Reviews for: Downtown Shreveport Farmers Market

Average Review:

17 reviews



What a variety!
By: Judy Polhemus    (Nov 8, 2011)

I just read a negative review of the fall Farmers Market. I realize there is a shortage of literal produce -- fruits and vegetables. That comes from lack of rain! I had a very small garden this past summer that barely produced. Imagine the devastation of all the truck farmers who still brought what they had.

Even with the devastation you can still find wonderful greens, sweet potatoes, bell peppers, all the fall produce--squashes galore, potential gourds, great Thanksgiving decorations.

I would like to invite readers to visit with just two Saturdays left. What you will find is such a variety of items offered for sale. Each vendor represents the American Dream. Find a talent, develop it, and offer it for sale. Two people benefit: the seller and the buyer. The buyer will have something new to take home.

Visit with the vendors. Each has a great story. There's one couple, they must be in their 70's or 80's. They make and sell all these canned goods: jams, jellies, spiced items, green tomatoes, pickles. Their booth is really delightful and so are they! Another mother and daughter combo make the most adorable children's clothing. I've seen two different vendors who make and sell their own sausages, one is Cajun, the other Italian.

Then the Ivy Lady who sells wonderful pots of ivy taken from the Mother Plant (her name for this huge 25-year old Ivy). Her son thinks she cries each time she parts with one of her "babies." And the Turkish cuisine, and tea cookies and meat pies. And oh the salsa--jars and plastic containers. It's all good!

Farmers Market is a great adventure for the kids. Get up Saturday morning, get the kids dressed, and bring them down to the market. Show them what people do in their spare time and, even more so, for a living. The couple who sell meat without preservatives or additives to the animals food are purists about what they do. You will get a great lesson in green lving.

Talk to the vendors you visit. They all have a story. And take something home to celebrate your visit!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Rude Employees, Little Produce, Bad Parking
By: Me Me    (Jul 16, 2011)

The guy wearing the purple shirt at the handicapped parking lot was extremely rude. I pulled into the lot from an angle where I could not see the handicapped sign. On seeing it, I rolled down my window and said "I'll just pull through" because it was not safe to back into the street. The rude employee, in his gruffest tone, said "You'd better." LOL, this guy may have seen too many episodes of Cops. Anyway, I park way off at Sci-Port and hike up to the market. Only a few vendors had produce. Most were selling baked goods or other items. Most were very overpriced. I'll never go back.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Noma Fowler-Sandlin says:    (Apr 25, 2013)

I am so sorry you had difficulty with our security service. Please come again and report any problems to the manager. I'm not sure what time of year you attended, but this coming year you'll be dumbfounded by the selection we have. Like most markets, we depend on the weather and growing season. I sincerely hope you'll give us another chance to impress you.



Can't wait
By: Faye Thurman    (May 1, 2011)

I can't wait for the Farmers Market to open. I so enjoy all the fresh food. I usually go on Tuesdays after work, which is a great time for me. I want fresh tomatoes, Texas peaches squash, okra ( if I can find it), and the precious sweet delicious corn. I would also like to buy peas and beans that I can prepare for the freezer for myself. I don't have a problem shelling them. I will buy them already shelled but I don't want to buy them frozen if they have not been blanched. I want to wash them, blanch them, and prepare them for the freezer myself. Country girl grown old, call me crazy.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Seasonal treat
By: Stacy Edwards    (Apr 4, 2011)

My husband and I every summer come to Shreveport b/c of our jobs and we always look forward to the farmers market downtown. It may be small but it has just enough to get some local treats... peaches and tomatoes and theres this guy there that sells this AWESOME good yummy bread... he sells out fast so get some while it lasts! Farms struggle with the weather.. fresh local produce is such a treat and a break from the the imported supermarket stuff... so I thank all the farmers who take the time to share there treats with us all!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



enjoy it every summer!
By: Donna Arnold    (Apr 3, 2011)

I enjoy it every summer!! Most of the venders are so friendly and I look forward to the fresh produce and the the homeade jellies and jams and sauces!!! I think it is great that they have a variety of items not just produce. Last year was a bad year. I am hoping our growing season this year will be a prosperous one see yall at the Riverfront!!!!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



If it's a Farmers Market, where is the vegetables/fruit?
By: Derek Reynolds    (Oct 23, 2010)

I got up at 6a.m. on my day off. Drove thirty miles to see the SCAM!!!!!! This was, quite possibly, the worst so called farmers market I have ever seen. There was little to no praduce, fruits, and or vegetables. There was wine, mor win, cookies, and Starbucks? When I asked where was the fresh meat or seafood I was pointed to shavers selling breakfast biscuits. Warning, there is NO FARMERS MARKET!!!!!! One vender actually had farm fresh eggs, but nothing else. I know they will reply to this and give excuses and defend this market. It is more like a revel so guess what happenend. I went there to spend 250 dollars worse- 700 best case. I attempted to spend money on coffee and then thought of my dissapointment and utter disgust for the false-advertising and left spending nothing. I will, however, turn this over for false advertising and a waste of time. But atleast I spent $200 at Wal-Mart.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

toya smith says:    (Oct 24, 2010)

I have to agree. I went to get fruits and veggies....all it was to me was a baked goods sale. They were alot of breads, cookies,popcorn etc. I could've went to Brookshires or Walmart for that. Only thing I ended up with was a plant.

