Reviews for: The Orange Shop

Average Review:

88 reviews



Please consider UPS/FED EX over USPS shipping
By: N Brimmer JED Collective    (Feb 7, 2012)

Oranges were left by the postal carrier on our porch by a door we don't use and were not found by me until the next day, at which point they had sat out overnight at 0*F.

A number of the oranges were frozen solid when I brought them in, and have not been storing well subsequently.

That said, the oranges are pretty amazing (I don't tend to like citrus, and I like these), and the shipping problem was really more the fault of the postal service than The Orange Shop.

Nonetheless, I'd encourage you folks to use a shipping method that requires a signature to prevent freezing product when sending to these northern climes in the winter.

Regards,

NPB

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Pete & Cindy Spyke says:    (Feb 8, 2012)

Thanks very much for your feedback. We actually ship with both Fedex and through the Post Office, and the boxes have "Protect from Freezing" printed on them. We have an agreement with the Post Office that they are not supposed to leave packages if there's no one home home, and normally they're pretty good about adhering to that requirement. If you could let us know where the package was delivered, we can check with the local Post Office and reinforce the policy. Fedex will leave the package if there's no one home, so we have more issues with them than the Post Office. UPS has the same policy as Fedex. We ship a few packages through Fedex, and always have our fingers crossed that the fruit won't freeze. Thanks! Pete

N Brimmer JED Collective says:    (Feb 16, 2012)

Goodness y'all have some great customer service!! Quite unexpectedly I just received a replacement box of Page oranges after reporting that the original box arrived frozen. This is totally unexpected, and totally beyond the call of duty. The shipping problem wasn't the fault of The Orange Shop, as was so well articulated in their response to my review. The new box was shipped via Fed Ex, who did also leave the box outside, but at least they left it by the door that we actually use, and not by the one that was obviously sealed off for the winter. I was under the, perhaps mistaken, impression that Fed Ex and UPS offered a "signature required" delivery option, which is why I suggested using them over USPS in my review. I guess that just goes to show that the folks at The Orange Shop are the pros, and I should trust their knowledge of their business. Thank you so much for the superior customer service, and for the delicious oranges. We'll be ordering again next year for sure.



My order
By: Wallace Howard    (Jan 26, 2012)

I placed my order on the 6th for page oranges said I would recieve them on the 20th, did not happen, called and they said they would reship, today is the 26th and I recieved a box of naval oranges, still waiting for the page oranges which I placed my order for. I give them 1 star

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Pete & Cindy Spyke says:    (Feb 1, 2012)

Wallace, Thank you for contacting The Orange Shop. This is a good example of why it's important for our customers to work closely with us in shipping matters. The citrus is perishable, so time is of the essence, and any delay will likely result in some kind of problem with the fruit. We have a 100% guarantee, which means that no matter what, we replace any fruit that does not arrive in perfect condition. In your case, we shipped the package on January 11, which was 4 days between the order and shipping day -- about average for us since we pick the fruit only after the orders are received. In checking the tracking, the box left our packinghouse and was trucked straight to Atlanta, where it was delivered to Fedex. The box continued up the line through the Fedex network, but the trail ended on January 20 -- 9 days after it left our packinghouse -- when the package was evidently en route to Memphis. The tracking information shows that it was never delivered. Now that you've informed us so we can find the problem, we will send out another box. We do apologize, of course. The one-star performance, though, in this case goes to Fedex -- they're normally very reliable, which is why we use them, but in this case they dropped the ball and apparently lost your package, so I would concur with your rating of this particular delivery. That's something we can't control, though, and we will file a claim with them for the lost package, and immediately replace your fruit at no cost to you. Many thanks, and we hope that you enjoy the fruit when it does arrive. Pete



very satisfied
By: Gregory A Smith    (Jan 26, 2012)

This was my first produce order. I received my bushel of honeybells and pages yesterday. So-o-o-o juicy, so fresh! Seems like a very good company that grows a fantastic product. I'd highly recommend them!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Juicy and delicious!
By: Sally M Kayser    (Jan 23, 2012)

If you aren't sure what to give someone (or yourself) in the middle of winter, look no more! The Orange Shop has something everyone can enjoy! And their staff and customer service are second to none! Can I give them 10 Stars?

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



BEST EVER!! 5 Stars!
By: Jeannetta Smith    (Jan 21, 2012)

I ordered these in December because of the glowing description and the free shipping deal. I was a little nervous because they seemed expensive to me. I have to say, this is the BEST $$$ I ever spent on fruit! The oranges we suffer thru from the market should be banned! These little beauties are fabulously sweet and juicy! I have ordered 4 more large boxes as gifts this month...including another box for myself!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Absolutely Fantastic!
By: jennifer strong    (Jan 21, 2012)

The shipping was very fast, and the fruit is wonderful! I'm already trying to figure out when I can order again!

