Reviews for: Pregitzer Farm Market

Average Review:

7 reviews



info about quality
By: Christopher South    (Mar 27, 2012)

I talked to this farm about the produce. This is what they told me about their growing practice.

- Plastic mulch is used - Herbicides are used in-between the plant rows BUT NEVER on the plants. - If Pest control is needed they will always look for a more organic way first, and if it doesn't fit then they will go commercial.

They seem very nice. I just wanted to put this information out there to help people make informed decisions. I have no opinion about this farm or their product. Please do not take my rating into consideration (localharvest.org forces me to rate it)

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Wade or Shannon Pregitzer says:    (Jan 29, 2013)

Thanks for your post. you are correct with many of our practices. I continue to explore new methods and organic [omri approved] items,finding what works and is cost effective is slow, we scout daliy and have thersholds. we do use many gmo seeds , we consider flavor and quality formost, some say heilooms are the best. I perfer a vegetable with flavor and taste and will hold for a couple of days then a good story. I believe in value in our boxes to you.I only put what we grow in them ,[csa] and would challenge others to do the same, If you ask i can tell you whats what with each crop.Know the farm and Know your farmer.



Great Place to go
By: Kim Heibel    (Jul 14, 2009)

If you are in this area, this is the place to go! Shannon started selling annuals last year, and they are beautiful and reasonable!

What veggies we can't fit in our garden to grow, we get from them and they are always awesome. I never knew there were so many differant kinds of squash! And they always have recipes out for you to try!

Stop in , you'll always go back, we do!

Kim Heibel

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Better than my own garden without the work!
By: Mike Lewis    (Mar 7, 2009)

I used to try and grow a garden, until I foound the Pregitzer Farn. The family is the most friendly I have met! They are very knowlagable about verything they grow. If you have any questions they have the answer. Their sweet corn is the best I have evr had (Yes even better than what I used to grow in my garden!) My kids love the straw crawl, hay rides to the pumkin patch and through the 40 acre woods. They also enjoy the petting farm! The watermelons are by far the sweetest I have ever had.Theyare picked with care to ensure the ripest, but not to ripe (Perfect!).The CSA's they offer are great! From the veggies to watermelons, they are all great. If you want to get great produce and have great fun, give it a try. You won't be disappointed! Just to sum it up this farm is AWESOME!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Kim Heibel says:    (Jul 14, 2009)

I forgot about that straw crawl! My grand kids didn't want to come out of it! They loved it too, and the petting zoo area. They play, gramma buys flowers or veggies! LOL

Kim Heibel says:    (Jul 14, 2009)

I haven't participated in the CSA program yet, but am thinking seriously about it!



Great Family Run Old Fashion Farm Stand
By: Jennifer Hammerberg    (Mar 4, 2009)

This is a really great farm that just gets better every year. They have really grown over the past 8 years that I have been buying there. The fall activities are a lot of fun for the whole family. Hayrides to pick up your own pumpkin are a favorite of my two kids and I really enjoy the unusual varieties of heirloom veggies along side the traditional ones. I love to have a garden but still find some things I just don't have room for or have never heard of. The colored watermelons are my favorite!!!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Great Selection
By: Linda Pena    (Mar 1, 2009)

We have been to this farm market pretty much every summer, and have seen something new every time. We like to freeze our corn, and the sweet corn we have gotten there has been wonderful, and it tastes in January like we just had it picked in July. They are friendly people, and very knowledgeable about their business. I'm looking forward to going this year. Linda

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Pregitzer Farm Market
By: tracy    (Feb 28, 2009)

The produce here is always fresh and the Pregitzer family is very friendly. They have a large variety to produce to choose from. In the fall they have lots of activities going on. I think the corn maze and straw crawl are my kids favorite. I look forward to some of those juicy melons.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Pregitzer Farm
By: Elizabeth Gillespie    (Jan 11, 2009)

This was our first experience with joining a CSA, and it was fantastic. The Pregitzer family is friendly, and very flexible. The produce we received from there was so fresh, and tasted fantastic. It was the first time that I realized the difference in taste of store bought and local and fresh produce. I can't wait for spring, so the food starts growing again!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review