sunshine and goodness
By: Margaret Noon    (Aug 18, 2009)

I just had a Plaid Piper Strip Steak--it was phenomenal. I am still trying to figure out the nuances of the flavor.

I think happy cattle are key to the flavor--Paul & Eileen take such great care of their animals!

My suggestion is take your meat, poultry , and egg budget and buy from a farm like Plaid Piper--even if you are buying less quantity the quality and nutrition is so superior that you're getting a deal.

And eat more vegetables!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Best Turkey EVER
By: Mariel Clemensen    (Dec 17, 2008)

We enjoyed our turkey from Plaid Piper this Thanksgiving - all our guests agreed it was the best they ever had. We used recipes from America's Test Kitchen and brined first. In addition, we bought eggs, bacon and other meat products - all very very delicious and healthy. We will never go back to commercial meats!

Mariel@clemensen.com

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review