I've ordered before during my husband's deployments (he thinks mail order produce is a frivolous purchase) and I will be ordering again, regardless :) In light of recent developments regarding commercial orange juice processing, I just can't continue to buy so much of it for my family.

The honeybells weren't as flavorful as in the past, but I'm very happy w/them. I plant a garden each year, and don't always get the same turnout w/the same plants, so variations are to be expected. The Page oranges completely blew me away! My daughter just loves clementines, so this box was a gift for her birthday. I thought the Pages would be a good choice, and they are AMAZING! If it was possible, we would order a bushel a month!!

I ordered on Jan. 13. I then received confirmation of my order, and an estimated shipping time of Jan. 24, I believe. Since her party is the 21st, I wanted to have these here in time, if at all possible. I called the Shop on the 17th, and spoke w/a very kind and helpful employee. She said the order was all set to ship on the 18th. I was thrilled to see the box arrive on the 19th, and so was my daughter!

I expected the 3/8 bushel to be a bit heavier, but completely understand that shipments do vary, and some things are based on weight, while other, trays. I actually looked up the different weights online, and was not misled by the company at all.

I will continue to shop here, and anyone reading this should, too! I'm no expert, but don't find it possible that a better orange can be had! The Pages are heavy, easy to peel, unbelievably full of juice, and so sweet. The honeybells are a lovely change of pace from anything store-bought.

I'd love to try more, and I'm sure I will, but I can't get those Pages off my mind :)

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Pete & Cindy Spyke says:    (Jan 22, 2012)

Jennifer, Many thanks for your kind review. We're very happy that you and your daughter enjoyed the Pages! I did notice your comment about commercial orange juice, though, and wanted to briefly address that concern. The issue was a trace amount of a material that is used for disease control in citrus many places around the world, and it was well below allowable amounts where it is used. The problem was that it's not registered to use in the USA, so there's no tolerance established. One of the juice processors caught it in a batch of juice they'd imported from Brazil, and voluntarily notified the Dept of Agriculture. They've established a testing program and other safeguards in response. None of the juice in question was ever used, and no juice on the shelves was or is affected. In reality, it's a tribute to our food safety systems in this country, rather than any kind of problem with commercial orange juice. That's why we have the safest food in the world. Many thanks, Pete.

Gregory A Smith says:    (Jan 26, 2012)

I'd like to thank the owners for their integrity in the response they gave. They could've promoted themselves telling us how dangerous commercial products and said our safety was only guaranteed in local-grown products. But they didn't, they gave an honest explanation and a "thumbs up" to the commercial process. I still prefer local food over factory food any day, but I appreciate the honesty!



Probably the best oranges I've had.
By: Vineet K Aggarwal    (Jan 18, 2012)

I've placed a few orders during the Winter through Local Harvest hoping to get some exceptional fruit while still supporting small farms when no local fruits are available. My experience up until now has been mediocre at best. However, the pages and honeybells I just received from the Orange Shop are probably the sweetest, juciest, and most flavorful oranges I have ever had -- finally! Thank you...we will continue to order from you and encourage others to do so as well.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



My order
By: Patricia Wilmsen    (Jan 18, 2012)

I placed an order on the 10th, excited to try fresh heirloom oranges. The ad stated they pick them after the order so they would be fresh as they parish quickly. Sunday I sent an e mail trying to figure out why the still had not come, since I got an e mail stating they were shipped on the tenth.( which I was very impressed with.). As of today the 18th I have gotten no response from the e mail I sent on Sunday and no oranges.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Pete & Cindy Spyke says:    (Jan 19, 2012)

Patricia, I see your package arrived yesterday. I checked all of our email address and could find no previous email from Wilmsen. To contact us in the future, send your email to info@floridaorangeshop and the email will come directly to my desk and I will be happy to personally handle your request. Please let me know if you have any questions. Karen Brinson Shipping Manager

Pete & Cindy Spyke says:    (Jan 20, 2012)

Patricia, The LocalHarvest web site sends a message when we download the order, and we add to the message that the package will be shipped a few days from that point. If you missed our added explanation, it appears that it has been shipped that day. This is clearly something we still need to work on, because we sure don't want any confusion about what's happening. We know everyone's anxious to get their fruit, and we do everything possible to get it there as quickly as possible. Since we do have to pick it, haul it to the packinghouse, and pack and ship, it takes a few days after the order is received to get the packages on their way -- we "store" our product on the trees so it will be as fresh as possible when it arrives to your door. We appreciate your feedback, because it helps us get better -- which is our goal every day. Pete Spyke, Owner.

Patricia Wilmsen says:    (Jan 26, 2012)

We did get the fruit that day and it was very good. I can forward the response from the e mail I had sent on Sunday. I also have an e mail of the ship date of the 18 if that helps. Thanks.