Reviews for: Norman's Farm Market

Average Review:

15 reviews



Awesome!
By: ftg ftg    (Jan 26, 2014)

Great selection, nice people, excellent prices, convenient pick-ups, very high quality veggies...wish they would add some more exotic varieties and veggies - glad to see the addition of herbs! They have several size pickups so however big or small your family - this will work for you. The more veggies you have in the house, the more you cook, the better you feel!

Picking up my CSA is a highlight of my week - get to see friends and neighbors and bring home goodies for dinner!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



loved my first year with Norman's
By:    (Oct 26, 2010)

I love the idea of CSA's and had joined one before that just didn't work out. The location was inconvientand and I ended up with a lot of food my family didn't like. Norman's solved all of that. My pick up location is right on my way home, they have a great variety of food, both your standards and new varieties, and you fill your share with what you want. My only problem was some weeks there were too many choices. I started with Spring then added Summer and Fall. I am looking forward to signing up for the whole season next year.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Great produce, super people, convenient ...but, not organic.
By: Jason Blum    (Sep 6, 2010)

Title says it all: just super disappointed this otherwise all-around fantastic farmer's market isn't organic. :(

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



A busy Mom's Perspective
By: Mary Ward    (Aug 2, 2010)

I first learned about CSA's from a friend who asked if I wanted to pick up her CSA share while she was on vacation. I didn't even know what a CSA was and why she just didn't go to the grocery store like everyone else to get her produce. So the family and I went and got to see what a CSA is and how it works first hand. I was intrigued but the CSA my friend belonged to was just to far away to drive to each week. So I began a search and looked at several CSA's in the area, but most were to narrow in what they offered, to pricey, or just not convenient with their location and times. Then by chance I stumbled upon Norman's Farm Market and I couldn't be happier. As someone completely new to CSA's I wasn't sure what to expect and was worried about making the committment, but I'm glad I did.

I had several criteria in looking for my "ideal" CSA, with one being getting my children involved and every mother's dream of getting her kids to eat their veggies. I can say that I actually smile as I watch my girls happily fighting over which veggie and fruit we should take home.

Since I'm a working mom with limited time, the location and hours were key to me joining too. They have several convenient locations and the times work for those of us who run the "rat race" everyday. And of course my main factor was that the food has to taste good. The food at Norman's Farm Market, as my kids would say, is YUMMY!!! I brought a cantaloupe I picked up the previous week on a picnic outing with friends and it was so delicious that they asked which grocery store I bought it at because they can't remember the last time they tasted anything so sweet and juicy.

By bringing quality local produce and great information/recipes in their weekly email newsletter, it helps this busy mom from running to the grocery store every week and in turn gives me more time with my family.

Mary W.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Got us hooked on CSAs!
By: Amanda Bensen    (Feb 22, 2010)

My husband and I were nervous about committing to a CSA program, because we feared "biting off more than we could chew" (literally and financially).

But we liked the idea of eating locally and seasonally...so when I learned that Norman's Farm Market had a half-share option and a pick-up location only a mile from our home, we decided to give it a try for all three seasons (spring, summer, fall).

I was so impressed with the quality of the produce, the friendly staff, and their willingness to be flexible---allowing us to skip one week and "double up" the next with advance notice. Also, they allowed us a certain amount of choice in which fruits and veggies we got (many weeks, they simply said "you can fill this basket with any of those items," for example). As a result, we never ended up with anything we didn't want to eat.

Our experience was so good that we plan to sign up again this year, this time for a full share (we'll freeze and can the extras)!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Great for CSA rookies!
By: Molly Puente    (Dec 26, 2009)

I'd been wanting to join a CSA for awhile, but I had heard of two main drawbacks for single people- too much food and not enough variety.

Norman's was a great answer for both of those concerns. They offer lots of choices all year round so I never felt that I was overwhelmed with one type of food, and with the "fill the basket" method, I didn't have to take more food than I could reasonably eat. They carry both a steady supply of the standards (tomatoes, corn, melons, apples), and more unique items (watercress, donut peaches, Romanesco broccolli), so I could be as adventurous as I wanted.

Everyone at Norman's was incredibly helpful. They helped me pick out the right type of tomato for fried green tomatoes and the right type of apple for apple pie. Their weekly newsletter also provides excellent recipe tips for cooking in season, making it easier to experiment with vegetables like turnips and swiss chard.

If your New Year's resolution is to try a CSA, a half-share at Norman's Farm Market is a great way to go!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Norman's is fantastic!
By: Anne Robinett    (Dec 21, 2009)

I highly recommend Norman's Farm Market. These folks really know what they are doing and they are passionate about it. Their produce was fantastic and we enjoyed their weekly emails. We also liked their flexible options. I have some food allergies and they were very accommodating with substitutions. They give several options each week so you do have some choice in what you are getting. At the height of the season they had us picking out our own products (super great for us Type A people!) We were newbies this past summer to CSAs and now we are hooked!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Sign up now!
By: Jason Fitzgerald    (Nov 23, 2009)

I signed up this past summer and joined for half of the summer, fall, and November seasons. The produce is delicious, being able to choose your own vegetables and fruit is fantastic, and the staff is very friendly.

They are flexible to allow some switching of vegetables/fruit/cider/etc. based on your likes and dislikes. Every week had a great assortment of produce that you likely won't find, even at a Whole Foods.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review