Reviews for: The Orange Shop

Average Review:

88 reviews



Florida Honeybells
By: Julie Hebert    (Jan 24, 2013)

Really looked forward to this delivery and were disappointed upon arrival. 3 had mold. 1 was half sqwished.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Pete & Cindy Spyke says:    (Jan 27, 2013)

Julie, Thank you very much for letting us know that some of your Honeybells didn't arrive in perfect condition. It's been a rough patch for fruit arrivals over the past couple of weeks, and other fruit shippers are reporting the same results. All the fruit is firm and fresh when it leaves the packinghouse, but Honeybells are highly perishable, and the least little bit of rough handling will bruise them. If that happens, decay can begin and will proceed very fast. We guarantee all arrivals 100%, though, regardless of cause, so we have scheduled a replacement for the fruit that wasn't good to go out on our next truck to Texas on 2/8. Many thanks, and we hope you enjoy your fruit! Pete



A little disappointed but still hopeful... (2 stars)
By: Leigh Candelas    (Jan 24, 2013)

Hello, we ordered a tray of the page oranges on 1/11/13 and it shipped on 1/18/13. I may be wrong but I was expecting it to arrive in 3 days. So every day, my two young girls and I looked for them. The box arrived yesterday afternoon (1/23/13) and it looked a little beat up. Still hoping for the best, I opened it up and was sad to see that some of the fruit had popped out of their cushioned compartments and looked a little squished and past their prime. Still holding out hope, I grabbed one of them and it was so overripe that I could not peel it and ended up squeezing most of the juice out. Waaaahhh! What I tasted was good but I soon discovered at least two more that had either split open or felt a little rotten. My daughter wanted one so I cut that one into slices for her but noticed a bad/rotten spot and cut around that and tossed it. That one tasted overripe so we stopped there. I put the rest in the fridge and am hoping the rest don't go bad too quickly. I really wanted to enjoy the oranges as much as the other reviewers had! I was hesitant to order fresh fruit from Florida to be shipped to Colorado and am hoping this was simply a fluke or maybe it's just too long of a trek for the little guys. P.S. I keep selecting '2 stars Could be better' but it ends up with '3 stars' when I preview it. Maybe it's my smartphone messing it up.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Pete & Cindy Spyke says:    (Jan 27, 2013)

Leigh, Thank you very much for contacting The Orange Shop. We're very sorry to hear that all of the fruit you ordered did not arrive in perfect condition. In reading your report, the part about the box looking "beat up" and the fruit having popped out of the foam protection leads me to believe that somewhere in the delivery process, the box may have been dropped or handled roughly. Much of the fruit we ship is very delicate, which is why the commercial packers won't touch them. We take the risk, though, because the flavors and quality of the rare heirloom varieties are so outstanding. The downside is that they are also highly perishable, and if anything goes wrong during shipment, there can be problems. All the fruit is firm and fresh when it leaves the packinghouse, and the boxes are pristine. So, usually the shipping issues are related to rough handling or delays during shipment, over which we have no control. However, we do have a 100% arrival guarantee, so any fruit that doesn't make it in good condition will always be replaced, regardless of the cause. Your replacement has been scheduled for our 2/1 ship date, so you should see it late the following week. Hope they arrive in good condition, and that you enjoy the fruit. Many thanks. Pete



Best Oranges I've Ever Tasted.... Wow
By: Gabby Ifems    (Jan 24, 2013)

I thought maybe people were exaggerating about how good these oranges are but they really were just so good. I ate them way too fast and ran out. My daughter LOVED them just as much as I did. After we ate them all I bought a bag of organic valencia oranges from the store and they tasted almost like water in comparison. The flavor was SUPER mild compared to the pages we got. I am going to order some more before they sell out. I will definitely order again next year.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Sweet, Delicious & Fast Shipping : )
By: Teresa Schaffner    (Jan 18, 2013)

We just received our shipment and already managed sampling the honeybell and grapefruit. UNBELIEVABLE SWEET TASTE and nothing like the bland wanna be fruit from the conventional store. We appreciated the fast ship as well and will certainly purchase that this local store again.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Not the best this year rating 3
By:    (Jan 11, 2013)

