Reviews for: The Orange Shop

Average Review:

88 reviews



very juicy
By: Geoffrey Thomas    (Jan 5, 2012)

Oh, my gosh. Are these even legal? I have never had a more flavorful, juicier orange in my life. There's like a pint of juice in every orange. Well, okay, that's an exaggeration. But they are indeed very juicy, and you Will need a paper towel. I had 3/4 a bushel sent ahead of me for Christmas to my folk's, and was pleasantly surprised they arrived in just 8 days, and before Christmas. Everyone agreed that these are the best - which brings me to my only regret: regular oranges taste dry and bland now; I have been forever spoiled.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Pete & Cindy Spyke says:    (Jan 7, 2012)

Geoffry, Thanks for the great review. We love that kind of enthusiastic response to our fruit. That's our goal, every day! Pete and Cindy.



Exceptional
By: Susan Gesslein    (Jan 4, 2012)

Wonderful company to deal with...delicious oranges and grapefruit. Finding an ethical company to deal with these days is a pleasure and restores my faith in mankind. Thank you! I'll be a future customer. Fruit as good as from the Orange Shop can't be found in any Wisconsin store!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Excellent Oranges!!!!
By: Vance D Wasson    (Dec 28, 2011)

Order was promply shipped and received. The oranges are being enjoyed by everyone.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



fab
By: Joss Thomas    (Dec 24, 2011)

I want to say thank you.The order came promptly. The fruit was perfect and delicious...Excellant!! I recommended your listing to several friends who will be ordering

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Pete & Cindy Spyke says:    (Dec 27, 2011)

Thanks very much, Joss. We hope you enjoy the fruit. Pete



A taste of home
By: Nicole Damick    (Dec 24, 2011)

I grew up in South Florida, and we had several orange trees, a grapefruit tree, and a lemon tree. When we moved our of state, I stopped eating citrus fruits because they were always so dry and tasteless in the grocery stores.

I decided to take a chance and order the mixed box: page and navel oranges, and the grapefruit. They just arrived (wow, that was quick!) and the fruit is AMAZING. I haven't had oranges like these in years. Juicy and with that ripe-off-the-tree taste. I checked my box thoroughly, and there were no bad ones.

I do think they will have to be enjoyed this week. They are fully ripe and likely won't store well... but they are so good I'm fairly certain my kids will gobble them up. My daughter turned up Christmas cookies to have another orange!

What's more, the price was excellent because of the free shipping. It was actually cheaper to buy the fruit online than to get it at my grocery store here in the northeast. I'll be ordering a box of these every year for Christmas!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Pete & Cindy Spyke says:    (Dec 27, 2011)

Thanks, Nicole, for your report. Always good to hear that the fruit arrived OK. A couple of tips -- keep them in the fridge, and they'll last for weeks. They go pretty quick at room temperature. And, you don't have to wait until next year -- we'll have Pages in January, too, and plan on leaving the Free Shipping Special in place until we've picked the last one! Pete



Best Orange Ever
By: Veronica Bullard    (Dec 21, 2011)

I got my order about a week ago and these oranges are delicious. The top tray was full of small oranges (about the size of a jumbo egg) so they were very seedy but the flavor compensated for the tiny size. When I got to the second and third tray there was a mixture of larger and a couple more tiny ones. The larger ones don't have as many seeds so that's a plus. I am very happy with them. My only regret is that I didn't order more (I probably will order more today). I did find one in the bottom that got all moldy but I didn't refrigerate them immediately so that was my fault.

I gave some to my dad, my grandma, my boyfriend and I will use the remaining ones for my Christmas ham which I'm kinda worried that I won't be able to get the full flavor of the citrus when I cook it because I've never done it with fresh citrus before and I don't wanna mess it up. Dad and grandma loved them. These are sooooo good that you have to share them. I also want to make marmalade with these which I think will be better than any marmalade I've ever tasted. I'm definitely going to save some juice and zest for next year's Thanksgiving cranberry sauce (I can't wait!).

No joke guys, this is the best orange ever. My only other complaint is that I had to lay off of them for a while because the skin is very thin and it got under my nails and pushed my skin back which caused me a lot of pain when I tried to peel them but it was worth it. I just couldn't get enough of them so I ate like 10 of them on the first day so that is probably what caused my problem.

A few more tips:

1. Don't knead them before peeling. This is a very juicy orange and when you knead it and try to peel it the skin is very thin and its easy to puncture the pulp and all the juice runs out which is not good when you want to eat the segments.

2. Think twice before cutting out the sections. When I tried to cut into them the juice runs out and they are pretty delicate so its easy to press too hard and ruin the fruit. I also suspect that since its a smaller orange that the sections are very small so you wouldn't get as much fruit as you would if you eat it whole. But if you're a pro, go for it.

3. Be very gentle with them. Since the skin is so thin, they are very delicate and easy to juice or puncture with a finger, etc. and if you want the full flavor of the orange in each section you have to be very careful.

4. The seeds are easy to remove. The seeds are usually at the top of the membrane so they're easy to spot and eliminate but if you're giving them to kids I can see how it could be a problem for some parents. Kids probably wouldn't choke on the seeds because they're waaaay too small to choke on.

5. Be sure to zest them, even if you plan to eat it whole because the zest is the most fragrant that I've ever had. It would be so great in desserts and other dishes like candied yams.

Its just an amazing little fruit. I will definitely be ordering more before the season is out. Thank you Orange Shop!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Pete & Cindy Spyke says:    (Dec 27, 2011)

Wow! Now that's a review, Veronica. We learned some good things, too, so we appreciate your very thoughtful and informing report. Thanks for taking the time to help us and all the Local Harvest family. Pete



Amazing!
By: Emily Casey    (Dec 21, 2011)

These oranges are absolutely incredible! So delicious, so juicy. As my husband said, it was like we'd been eating imitation oranges all our lives until we tasted these!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



What a deal!
By: Sharon Zecchinelli    (Dec 17, 2011)

Just received our box of Page oranges, navels, and grapefruit. Could not have asked for anything better. So far my husband and I have each had a Page orange. What a treat! So sweet, not at all like anything you would find in the grocery store. Can't wait to have a honey-topped broiled grapefruit for dessert.

Thanks Local Harvest for making these available.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Pete & Cindy Spyke says:    (Dec 17, 2011)

Thanks for the report, Sharon. Glad the fruit arrived OK, and that you are enjoying them. Happy Holidays! Pete Spyke