Reviews for: Harvest Moon Farms

Average Review:

7 reviews



LOVE THIS FARM
By: Tamara Taylor    (Nov 22, 2011)

I joined this CSA in 2011. I love the variety. I could not believe the difference in the asparagus from store bought. The food was outstanding - really. Farmer Bob and Jen are the real deal and really cared about my experience. I totally recommend this farm!!!!!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



fair
By: nicholas payton    (Apr 1, 2011)

These eggs are way to expensive . I recommend these to people who like to spend money.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Jennifer Borchardt says:    (May 3, 2011)

In August of 2010 there was the largest egg recall in history, with more than 500 million eggs involved. There is a link between flock size, caged birds and salmonella. In 2008, a Belgian Study published in Preventive Veterinary Medicine which stated, "the main risk factor (for higher salmonella contamination) that was identified was rearing hens in cages compared to barns and free range systems." According to USA Today, "In the egg business, there's not a lot of money to put toward good management. Over the past 30 years, egg farmers have on average made 6.7 cents profit on each dozen eggs they sold, which is pretty thin." For the safety of our consumers and the fair treatment of animals we choose to support a Certified Organic Free Range egg producer, hence the $5.00/dozen eggs. Also, just for comparison purposes just this last week Certified Organic eggs were $5.29 at Jewel.



Warm welcome to the midwest
By: Harvey Matlin    (Dec 14, 2010)

My wife and I just moved here from New York, where we also belonged to a CSA. we got pretty good produce, but we we also got random produce that we had no idea how to cook. Not only does harvest moon have a good crop; they offer an awesome newsletter that lists and describes all the produce you're getting, and offers recipes to help. To be honest, I had to buy a bunch of new herbs, but the results were usually worth it. Some of my best concoctions come when I use the recipes as a guideline, adding and subbing what I have in my fridge and cabinet.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



CSA program
By: heather mccauley    (Dec 11, 2010)

My roommate and I participated in the harvest Moon Farm CSA this season. It was the first time we had tried a CSA. We really loved getting our box every week. The recipes were great and we cooked at home a lot more and ate much better than usual. It was great opening our newsletter every week to see what would be in our boxes. Also, the location where we picked up our box was great! Lush Wine and Spirits on Roscoe. They were super friendly and usually had great, reasonably priced wine suggestions to complement the recipes. We'll definitely join up again!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Excellent CSA! A Great idea!
By: Melanie A Lee MD    (Sep 14, 2009)

2009 has been our first year with a CSA. We have a 1/2 share this year, and eggs, and this amount is sufficient for a single person or couple. We decided that because the produce is so spectacular and the flavor is delicious that we'll get a full share next season, and we're taking advantage of of the winter share too! The recipes on the wesite are outstanding, and because I love to cook, I've come up with some memorable meals, and post them on the forum page. We are so happy that we've had this share, and I find that it's much better not only for our waistlines but also for our budget!

Melanie Lee MD & my husand David Mink.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Excellent CSA Program!
By: Mandolyn Willow    (Mar 18, 2009)

Spring!! I can't express how excited I am to be joining Harvest Moon Farms CSA share again. I had a wonderful experience last year, the vegetables were always fresh and delicious! I loved the heirloom varieties and the plentiful greens! I enjoyed the weekly communication, it made it feel like I was part of a community, and it was nice to know what I was going to be getting in my up coming CSA box. I look forward to the growing season - and my csa share! Thanks Harvest Moon!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Good Experience
By: Liz Knor    (Mar 5, 2009)

Last year was the first time my husband and I tried a CSA program. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality and variety of produce we received every week. We were able to freeze many of the veggies and enjoy them this winter. I also liked the weekly email from Harvest Moon Farms letting us know what we would be receiving that week and recipes for the produce of the week. The owners are very nice. We are joining again this year.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review