I had ordered Pages oranges and navel oranges in 2011 as a single delivery. That was the first time Yes, no doubt they were the best oranges I had ever tasted in my life. Very juicy not as many seeds and easier to peel and excellent sweet falvour. I gobbled at least 10 of those on the first day. The full bushel lasted only a week. I ordered a second bushel as it was so good. The second order was equally good too. However, this year I did the monthly plan for 2 shippings and both lots were disappointing. The shipping and handling was not a problem but the oranges this year in Dec 2012 were not even half as good as in 2011. I am not sure whether this was because I made the monthly order for 2 shipments so they did not care if they send "not the so good pages oranges" to me. They certainly were much inferior quality in taste, impossible to peel, not as falavorful and sweet and too many seeds. Also noticed, not all oranges tasted the same so I even wonder whether they were all pages or not. My husband was so disappointed that he told me not order any more oranges from this store. Even the oranges from costco tasted so much better this year and easy to peel and almost seedless. My daughter loved these oranges in 2011 but in 2012r no one even bothers to touch the second bushel that arrived 3 weeks ago. I have to finish them all. Hopefully in the future the quality is maintained as a standard every year. I was hoping to order another bushel in Jan if it was good but currently I am holding it off. I might try one last time next year and if I get another shipment of not as good pages oranges as in 2011, I think I will never order them again at least from this shop. I know I will be craving for the good pages oranges for ever if I get disappointed again, As when they are good, they really are the best.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Pete & Cindy Spyke says:    (Jan 11, 2013)

Thanks very much for your comments about the Page Oranges you received this year. We listen carefully to everything our customers have to say. I have to say, though, that we are a bit puzzled. The Pages this year are coming from the exact same trees as last year. Even the same rows. We haven't noticed a significant difference in the flavor. The seed count is related to the fruit size -- smaller fruit have fewer seeds -- but a lot of people like the larger fruit so it's a tradeoff. The only thing I can figure is that you may have received a mispack -- your comment about not being sure they were Pages makes me suspicious that you may have received a combo pack with another variety. It doesn't happen often, but it can occur in the busy packinghouse if someone loses concentration. I would suggest that we ship you another box of Pages to see if that might be the case. Hopefully you'll notice this comment and let us know your shipping information. As far as next year, we hope to have Pages again, too. We introduced them as Gift Fruit, and have been the exclusive shipper. After our success, though, there may be others out there with limited quantities from time to time. Please get back, though, so we can sort this issue out and make it right for you. Many thanks! Pete

Jennifer says:    (Jan 14, 2013)

Pete and Cindy, I have to comment here and say that I agree with this customer's experience, at least in regards to 2011 (not scheduled deliveries) being of better quality than my 2012 scheduled deliveries. Perhaps just a coincidence. Below is my experience: My first order of Pages oranges in 2011 were absolutely incredible. Because of this, I took advantage of the last year pricing and scheduled a whole bushel to be delivered for both Nov. & Dec. The oranges looked the same though I will say a good portion were slightly larger than I remembered. Personally, I did not buy these to peel and eat, only for juicing as I have dubbed the juice these produce as Nectar from Heaven. I, too, was just a bit disappointed in the quality of the 2012 harvest. As you noted, the larger oranges did have more seeds in comparison to the smaller ones, but overall I think this harvest had more seeds than 2011. I did have a handful of small ones that had no seeds and it was the juice from these that produced the heavenly thick nectar that I had been craving for over a year. Now, typically I do not strain the pulp out of my juice, but for the Pages I make an exception because it distracts from the nectar's thick mouth feel. With that said, this harvest produced a pulpier juice than I remember from last year. Once strained, the juice and sweetness from these oranges can be so thick that it's almost like a concentrate that you dilute with water. In fact, for my 3-year old, I do this because the fruit sugars really get her buzzing since sugar is not a part of her regular diet. Also, when I'm getting low, I dilute with water to stretch it out. Really the taste is still quite orange-y and satisfying. Despite the seeds and pulp, overall, I would say I was satisfied and I will order them again. I just wanted to comment to say that my experience was similar to the original poster. It's hard get consistent harvests and flavors when the weather is as erratic as it has been. I find that oranges taste better after a cold-snap and/or REAL winter weather for a couple of weeks. And we're just not getting that in Florida. 80 degrees in January, anybody?

Pete & Cindy Spyke says:    (Jan 15, 2013)

Thanks, Jennifer, for your comments. It's always good to hear from our customers. The fruit does vary from year to year, although generally if they're coming off the same trees, they won't be very different. Now, there are differences between big and small fruit, and in general this year's Page crop has a bit larger fruit than last year. Since the larger fruit also tend to have more seeds, it sounds like the main difference between this and last year would be attributable to the size of the fruit. The smaller fruit of any variety also tends to have more sugar and a higher juice content, which would be noticeable if you are squeezing them. So, as a hint, when checking out, there's a comment box. Just specify that you prefer the smaller size fruit, and that's what we'll send. Otherwise, we usually send a mixture of sizes, because preferences vary. Many thanks! Pete

Jennifer says:    (Jan 15, 2013)

Thank you for the tip for specifying preferred size of fruit. I think I'm going to do just that and order another bushel. And I want to say that I really appreciate your dedication to your customer's satisfaction.

