Reviews for: The Orange Shop

Average Review:

89 reviews



Temple oranges and grapefruit
By: Brooke Benning    (Mar 13, 2012)

I received my order of nearly a bushel of temple oranges and grapefruit today. One corner of the box was badly mangled, though by no fault of the grower. Most all of the fruit made the trip in pristine condition. A few on the bottom were bruised, no doubt from the lovely postal service dropping the box! As for flavor, the temple oranges are so good! Juicy, sweet and easy to peel. The grapefruit, which I tore into immediately, were very sweet, incredibly juicy, and will be a great start to my mornings. I love oranges but my heart belongs to grapefruit! I live for peeling grapefruit and eating them like giant oranges. In reading some of the other reviews saying that the fruit was of low quality, I just want to comment and say that from what I gather on their website, the orange shop grows heirloom varieties of citrus. I think of it as I think of the heirloom tomatoes that I grow in my garden- they may not look that pretty on the outside, but the flavor is unmatched. The same goes for this citrus. If you want citrus bred to keep for months, then by all means purchase from the grocery store. But, if you want quality citrus with a flavor that you'll NEVER find in a store, give this a try. The orange shop has a customer for life here!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Pete & Cindy Spyke says:    (Mar 25, 2012)

Brooke, many thanks for your kind review. All of our shipments are guaranteed, regardless of cause, so we'll ship out a replacement for the fruit that was damaged in your package. As far as the fruit quality, we do focus more on flavor than external appearance. We also use far fewer pesticides than other growers -- many times none at all -- so the fruit isn't always "presentation quality". We do try to make sure that it tastes good, though. We'll also push maturity dates and take a few more chances on shipping than others, too -- which is what we have to do in order to provide flavor experiences that are not available anywhere else. The Orange Shop ships more varieties of Florida Citrus than anyone else, which is all about providing our customers with opportunities that are rare and unique. We are passionate about getting good fruit into the homes of as many people as possible to enrich their lives. So, thanks for allowing us to do so for you. (Pete)



citra orange shop
By:    (Mar 7, 2012)

great deal love the produce

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Fabulous!
By: christina saldana    (Mar 7, 2012)

I ordered Page oranges recently and truly have never tasted such delicious oranges in my life. I bought 3/4 of a bushel, not really knowing how much actually would arrive. There were many of them and all were unbelievable in taste. What i couldn't eat, I turned into juice and was planning to freeze it, but that just never happened because you just can't get enough!! With this order, i will purchase Temples and hope they are as good in quality as the Page oranges. Please keep me on your mailing list. Thank you!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Page Oranges
By: Susan Jackson    (Feb 23, 2012)

I received my order of Page Oranges this week and was overwhelmed by the fresh orange taste and sweetness. My only reservation about reordering in the future is, the fruit is very ripe and so juicy, they are barely "peelable". Guess you can't have it all!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Susan Jackson says:    (Feb 24, 2012)

Guess I will be buying these again...my husband LOVES them and he figured out how to eat them w/o really peeling back the rind....eat the pulp out of it!

Pete & Cindy Spyke says:    (Feb 25, 2012)

Sheila, Thanks for the posts. It's definitely more of a challenge to peel them now than earlier in the season because they are very ripe and softer. Try keeping them in the fridge. When they're cooled down, they are much easier to peel. That's how Cindy and I keep them all the time, actually. They last longer that way, too. Pete



Beyond delicious!!
By: Wendy Lee Tedmon    (Feb 22, 2012)

I ordered Page Oranges and Honeybell Tangerines for Valentine's Day for my husband. Not only did they arrive ON Valentine's Day, they were incredibly sweet and juicy. I have never tasted anything like this! These oranges are incredible -- there isn't a modicum of decorum when it comes to eating one. We devour every bite and lap up every drop!! Next year, I'll be ordering bushels!!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Awesome flavor- but some moldy ones
By: Brooke Buck    (Feb 22, 2012)

I ordered a half bushel of page oranges because I am tired of dry, flavorless, overpriced grocery store oranges! THey arrived today (2/22) the oranges took a bit longer to get to me than expected, but I completely understand that the weather dominates picking, etc.

Unfortunately I had to throw out a bunch that were moldy when i unpacked them, which was disappointing since my kids are eating these like crazy and letting the Valentines day candy alone! I understand this is a perishable product and these things happen though!

The flavor and juiciness of these sweet little oranges is unmatched! I would definitely order more next time.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Pete & Cindy Spyke says:    (Feb 23, 2012)

Brooke, Thanks for taking the time to post a review. Customer feedback is very valuable to us, and we study each report to find ways to get better. As luck would have it, we picked the very last Pages today, and while they are really past the state where we could ship many of them, I bet there's enough to replace yours that didn't arrive in perfect condition. We'll try to get that done for you -- we wouldn't want you to miss out on a single orange. Pete

Brooke Buck says:    (Mar 3, 2012)

The customer service of The Orange Shop astounds me! After reviewing the page oranges that I ordered initially and commenting about a bunch of moldy ones that I pitched- They called me and said they were sending me free replacements! How often does that happen in this day and age? I would undoubtedly order from these nice people again. Not only are the page oranges the best I've ever had, but the customer care is second to none. They genuinely care about the quality Of the fruit as well as the customers' satisfaction. I am completely 110% satisfied. I will be ordering grapefruit soon!



unbelievably good
By: Ellen Jefferies    (Feb 18, 2012)

Never tasted an orange this good, and I generally don't even like oranges. Shipping was excellent. Going back to order more!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



1 Bushel Honey Tangerines
By: Sophie Stone    (Feb 16, 2012)

I am disappointed with my order. The tangerines don't look fresh. They are not good quality.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Pete & Cindy Spyke says:    (Feb 18, 2012)

Sophie, Thanks for posting your review -- customer feedback is important to us. We do pay attention, and take every comment seriously to try and get better at what we do. Your order was for Honey Tangerines. They are very sweet fruit, with a distinctive flavor. Individual tastes are different, though, so it might be that you were expecting a more tart flavor typical of other Tangerines. To find out, we'll send you a box of Temples -- they have higher acid than Honey T's, and a lot of people prefer that kind of flavor. As far as the appearance of the fruit -- we do ship fruit with more blemishes than a lot of the gift fruit shippers. There are two reasons. First, we don't spray our fruit very much, preferring to try and establish natural pest and predator balances in the field to minimize pesticide use. The downside of that is that if there are no pests, there's no food source for the predators, so if we kill all the bad things, the good things go with them. Generally the fruit looks good, but there are some that were blemished during periods of temporary imbalances. And, second, when we pick the fruit, the blemished ones taste as good or, usually, better than the perfect fruit. We generally pull out the worst of them for juicing, but otherwise they go in a box or bag because we try not to waste any of the fruit we worked so hard to produce. We thank you for your order, and look forward to hearing what you think about the Temples. Pete