Reviews for: Wolf Creek Family Farm

Average Review:

6 reviews



Lease acreage
By: Nickie Hertzog    (Aug 3, 2011)

I own 40 acres, west of PHMO, 6 miles north of Harrisonville and a few miles from Raymore. I do not use the acreage and would like to lease it to an organic farmer for either beef or row crops. Anyone interested?

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Very pleased!
By: Lana    (Aug 31, 2010)

My family moved to MO from out-of-state, & one of the first things on my list was to locate an organic farmer who participated in CSA.

We were pleased with NV Ranch services - their pick-up locations (many to pick from) fit our schedules, their prices are fair, the communication from them is what I was looking for, and after our first share, we were SUPER pleased. They continue to supply us with GREAT organic foods; this week, our box was loaded! Each visit they are friendly and full of information if we inquire.

I would recommend this organic farmer for sure!

Thanks NV Ranch for meeting our expectations our 1st year in MO!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Grass Fed Beef #1
By: Matt    (Dec 4, 2008)

I really enjoyed my free range, grass fed beef, pork, chicken, and thanksgiving turkey. The meat tastes so much better than store bought, corn fed animals. I also enjoyed the greens and other vegetables which I wouldn't normally buy. I understand it was a hard season with foxes and an extreme amount of rain. Farming is a gamble. If I had the time it takes to grow my own food I would, but I don't, so I choose CSA. I will defiantly be buying a share next year. It is also fun to see the animals beforehand. They are all handled with care and respect. I never had any problem with any of my meat tasting bad, if i had, I would have reported it and I know NV Ranch would have taken every step to ensure my satisfaction. Give CSA a chance, it is the smart and economical choice in today's environment.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

says:    (Dec 16, 2008)

You sound like you are very familiar with the farm. How do you know that if someone had complained about the meat that someone would have made it right? Also, in the beginning I loved getting the updates and recipes with each delivery, however, these stopped after about a month. Just like the website and blog, I found this well-meant attempt at customer satisfaction to be below expectation. The web site said that it would be updated every week with the harvest to expect so that I could plan my meals, but this was not updated either. Besides, if someone had asked me just once about the quality of the food I was being given every week, I would have been happy to tell them I was unhappy. Unfortunately, the people distributing the food seemed more interested in visiting with the other vendors at the markets than in the satisfaction of the customer.



Would highly recommed!
By: Gineane Smith    (Dec 3, 2008)

This was my first time joining a CSA and will continue to join every year! My family did both the meat and vegetable program and were very satisfied with products. The meat was wonderful and I was amazed how little fat I got when frying the hamburger meat, much better than the store bought. The ham was also delicious. I was also amazed at how much salad greens I got, I love salads, and all the other vegetables throughtout the season! Always so fresh and the corn was gone within days of bringing it home. The kids really enjoyed it! I would highly recommend them to anyone interested in joining a CSA. So much better than a grocery store! Oh, and they also offer farm fresh eggs and yes you can see and taste a difference, they're delicious!!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Great variety and flavorful meats
By: Laurel Hovey    (Dec 3, 2008)

We had a wonderful experience with this CSA. We did both a meat and a vegetable program with them and were very satisfied with both. The meat was all very flavorful and we got enough that we always had some in the freezer. If you like ham steaks, these are hard to beat! One of the great things about joining a CSA is trying vegetables you might not normally buy. One of the nice things they provided for shareholders was a recipe using the meat and produce from that week's shares. Great idea! We really enjoyed all the variety we got throughout the season.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Dissapointing
By:    (Dec 1, 2008)

This was my first year getting a CSA, so I am definantly not an expert, but I did my research and wanted to do the right thing for myself and the environment, so I bought a CSA share with this farm. The contract stated that each pickup should have enough to feed a family of four, but seldom did. Many of the first pickups and later pickups consisted of 50% turnip greens, 25% mustard greens, and 25% lettuce/spinach. Seriously, there are only so many greens a person can eat. The produce was not good enough for me to even consider buying another CSA share from this farm.

I also purchased a meat share from NV ranch. Again, their contract promised chicken, pork, and beef enough to feed a family of four. I eat a lot of chicken and I only received chicken 1 time in the form of skinned chicken legs (which are nearly impossible to cook well). One of the steaks I grilled and had to throw away because it tasted like the meat was bad.

Overall, I was very dissapointed with this CSA. I know it was their first year, but I expected them to at least live up to their contract. Next year I will take the money I spent on this and buy the things I really want from the farmer's market.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Karin Nead Velez says:    (Dec 3, 2008)

We appreciate the comment and always strive to live up to our customers expectations and would have liked to have known about any dissatisfaction during the season rather than after the season ended. We indicate in our program information that the early and late months will be mostly leafy greens, as that is what grows in this area during the spring and fall. We try to provide a good variety across our 6 month CSA season. The summer months we did provide many tomatoes, zucchini, peppers, cucumbers, etc. As for the meat share, we had a serious problem with predators this year that destroyed nearly 85% of our flock so our supply of chicken was very low. We communicated this to our shareholders and made sure they received additional pork and beef instead. As far as having 'bad' meat, this should have been brought to our attention IMMEDIATELY. There should be no reason for this as all of our meat is immediately quick frozen after butchering. This problem would have been investigated and resolved; this is the first such complaint we've heard about any of our meat products. We have many repeat customers that come back to us over and over again because of the quality of our meats. Part of joining a CSA is partnering with the farmer and sharing in both the bounties and the problems that occur. With flooding knocking out much of the early harvests and other challenges this year, we did our best to make up for it and tried to always be sure our customers knew what was going on. We're very sorry to hear that someone was less than satisfied. 2008 may have been our first year running a CSA but not our first year farming and hope that this reviewers first experience will not sway them from trying a CSA again in the future. We believe CSAs are a viable way to support local farmers as well as providing your family with healthy foods grown in a sustainable manner.