Pete & Cindy Spyke says:    (Jan 15, 2013)

Thanks, Jennifer. We should have Pages for another few weeks. As far as customer service, we had a fellow named Fletcher Kelly who started working at The Shop the year I was born, 1951, who we sadly lost this summer at a ripe old age after having worked up through last season. Fletcher was a very wise person, and we listened closely to every snippet of advice he gave us. Fletcher's favorite saying to customers still governs our attitudes and approach -- "This is your place, we just take care of it for you". Even though he's not running the fruit washing machine for the first time in 61 years, Fletcher's philosophy keeps us focused on what's important, as he always said, "every day". Pete



Very pleased!
By: Debra Jones    (Jan 10, 2013)

WOW!!! After recieving my multi box of page, navels, grapefruit from The Orange Shop, my son and I immediately ate a page orange. We were so impressed w/ how sweet and juicy the orange was til we ate another. My son isn't that much of a fruit eater but boy did he put the smash on those page, navel oranges! I was amazed @ how thin the skin was on all of the fruit and the fact that they were not dry! Thx I will be ordering again, NO MORE store bought oranges and grapefruits for me!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



No shipment
By: Tammy Lacey    (Jan 8, 2013)

After ordering on Dec 12th, calling about the order at the end of December, and waiting... I have still not received anything for my $54 or so. I understand that this order was placed through Local Harvest, but if you sell through an outlet, you should send product. I suppose my next recourse is through Local Harvest and my credit card company.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Tammy Lacey says:    (Jan 9, 2013)

I received my package today. There was an orange completely engulfed in mold, but everything else seems okay. I'm not a completely satisfied customer but I am glad to receive my citrus. From now on, I'll probably just buy Texas citrus. Thanks, Tammy.

Pete & Cindy Spyke says:    (Jan 10, 2013)

Tammy, Thank you very much for your post. The package you received today was actually a replacement for the first one that we shipped in December, but was lost in transit (by Fedex, not The Orange Shop). Shipping to citrus producing states is a bit more complex, and normally we have good success, although the schedule is restricted around the Holidays, so your replacement went out on the first truck in January. We're very sorry to hear that all the fruit did not arrive in perfect condition in this shipment, and will immediately send a #6 replacement box to make up for the one that didn't make it OK. I'll send Pages -- which you can't get in Texas, or even anywhere else in Florida! We appreciate your business, and will always do whatever is necessary to make your experience with us turn out well. Pete.



Very disappointed with shipping!
By: Kendall Dunkelberg    (Jan 5, 2013)

We ordered oranges from the Orange Shop through Local Harvest on Dec. 17 and received a confirmation the same day. The message from The Orange Shop on that confirmation stated that the oranges would ship Dec. 18. However, the package didn't actually ship until Jan. 3 and according to Fedex tracking, it is only scheduled for pickup, but isn't in their system on Jan. 4. Since this was a holiday present, it was very disappointing that it didn't arrive on time (or even close to the expected date) and that it didn't ship until over two weeks after the date we were told it would ship. I'm sure holiday schedules played a role, but we should have been notified when the product didn't ship on the date we were told it would ship. Don't know whether the oranges will be good, since they haven't arrived, but the shipping was extremely unreliable in our experience. We will not order again.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Pete & Cindy Spyke says:    (Jan 7, 2013)

Mr. Dunkelberg, as my wife Cindy responded in a separate email, we deeply apologize for the late arrival of your gift. We have to download all the Local Harvest orders and enter them into our shipping software manually. The person who entered your order was Dick, a very competent and experienced person -- he has owned his own businesses in the past. As it turns out, when he entered your order, he missed typing the "2" in the delivery month, so instead of "12", it was "1", or January, and your package didn't ship before Christmas. When we learned that your recipient didn't receive their gift, we shipped the package the very next Fedex pickup day, which was the 3rd, and it should arrive shortly. Cindy also let you know earlier that we made the choice to schedule a second delivery to your recipient with an upgrade to your original order, and a personal note of apology from us explaining that the late delivery was due to our mistake, and that you had ordered the gift in plenty of time for Christmas. We understand how important it is to represent our customers well with their gift recipients, and our goal is always 100% perfection because that's what you should expect. Unfortunately, in spite of our best effort, with a very small percentage of the total packages we ship, there are problems. Someone like Dick can miss a keystroke, there can be delivery snafus, or any one of many other causes. When things go wrong, we understand that the emotional issues are at the forefront because the desire is to receive a glowing, happy report from your gift recipient. We didn't achieve that for you, and we sincerely apologize. I wish I could go back and hit that "2", but since I can't, we will do everything we can to make it right, so if there's anything further we can do, please just let us know. And, of course, we certainly respect your right to make choices about your gifting in the future. Many thanks. Pete

Kendall Dunkelberg says:    (Feb 18, 2013)

The Orange Shop owners did write to apologize for the human error that resulted in the delayed shipment. They also sent an additional shipment to make with a note to the family who was to receive our gift, explaining why it was so late. I appreciate their attentiveness and willingness to go above and beyond to correct the error.