Reviews for: Garden By the Woods

Average Review:

10 reviews



Incredible flowers, Wonderful to work with
By: Christina Rowland    (Jun 12, 2013)

Patricia was an absolute joy to work with. Her garden is stunning, as are her flowers. I described to Patricia a very vague idea of what I was looking for, and she provided the most beautiful and unique varieties of peonies and iris for my late May wedding, as well as a host of smaller complementary flowers to fill out the arrangements. Everything was beautiful, fragrant, and incredibly affordable. Patricia was very accommodating and easy to work with; I would absolutely recommend her for your event.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Patricia Corona - One of a Kind!
By: Katie Miller    (Oct 2, 2011)

I had the pleasure of working with Patricia Corona for my June 4th, 2011 wedding. The ceremony took place at the Presbyterian Church in Shepherdstown, WV, and the reception took place at Wild Goose Farm, also in Shepherdstown, WV.

In my pursuit for the perfect florist for my wedding, I consulted with several local florists and to my dismay was not satisfied with their vision and large price tag. My mother-in-law and I found out about Patricia Corona by searching online for local flower growers. After one meeting with Patricia, I knew that she was the one I wanted to work with. On our first meeting, she amazed with her knowledge and available photo albums of her previous work. Not being the most knowledgeable individual about flowers, Patricia was very patient with me and really listened to what I envisioned. She even took the time to visit the venue prior to the wedding for further inspiration. She had ideas that I had not considered before and liked better than my own.

On our third meeting, I had the pleasure of visiting Patricia's "secret" garden. Tucked away from the world, it was nothing like I expected. The word "garden" is an understatement; it was more like an exotic field of flowers. One that can only be envisioned in dreams, I felt like a child again as I explored the endless rows of flowers. She has an unimaginable variety of flowers, some of which I didn't even know existed. It was a truly breath-taking experience... while I was there, she created some sample bouquets for me, listening to my suggestions and making sure our visions were one in the same.

On the day of the wedding, Patricia not only delivered the flowers, but also took the time to set up the assorted arrangements at the various locations. Not to mention, she did this all working alone! Patricia is truly a wonder woman; she went above and beyond what was asked of her in so many ways. I am still amazed by the fact that she not only grows her own flowers, but creates her own unique arrangements. To this day, I still receive positive feedback concerning the flowers on my wedding day. She really did everything in her willpower to make my special day memorable.

Patricia is the best of both worlds...she is professional, personable, and AFFORDABLE! I can honestly say that she was such a pleasure to work with that we still maintain a friendship today. I would highly recommend Patricia's services to anyone looking to cater an event or just to provide a bouquet for someone special. Her work is truly one of a kind and speaks for itself.

By: Katherine Miller (Kwollam@mix.wvu.edu)

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



What a blessing!!!!
By: Suzanne Taylor    (Jul 28, 2011)

wow! My daughter's wedding was 3 weeks away and we had given up on fresh flowers because of the rediculous cost......then came Patricia Corona and there was restored the dream of tables full of fresh flowers. Too much to write about Patricia, but you will not find a more gracious, gentle person who obviously cares about people and sharing the beauty of the flowers she is sooooo passionate about!!!

Thank you for everything.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Decorating a Historical Home for a September 2010 tour
By: Phillis Mummuert    (Feb 19, 2011)

Patricia Corona's Garden in the Woods is located on a l00+ acres on Waterfall Farm where she lives on approximatel five acres on the back of this farm and along a stream whose source begins at one of the largest springs in West Virginia. For the tour Patricia and two members of the local community work for two days decorating the manor home consisting of l4+ rooms.

We had worked together the previous year on a restored log home for the 2009 Historical Tour.

Due to the unusual dry season of 2010 we had to resort to using many of the local wild flowers in addition to her several acres of flowers. In all we decorated all the rooms of this house which had three dining areas and seven bedrooms plus three bathrooms. Wild ageratum, grasses and other wild flowers from the farm supplemented these efforts. We worked diligently for two days and completed this task by 6 p.m. the day before the two day tour which was visited by over 400 people. Everyone was so very complementary of our efforts. Patricia is truly a joy to work with and tends her many acres with very little or no extra help. These rooms were featured in the local paper which showcased several of the arrangements. A large stone mill and barn were also featured on the tour and decorated with flowers.

The Historical Society was able to have the biggest financial success from this tour, doubling the amount from the previous year. Cost of the tour is $15.00 and this is held the weekend after Labor Day. Six additional homes were on the tour.

Phillis Mummert, Bedington, WV C

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Beautiful Bouquet
By: connie minadakis    (Nov 18, 2010)

I received a beautiful bouquet of Peonies made by Patricia, of Garden By the Woods. It was fresh and spectacular! Thank you so much. I will be sure to mention it to all of my friends. Wish I had known her when I bought my wedding flowers!!

Connie M. Hampstead, MD

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Beautiful Peonies
By: tammy mullins    (Sep 30, 2010)

I am so thankful to have found Garden by the Woods. Patricia made my daughters dream come true by providing the most beautiful peonies at a fraction of the cost from a florest. She not only provided an abundance of amazing peonies, but she also met us halfway so we could pick them up. Thank you Patricia for making my daughters dream wedding come true. Tammy Mullins

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Amazing to work with!
By: Rizwan Oskoui    (Sep 23, 2010)

With an early spring bridal shower and no other floral farm in the area anticipating flowers due to the crazy weather last spring, I turned to Local Harvest to try and find someplace. I'm so happy to have found Patricia!! She was able to guide me through floral selection on a college student budget and when the flowers we originally agreed on didn't look like they were going to work out due to the weather, she substituted to create an equally gorgeous arrangement.

The best part about working with Patricia is that you can easily tell that she truly cares about her work. When I picked them up early Saturday morning, she had everything ready to go - including floral food because the flowers needed to survive a 3.5 hour trip to Philadelphia! She gave me lots of tips to keep them happy and even the bride was amazed at how well they had survived the trip. I definetely hope to be using her again next season ^_^

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Magical Storybook Flowers
By: Bettina Messersmith    (Jun 15, 2010)

From the time I picked up Patricia Corona's beautiful card from the counter at my school, till my daughter walked down the isle to marry her elememtry school sweet heart, it has been a wonderful experience.

I met Patricia in March, walked through her magnificent garderns in May, identified the flowers I wanted for the tables, the bride and bridesmaids on June 1, and picked up the flowers (cut and in buckets) June 11. Each step of the process was a magical experience of it's own, but on June 12, 2010 when my daughter was married and Patricia brought the bouquets to the venue it was like a fairytale. We had forgotten the flowers for the Mothers, Grandmothers, boutiners for the groomsmen and the Fathers, patricia just hapened to have a bucket of extra flowers (just in case). She quickly created everything we nedded and we ended up with the most fresh beautiful flowers EVERYWHERE, that I have ever seen. ALL thanks to Patricia.

I would need many more pages to express all the join she added to our event. I highly and without reservation, recommend Garden by the Woods and Patricia Corona for all your flower needs.

If you would like to check out the flowers she provided for my daughters wedding go to ryanandrorigetmarried.com in about 3 weeks, we will upload pictures from the day

Thanks Patricia, Bettina Messersmith

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review