Reviews for: Downtown Shreveport Farmers Market

Average Review:

17 reviews



Care2 Review: We love this market!
By: David A.    (Aug 5, 2009)

Fresh fruit, happy veggies, smiling people, quality products, prepared foods......and pretty women!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Care2 Review: We love this market!
By: Tess M.    (Aug 5, 2009)

I love our Farmers Market. It is in an eaisily accessible area, great hours and so well attended by the local farmers, craftspeople and homemakers. We have such a great selection and such knowledagble people at the booths. I go not only for the great buys, but for the wonderful information I recieve.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Maybe I have different needs....
By: Lee Hawkins    (Jul 8, 2009)

I want a farmer's market that is reliably fresh, locally grown, and properly labeled as locally grown (MUCH different from locally owned) &/or organic. I don't need music; as nice as it sounds, I don't stick around. I actually prefer morning markets, when both produce and people are more fresh, but am happy make the afternoon trek if it is really drawing more consumers. I was really happy to see the collaboration between VOA and the market for the farm to table lesson. I have adult friends who really don't want to know where that carrot came from! Finally, is there no demand for a year-round market once per week? Broccoli, cauliflower, root vegies, potatoes...?

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Noma Fowler-Sandlin says:    (Jul 10, 2009)

Right now, we are not in touch with year-round growers. That limits us to the farmers we have now, and their crops, which are grown seasonally. But thank you for your comment. We do take note of input such as this and will certainly consider your suggestion. Hopefully, more year-round growers will make this a possibility for the future.

liaminh bui says:    (Aug 6, 2009)

Are there organic produce at this market? If so, how can we tell?



Care2 Review: We love this market!
By: Shannon R.    (Jun 24, 2009)

It has a lot of great produce from the small towns around, reasonable prices, and their is so much to taste, try, and buy! My kids love it.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Care2 Review: We love this market!
By: Maurice W.    (Jun 19, 2009)

The market engenders a sense of community that you find a bit lacking at the chain grocery stores. Meeting the growers and producers is a lot of fun and educational too.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Care2 Review: We love this market!
By: Terry M.    (Jun 19, 2009)

Great food, great music, fresh produce, beautiful plants, and unique gift items. What more can you ask for in a farmers' market?

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



LOVED IT
By: Carol Hall    (Jun 18, 2009)

We made it to the Farmer's Market on Opening Day at a little after 8 am. WHAT a mistake!!!!! lol. we should have been there at 7am. The bread was all taken. I still found lots to purchase though, including an Herb I was looking everywhere for. I asked some vendors about a couple items and they promised to have some next weekend. * Looks forward to Souma's (sp) Hot Peanuts. * The folks running the booths are very nice as are the attendees for the most part. I have decided that I may take that step and go from attendee to vendor. This is a wonderful outing to share with your family and friends. Though I would advise going Early if you want a loaf of Jalapeno Bread ( I went back Tuesday and bought the last 4 small loaves ) I am so happy Shreveport has this going on, I just wish they could expand to the upper level of Festival Plaza. Keep up the good work.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Can hardly wait for the doors to open!!
By: Shauna Wade    (May 28, 2009)

I found out about the farmer's market in Shreveport about four years ago, and I look forward to it every year. I have never been disappointed by a purchase I have made. All the veggies and fruits are garden fresh and wonderfully delicious. I love to go in groups, with friends and family and I am always excited to invite more people. This year I have several coworkers anxious to try it out. My daughter loves to check everything out as well, she's a toddler now. The quality is great and it's great fun for friends and family. It's also not hard to get a booth if you have garden goodies of your own. All of the venders are super friendly and they do not try to force a sell. It's very casual. It's also interesting to see what new things will come out each year. I always have to buy at least two loaves of the fresh baked bread. But I do have trouble deciding on just two flavors.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review