Susan Breeland says:    (Oct 27, 2010)

I am going to have to defend the organizers of the Farmers Market, as well as the farmers not being able to bring produce to the Farmers Market. People living in the city do not realize the devastating affect the drought has had on the farmer this year. I know, I cannot even plant greens. When we till the soil, it only creates a dust storm, and there is no way we can plant greens, or even keep anything watered in the fields. Our spring crops were hit, as well as the fall crops. The Market was planned in advance and not around a drought. This has allowed many a space that would not otherwise been allowed. It is really wonderful though to be able to purchase fresh made breads and candies. If you look, you will find items you may not have been able to find there before. Try looking at it another way by searching out items that would be great gift basket items for Christmas presents!! We farmers are not happy about the drought situation either, but others are able to take advantage of the additional space and enjoy marketing fresh made foods they would not have been able to any other way. I remain, respectfully, "A Farmer", and appreciate all of the hard work that has been done by the Revel in organizing and keeping it going. Just "enjoy!! With Lagniappe from Louisiana!!

Noma Fowler-Sandlin says:    (Oct 27, 2010)

Well, I hate to break it to you, but the number of farmers at any given farmers' market is going to be related to the weather. Look around you -- it's not rained significantly in ages. I can either allow LOTS of veggies in, all of which were grown somewhere else to give you the LOOK of a farmers' market -- or I can depend on what was actually grown around here. Come summer, with any cooperation from Mother Nature, things will be right again. Until then, I'll not pretend it's been all hunky-dory climate-speaking. It's been a very rough summer. We are over 14" behind on rain for this time of year. Sorry you're disappointed -- I think we all are -- but until I can control the weather, we've got to face reality.

Noma Fowler-Sandlin says:    (Oct 27, 2010)

PS There is no Starbucks. There's locally-roasted coffee.

Noma Fowler-Sandlin says:    (Oct 27, 2010)

And further, I don't know where you looked, but there were tomatoes, sweet potatoes, squash, greens, herbs, potatoes, onions, garlic, eggplant, watermelons, and pears. At least. And most of the canned goods were prepared from summer's bounty of locally-grown fruits and veg.

Susan Breeland says:    (Oct 27, 2010)

One more thing for your consideration: The breads and candies and other "home made" items sold at the booths at the Farmers Market will be baked fresh and you do not have to worry about the preservatives. Or, did you ever wonder why a loaf of bread from the store did not "mold" after two weeks???? Read the ingredients, I doubt you will be able to recognize most of them. Buy from the Farmers and eat more healthy!!



Locally grown?
By: Veggie Lover    (Jun 5, 2010)

I was so excited this morning to go to farmers market because I have been going for several years now, but however, I left very disappointed. The whole purpose of this event is to showcase locally grown produce and help support our local farmers. Driscoll strawberries at $5 a quart is hardly locally grown. You can get the same product for less money at Albertson's, thank you very much. I visited with my friends from Coushatta and left with fresh peppers and tomatoes only. The peaches from Pittsburg Texas still had the grocery label and not at their peak ripeness. Please return to the same values we have held for over the years.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Noma Fowler-Sandlin says:    (Jun 10, 2010)

There are signs with each grower now stating how much of the product they grow, how much is a local supplement from neighbor growers, and how much is from wholesale or retail sources so that buyers can make an informed choice of who they do business with. Check out the sign, or talk to the growers for information. If you see a blatant disregard, let me know. I can be located by the orange flag on my mobile office cart. We strive to make sure the public knows in the case of outside produce, so let me know of any violation you perceive so that I may look into it. 90% of our content is local this year. Noma, Mgr., 318-455-5788

Noma Fowler-Sandlin says:    (Jul 28, 2010)

Re: The Pittsburg, TX Peaches Those are grown by a large farm within our acceptable radius. They have stickers because they are to be sent to groceries and other places; not because they came from there.



Support Locally Grown Food
By: Layne Engel    (May 24, 2010)

This market has a large variety. If you live near shreveport you should go support locally grown food and the local economy!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review