Reviews for: Walkerton Dairy Herd Association

Average Review:

7 reviews



WDHA is the way to go
By:    (Jul 13, 2010)

My husband and I have been shareholders in the Association for just over a year now. I waited to do a review so that I could give an educated perspective on how the farm is run and what is like to be a member of the Association without the excitement of being part of such an adventure skewing my view.

I have to say - it has been an absolute delight. The farm is 100% organic , includes biodynamic principles and the cows are 100% grass fed. The facilities are clean, well managed and those are certainly some happy (and beautiful)cows! The milk is fantastic and the cream is out of this world. We've learned to make butter, cheese, yogurt, kefir etc with our milk. It's great to know what you are putting in your body is not only starting out in it's purest state, but that you are using what Mother Nature is providing to make those things.

We both say "Thank You" to Susan, the shareholders who do the milking and the WDHA for giving us this opportunity and we are eternally grateful for all the work they do.

Tom and Pam Kelly

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Amazing Experience
By: Misty    (Aug 28, 2008)

I have had the pleasure of belonging to this organization since we adopted our first cows last year.

The most beautiful part of this group is the personal aspect. I've belonged to other cow shares in the past but never have I had the opportunity to become so involved. As a shareholder, we have access to the barn, can get to know our cows, and actually be involved in the milking process.

And to make it all better, the milk is FANTASTIC! It's so fresh, rich and creamy - the day we pick up our share is always a happy day! And as far as the price, it actually seems to be averaging around $7.00 a gallon this season - very reasonable for this quality of milk.

If you live in the area, I highly recommend joining our group!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



in response to a negative review
By: Tina Mealer    (Jul 30, 2008)

I would like to comment, due to a negative review on this site, on The Walkerton Dairy Herd Association. We have a wonderful hard working group of people who strive to make our association be one of the best. Anyone interested in joining our group is more than welcome to read over the contract before paying for a share . Tours of the farm and the milking facility are given by appointment and greatly encouraged. Milk production does vary due to weather, herd size, nursing cows, etc. Some things are beyond our control but these are the same things that affect any other dairy farmer and their milk production. Several members do a great deal of research to make sure we are running our facility and caring for our cows in the best possible way. We have continued to grow over the years we have been in existence and are looking forward to growing in the future. Tina Mealer President WDHA

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Raw Milk...Healthy Living
By: Heather Schmitt-Gonzalez    (Jul 30, 2008)

My family joined the WDHA about 4 1/2 months ago. We wanted to support local farming and take a step in the right direction towards living healthier and enriching our lives through getting "back to the earth". Hard work, dedication and commitment are words that describe this diverse group of people involved in bringing raw, organic milk to it's members each and every day!

Raw milk was a new experience for our children and myself, but we all have grown to LOVE it and definitely do not want to go back to pasteurized, grocery store milk. We do feel healthier- whether it is actual or perceived...we'll take it! Some weeks are better than others (as far as milk production), but this is a FARM, not a grocery store! I've had weeks where I had so much milk that I could make cheese, ice cream, yogurt and kefir. I've also had weeks where we've stretched & saved so we wouldn't waste any precious milk! We chose to become members of the WALKERTON DAIRY HERD ASSOCIATION as a way of living and are extremely satisfied. Every member adds their own character to this group and I recommend it to any person looking to support local farmers and support a healthy local diet!!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Walkerton Association a blessing!
By: Joyce Zalas    (Jul 30, 2008)

My family joined the Association Sept. of 07 and couldn't be more pleased! Our daughter is terminally ill and has a feeding tube. I had been feeding her with the 'processed nutren' normally used, resulting in a 'puffy' look and problems with her bowels. I wanted to give her something more natural and healthy. Since I began feeding her the raw milk, she has lost that 'puffy' look, and her bowels have improved. She also hasn't had one lung infection since she started. The milk is a blessing yes, but moreover the people in the Association have helped my family on numerous occasions. Because of our 'caretaking' situation we have not been able to assist in any of the group 'work/help' days, but you would never know it by the way these sincere people have helped us out. Sharing their own milk when my daughter needed more just to mention one! I don't know where else you will find a more caring, informative group of people! The milk is wonderful, but without this collection of people it wouldn't be so sweet~ Counting ourselves blessed, Joyce

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

says:    (Nov 10, 2010)

Thank you Joyce for your thoughtful and helpful review. I have a son with similar issues (feeding tube, progressive disease and bloating and bowel issues) and considered joining over the summer but it was a bit too far. Your comment was most helpful. I look forward to transitioning my son over to raw milk from this farm.



EXCELLENT
By: Tina Mealer    (May 28, 2008)

I am a member of the Walkerton Dairy Herd Assoc. and have been since the group started. I can say our members all pull together and work to make sure our cows stay healthy and happy, our milking facility stays extremely clean, and all legal guidelines are followed. The members have gladly shared their knowledge and I have met some very wonderful people! I am extremely glad I found this group and have no hesitation in recommending it to people looking for raw milk.

T.M.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Wonderful
By: Carolyn    (Apr 25, 2008)

We were thrilled to find a cow share program so close to us, so we can begin to drink raw milk. Everything has been set up very carefully and fits all the legal criteria, the place is beautiful, the cows well cared for. Every attention to detail has been made so as to provide us with safe, healthy milk to drink. The farmer and the president have went the extra mile to make this a great association to belong to. If you are looking for raw milk, do not look any further than the Walkerton Dairy Herd Association.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Carolyn says:    (Jul 30, 2008)

When I originally wrote this review you could say I was in the "honeymoon" stage with the association. After being in for a while I have found that everything is not what it appeared to be. We were told to expect a certain amount of milk which we rarely got, if we did receive that amount it would come out to about 6.00 a gallon, since we didn't receive that amount it worked out to be about 16.00 a gallon. Also because you don't receive an agreement until you have paid for your share and your first monthly asessment you find you are in a pretty restrictive agreement. The milk itself is good, and what I said about the cleanliness is true, but the way the association is ran could be greatly improved upon.