Reviews for: The Orange Shop

Average Review:

88 reviews



The oranges are here!
By: Steven R Haymore    (Dec 8, 2011)

I fell in love with Page Oranges while living in Florida in the late 80's. Every year when Thanksgiving rolls around the craving starts again. After moving back to Utah, I've struggled to find a source that I can afford and that could ship them to me intact. Several Florida shippers have disappointed.

In 2010, I happened upon the LocalHarvest posting for The Orange Shop. Pages were offered with free shipping. I couldn't resist. They took longer than expected to arrive, but when they got here, WOW! They were some of the largest and tastiest I've ever had.

So for 2011 I decided to be a repeat customer hoping that last year's product wasn't a fluke. I was hopeful for a free shipping offer, and when the Page/Navel Black Friday combo deal came up I decided to take it, fearing that it would be my only chance. My order was placed on 11/25 and arrived today, 12/7, in Salt Lake City. Happily the mail carrier rang the doorbell and handed over the box so it didn't freeze on the doorstep. No damage to the box or any fruit. Between the five of us we peeled and ate most of a tray tonight. The Pages were outstanding again.

My only regret is getting the Navels. After my order was placed, they started offering free shipping on Page-only boxes. That's what I really wanted. It's not that the Navels are bad -- they're fine. They just don't blow my socks off like the others. I can get decent Navels at the grocery store for much cheaper. Next year when I decide to splurge, it's gonna be for Pages exclusively. Keep up the free shipping deals! It makes it a little easier to justify this indulgence to the wife. ;-)

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Pete & Cindy Spyke says:    (Dec 8, 2011)

Steven, Many thanks for the report. The All-Page free shipping special is a Local Harvest exclusive for the moment. We like to give their subscribers a shot at the Pages before we run a special on our main web site since part of the sales proceeds goes to support Local Harvest. The Navel and Page free shipping special was on our regular website, FloridaOrangeShop.com. Our specials are based on fruit availability, the weather, and other things, so we really don't have a traditional schedule of specials as such. They're pretty much spur of the moment. So, this may be the last one -- or there may be others if conditions allow. The Pages are holding up well, so we're picking as we go. I'm not sure whether we'd offer an all-Page free shipping special on our regular website, so the best bet is to order them from Local Harvest. The special is running on there until the 19th, but ideally orders should be placed by the 15th to allow us time to pick and process the fruit. Again, many thanks. Pete Spyke Owner



also received bad fruit
By: ms. chak    (Mar 27, 2011)

I ordered honeybelles in January. I received 6 rotten honeybelles out of 24 (unacceptable percentage) and all oranges were small. The owner emailed and said the rotten ones would be replaced but after three months, I have not received anything. I have no intention of doing any further business with this company and would not recommend them to anyone else. There are several producers of high quality fruit in Florida, and based on my experience, this is not one.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Pete & Cindy Spyke says:    (Apr 13, 2011)

Well, sometimes no matter how hard you try, things just go bad. This is one of those situations. The reviewer had contacted us with the complaint about the quality of the fruit. There had been a delivery issue, so some of the fruit spoiled. Time is an enemy when shipping perishable produce, so if there is a glitch, the results are rarely good. That's what happened in this case. I (Pete) replied to her report that we would ship a replacement immediately, which is the standard response under our 100% satisfaction guarantee. It was a busy time, and I guess I neglected to email a copy of the response to Karen, so the replacement order didn't get entered into our shipping software. The consequence was a 3-month wait for a box that never arrived, and an unhappy customer. The excuse -- none. I just messed up, and for that, I sincerely apologize. This doesn't happen very often. In fact, I can't think of another time we had this situation -- normally we're pretty good with handling all the information. As far as the fruit, we've shipped thousands of packages to our Local Harvest customers this year, the vast majority of which arrived in good condition. I guess those folks are too busy eating oranges to post a report! For those 1-2% of packages that have arrival issues, we always ship a replacement with our apologies. And that's exactly what we're going to do in this case, now that we've discovered our error. It may be like closing the barn door after the horse has run off, but that's our policy, and that's what we're going to do. So, we hope that you enjoy the fruit when it finally arrives, and again, please accept our most sincere apology for our error. You clearly deserve one. Pete Spyke Owner



Fantastic citrus, abysmal shipping
By:    (Feb 10, 2011)

I do resourcing and recipe formulation for Brooklyn Farmacy & Soda Fountain in Brooklyn, NY. When I received an email on 12/7/10 from Local Harvest, alerting me to free shipping on oranges from The Orange Shop, I leapt at the chance to be able to feature them at our soda fountain and placed an order for Page oranges and Citra navels. On 12/22, I called The Orange Shop to find out where my order might be and was told they were showing as "out for delivery (on a truck)." On 12/26, after four phonecalls to The Orange Shop, they told me they'd send another box, gratis. I received the replacement box in about a week. The first box, thought lost, was delivered on 1/4/11! Needless to say, the oranges were not in very good shape. The next order I placed came in a timely fashion. But my most recent order was, once again, delayed. I placed one order on 1/12 and one on 1/19. The order placed on 1/12 arrived on 2/1. The order placed on 1/19 arrived on 2/6. That's a Sunday. What carrier delivers on a Sunday?? The Page oranges in the delivery we received on 2/6 are past their prime and I've thrown several rotten ones away. It's a shame because these are spectacular oranges and the orange syrup (for sodas) we're making from them is great! The Citra navels we got were, likewise, incredible. But it's too bad that the shipping methods being used by The Orange Shop denigrate this great citrus.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Pete & Cindy Spyke says:    (Feb 12, 2011)

