Reviews for: The Orange Shop

Average Review:

88 reviews



Hello, I love you.
By:    (Dec 22, 2012)

My friend bought some page oranges last year to share. This year, I bought my own.. all mine.. (kidding!) They're so delicious. I have to spread the word on these amazing little things. YUMMMMMM.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Excellent fruit, excellent shipping!
By: Andrea Morrow    (Dec 14, 2012)

We first bought the grapefruits, pages, and citra oranges combo bushel. They were so delicious, we then ordered another bushel of pages and citras. The fruit is fresh and delicious. They ship with their own shipping system in containers that are sturdy with well padded trays. The fruit arrives perfect, unlike another orchard we've ordered from that crams the fruit in an unpadded priority mail box and apparently hopes for the best...

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



these oranges are awesome
By: judy bevilacqua    (Dec 5, 2012)

oranges purchased at my local market here in new england just can't even come close to these sun ripened florida oranges. i came home from work and when i entered my kitched i could smell the scent of orange. my son was halfway across the kitchen eating one...and i could smell it..!! then i knew the box had arrived. they didn't last long. the only negative i can say, which is not the farmers fault, is that one of the oranges (of course the sweeter one) was split during shipping and i had to throw it away...which KILLED me. all in all i will order these oranges again for they are so worth it....

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Pete & Cindy Spyke says:    (Dec 12, 2012)

Judy, Thanks for the report, and glad to hear that you're enjoying the fruit. We will ship you a 6-pack replacement for the orange that didn't arrive in perfect condition. Thanks for letting us know. Pete



Pages are the best!
By: Robin L Schirmer    (Dec 4, 2012)

I've just placed my first order of the season for Pages and can't wait to receive them. I'm sending some to my son, too. After receiving them two or three times last season, we both got simple juicers to take advantage of these sweeties. I'm only sorry they're not available year-round, but like anything this good, it's probably best to treat ourselves for a couple of months. I'm sure we'll be back again in January for another fix!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Excellent citrus and good customer service
By: Jessica Bennett    (Dec 4, 2012)

I impulsively ordered a box of oranges just before Thanksgiving, and then realized I would not be home when they arrived! I called the Orange Shop, which had already packaged my order, and they pulled my box and reset my order to ship a week later. I very much appreciated their efforts to correct my own mistake. The oranges are the best you'll ever taste and I look forward to ordering from them a few times a year, especially when the page oranges are available. I've also given boxes as gifts to very appreciative recipients.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Best oranges EVER
By: Susan Witmer    (Apr 13, 2012)

Oranges have always been a hit or miss for flavor/sweetness when I purchased them in the store. Not so from The Orange Shop. Each one has been juicy and sweet and full of flavor. I've had the page and temple oranges and just ordered the valencia. I expect they will be just as delicious as the previous orders.

Sue W

PA

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Pages and Temples - Oh Boy!
By: Ian McElroy    (Mar 15, 2012)

We are repeat customers. After being 2000% delighted with our Page oranges (they completely redefined the meaning of an orange in our house), we ordered and received yesterday a whole bushel of Temples. Only 1 moldy one (out of 70+ oranges who can complain?). Before ordering I'd called the store to ask how the temples would be for making juice, since that's what we do with them (and then gnaw the rest of the flesh out of the rind!), and was told they're fine. Perhaps I'm comparing to the Pages (I am still smitten), which isn't fair. Yet I wish the Temple juice had some 'punch' to it. Perhaps you could put a guide to juice flavor / uses of the different orange varieties on your website so we could refine selection a little bit according to what we're going to do with the oranges (?). We are going to eat/drink every single one of them, you can be sure. Yet I'm wondering what fruit (at this time of year) would have made for a punchier glass of juice - or perhaps a mix of fruits? Your insight and wisdom most welcome. Thank you for growing lovely produce, we truly appreciate it.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Pete & Cindy Spyke says:    (Mar 25, 2012)

Ian, Thanks very much for taking the time to post a review. First of all, every shipment is guaranteed, so we'll replace the orange that didn't arrive in perfect condition. As far as the juice quality of Temples, it is true that no other variety measures up to Page. Temples, though, are unique and a lot of people prefer them over any other variety. The juice probably has as much sugar as Page, but the juice sacs are much more delicate, so the juice doesn't have the same "mouth feel", and the acid is higher so it's more a sweet-tart balance than the pure sweetness as Page. This time of year, the variety that would approach Page for those qualities would be the Honey Tangerines. They're very sweet, and have a deep orange internal color, so Honey T juice provides a rich, sweet flavor experience, too. We mix Honey T's and Temples in our juice at the store, and I would say that it's about as good as any juice we ever make. We'll be shipping both Temples and Honey T's this coming week, then we'll be out of them and on to Valencia, which is the ultimate juice orange by itself, so that's what we'll have for the remainder of the season. Thanks! (Pete)

Ian McElroy says:    (Apr 5, 2012)

We hadn't seen your comments (yet), Pete ... and fell over with surprise when we received oranges today! Wow. We never expected a replacement, and thank you. Your explanation is wonderful - shows how not only do you excel at customer service, You Know Oranges! Good ... because we pledge that the only oranges we'll eat or serve in our house come from The Orange Shop!. Many many thanks!!!



Temple oranges and grapefruit
By: Brooke Benning    (Mar 13, 2012)

I received my order of nearly a bushel of temple oranges and grapefruit today. One corner of the box was badly mangled, though by no fault of the grower. Most all of the fruit made the trip in pristine condition. A few on the bottom were bruised, no doubt from the lovely postal service dropping the box! As for flavor, the temple oranges are so good! Juicy, sweet and easy to peel. The grapefruit, which I tore into immediately, were very sweet, incredibly juicy, and will be a great start to my mornings. I love oranges but my heart belongs to grapefruit! I live for peeling grapefruit and eating them like giant oranges. In reading some of the other reviews saying that the fruit was of low quality, I just want to comment and say that from what I gather on their website, the orange shop grows heirloom varieties of citrus. I think of it as I think of the heirloom tomatoes that I grow in my garden- they may not look that pretty on the outside, but the flavor is unmatched. The same goes for this citrus. If you want citrus bred to keep for months, then by all means purchase from the grocery store. But, if you want quality citrus with a flavor that you'll NEVER find in a store, give this a try. The orange shop has a customer for life here!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Pete & Cindy Spyke says:    (Mar 25, 2012)

Brooke, many thanks for your kind review. All of our shipments are guaranteed, regardless of cause, so we'll ship out a replacement for the fruit that was damaged in your package. As far as the fruit quality, we do focus more on flavor than external appearance. We also use far fewer pesticides than other growers -- many times none at all -- so the fruit isn't always "presentation quality". We do try to make sure that it tastes good, though. We'll also push maturity dates and take a few more chances on shipping than others, too -- which is what we have to do in order to provide flavor experiences that are not available anywhere else. The Orange Shop ships more varieties of Florida Citrus than anyone else, which is all about providing our customers with opportunities that are rare and unique. We are passionate about getting good fruit into the homes of as many people as possible to enrich their lives. So, thanks for allowing us to do so for you. (Pete)