Reviews for: The Orange Shop

Average Review:

88 reviews



Delicious and juicy
By: Nicole Damick    (Jan 24, 2014)

I ordered 3/4 of a bushel of page oranges and they arrived a few days ago. Beautiful, juicy fruit. No bruisings or mold, and carefully packed. My kids have torn through them and we're almost out! Thank you for giving us Floridians-in-exile a taste of home.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Awesome!
By: Geneta Rose-MacLean    (Jan 19, 2014)

These were delivered in a timely fashion, and are delicious!!!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Pages great, some Citra Navels a Disappointment
By: LaRue Shah    (Jan 1, 2014)

The order was delivered promptly. The Page Oranges were wonderful; everybody said they are the tastiest oranges ever. However, two large Citra navel oranges were mainly green outside and fibrous on the inside. I had to throw them out and not use them for the fruit cup I had planned on serving today.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Pete & Cindy Spyke says:    (Jan 3, 2014)

LaRue, Thanks for your comment. We always welcome feedback. As a note, all of our fruit is 100% guaranteed. All you have to do is send an email -- there's a place to do that on the Local Harvest Store -- and we will immediately ship a replacement for any fruit that does not arrive in perfect condition. All the fruit is in good condition when it leaves our packinghouse. We don't have control over what happens during the delivery process, though. Sometimes delays or rough handling can damage some, or even all, the fruit. Since it is perishable, damaged fruit decays rapidly. It doesn't happen very often, but it does happen, but we stand behind our products regardless of the cause. If something like this occurs, by the way, the email is a better way to let us know than a review, because we don't always know there's a post on the reviews, and you may not know we replied. With email, we find out right away and can reply directly to you. Many thanks! Pete Spyke, Owner



Wonderful!
By: Lauree Harris    (Dec 25, 2013)

These are the best tasting and juiciest tangerines...really fast shipping and in great condition upon arrival. My only wish would be you could remove those seeds first (ha)! We are enjoying them to the utmost. Thanks so much.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Wonderful oranges
By: Rosey Grunwaldt    (Dec 20, 2013)

Thanks to the Orange Shop for quick shipping and delicious page and navel oranges. In the dark of winter, nothing beats bright fresh citrus! Yum! Just in time for the holidays too!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



What a treat!
By: Karen Whitfield    (Dec 10, 2013)

Last year I ordered the Page Oranges and Ruby Red Grapefruit. This was the first time I have ordered citrus to be shipped. They arrived in perfect condition and both the oranges and grapefruit tasted wonderful. I am ordering again this year. The fact that shipping was free was a bonus.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Best part of winter
By: Brooke Benning    (Dec 10, 2013)

I ordered again this year after discovering the gem of page oranges last year. Totally worth the wait! They are the most flavorful, juicy, delicious citrus I have ever had. My family can't get enough of them. My order arrived pretty quickly and most fruit fared the trip well. I did have about 6 or so that were quite soft out of the box, but I just made a point to use those first. I am ordering boxes of pages for my friends and family as Christmas gifts. Order these. You won't be disappointed.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Highly Flavorful!
By: Jessica Modicamore    (May 30, 2013)

I received my order of these recently and was highly pleased, mostly with the oranges. I must admit that the grapefruit wasn't as expected in taste (a bit tarter than expected, maybe due to seasonal variations and such); however, they were very juicy which I like in a grapefruit. Now, the oranges...Oh, where to start! The oranges were bursting with juicy flavor that screamed "orange"! They're exactly what an orange should be: bright, juicy, sweet, and flavorful. I don't know...maybe I just haven't had a decent orange in awhile but these beat any orange I've had, at least in a very long time.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Pete & Cindy Spyke says:    (Oct 5, 2013)

Thanks, Jessica. We "follow" the grapefruit maturity through the season. We start picking way down in Immokalee in the deep southwest part of Florida early in the season, and end up in Marion County, the farthest north tip of the Florida citrus area, by the springtime. The goal is to always provide grapefruit with the characteristic flavor, which is slightly tart, yet full of sugar. No other shipper in Florida (or the world, for that matter) follows that protocol -- if their grapefruit are in southern Florida, the flavor is good early, but by the end of the season is flat in uninteresting. If they have North Florida grapefruit, the flavor in November is so sour that you might as well buy California fruit, but the fruit retains enough acid in April-May that they still have that flowery, tart grapefruit flavor. The Orange Shop goes to great lengths to supply only the best tasting fruit all season, even if it means slight compromises in external appearance. The oranges you received were Valencia, which is indeed the quintessential "Orange". There are more Valencias planted world wide than any other single citrus variety. Thanks again! Pete