We actually had a nice conversation over the phone, and we recommended a Honey Tangerine/Temple combination for the spring blend at the store. It's clear that the first package shipped was delayed, which of course means that the fruit would have been in poor condition. Everything's good when it leaves our packinghouse, of course, but after it leaves we're at the mercy of the delivery services. We use both the Post Office and Fedex. From mid-January on, we can only ship through the Post Office once a week through our Coop, The Florida Gift Fruit Shippers Association. So, to get packages there sooner, we leaned more heavily on Fedex. Come to find out, if Fedex makes a delivery, they always leave the package at the door, no matter what. The Post Office, on the other hand, won't leave the package if there's no one home to receive it. Well, we shipped a bunch of Honeybells up north via Fedex until we figured out that a lot of the packages were left in the snow, and the fruit froze solid. The New York City general vicinity, including Brooklyn, had more snow this year than any other year in the history of weather records. So, we had no choice other than to go back to the Post Office route, which slowed down delivery, but the fruit arrived in better condition. I also checked the statistics. A little over 97% of our packages we shipped this year arrived in good condition, on time, and with no issues. The 3% that didn't is more than usual -- the average is more like 1.5%. The reason is clear -- we've been shipping perishable fruit into the teeth of the worst winter on record. The fact that so many of them made it OK is a tribute to the Fedex and the Post Office both, really. We would of course prefer that every package arrived in perfect condition, but that's not very likely. So, when there are problems, we promptly replace the fruit, or the entire package, as quickly as possible. Many thanks. Pete Spyke, Owner



tasty fruit
By: Lance Gardner    (Feb 9, 2011)

My son and I have been enjoying the page oranges and honeybells quite a bit. The honeybells especially because they have so few seeds. They can be a bit challenging to peel without spilling lots of juice, so I just peel them over a bowl and drink whatever comes out. If you are careful enough, though, they can be peeled easily with little spillage. Some of the page oranges were received in bad condition, and they offered to replace them, which seems perfectly reasonable, so no complaints there, either.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Wonderful!
By: Luann Taylor    (Feb 9, 2011)

I ordered the honeybells, grapefruit and oranges box. After reading through the December reviews I wasn't sure if I wanted to order from this shop or not; however, the responses from the owners were impressive enough for me to bite the bullet and order. I am so glad I did! I expected shipping to take time, and all in all the box arrived sooner than I thought it would, though it arrived at the time The Orange Shop said it would. I haven't gotten into the grapefruit yet, but the honeybells and oranges are great!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Honeybells?
By: Amy Yao    (Feb 8, 2011)

When I got these along with a shipment of navel oranges from Orange shop, the honeybells were a major disappointment. Overriped, mushy and not sweet at all. We end up juicing all. What a waste.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Pete & Cindy Spyke says:    (Feb 12, 2011)

Amy, Thank you for your comment. We always appreciate customer feedback, even when it's about situations where things don't go as well as we hoped. It sounds like your Honeybells didn't stand up to the trip to California very well. We've heard from others with similar reports. It's always more risky shipping that far, and from your report the Navels held up better than the Honeybells. None of the fruit was over-ripe when we picked it -- the fact that the Honeybells were tart indicates that they were, if anything, a bit early. The Honeybell maturity was delayed this year -- they were tart later into January than normal -- whereas if they were over ripe, they would have been very sweet since the citric acid drops out as they pass the peak maturity. It also sounds like your taste runs to the sweeter varieties. So does mine -- I'll take a Navel over a Honeybell any day. But, some people like their oranges more tart, in which case Honeybells are perfect for them. We will of course replace the fruit that you felt was not to your liking. The next shipment to California will be on March 4 (we have a schedule set by the USDA, and can only ship on certain dates out there). I went ahead and scheduled Honey Tangerines (we won't have Honeybells in March), which are sweeter than the Temples, the other variety choice in early March. Honey T's are really good -- one of my personal favorites, too. We hope they make the long trip in good condition, and that you enjoy them. Many thanks. Pete Spyke Owner

Linda Schimpf says:    (Jan 11, 2013)

Hi, I'm curious how your second shipment was. Would you recommend this company now?Sounds like they have great customer service! Thanks, Linda



Navel Oranges are heaven sent
By: Amy Yao    (Feb 8, 2011)

If you love your Navel Oranges, firm texture, juicy, sweet and bursting with flavors! This is the one for you. Even though I was worried about the shipping process these navel oranges arrived in perfect condition. I cant say the same for the Honeybells (which arrived mushy and cant compare to the navel oranges for sweetness).

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

says:    (Feb 16, 2013)

I read your comment in hopes that you'd describe the taste and I believe you gave me enough info , want to try them but wasn't sure on the taste.



Took A Chance and Glad I Did
By: Michelle Follett    (Feb 3, 2011)

When I got the email from localharvest.org promoting the free delivery, I was tempted. When I read some of the previous reviews, I was tentative. It was the commitment of the owners to make things right when they went wrong that made the decision for me. Accountability is so rare these days. So, I used common sense, and took advantage of a friend's doorman building for delivery in the dead of winter. Wow! Wow! Wow! I'm hooked.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Pete & Cindy Spyke says:    (Feb 3, 2011)

Now that's what I call creative thinking! Way to go, and glad you are enjoying the fruit. Pete