Reviews for: Buckhill Farm

Average Review:

10 reviews



Buckhill farm
By: Kristen Salembier    (Feb 17, 2011)

We love Buckhill Farm! We are a family of five living not to far from the farm. Having grown up in Lancaster and then moving to France for several years I learned a great deal about organinc produce abroad. When we started our family it became very important to us to find local produce not treated constantly with pesticides. Andrew and Coral are so dedicated and passionate about what and why they farm that it is truly a joy to support them. Our family picks up our share on Sat mornings. I love that the fields are open to visit and do U pick. It is so important for our children to understand where their food comes from and how it grows. Andrew plants a wonderful variety of veggies. As an avid cook I love the suprise of what I will have to work with during the week! The farm is clean and beautiful. Everything is explained weekly on the chalk board and Andrew writes a wonderful,informative news letter to take home. Buckhill is truly a tasty and worthwhile investment!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Waiting for fresh veggies!
By: Brooke Livingston    (Feb 15, 2011)

Our family has been with Farmer Andrew/Buckhill Farm since it first started. It has been an amazing experience! We wake up Saturday mornings during veggie season and the kids are so anxious to go get our share. Sometimes all four will come but other times we make it a special outting for just one or two of them. We laugh at how excited the kids get on the day they are chosen to go out to the farm. That says something about Buckhill Farm and Farmer Andrew! The veggies are so beautiful and so much variety keeps me searching for new recipes each week. It is also awesome that eggs and meats are available each week. I can really feel great that our family is eating fresh local food! We love that we are able to support local farmers! I anxiously await our first share!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Buckhill Farm has spoiled us!!
By: Heather Fenimore    (Feb 13, 2011)

This will be my fourth year as a member of the Buckhill Farm CSA. I truly can't imagine eating anything other than Farmer Andrew's produce during the local growing season. But it is much more than local food, sustainably produced; it is an experience. Each week, I look forward to chatting with Andrew and crossing paths with other members. While some folks seem a little put off by not knowing in advance what will be in that week's share, I love the surprise! And there is no doubt that my family has tried - and been shocked to discover that they liked - many vegetables that I would probably never purchase, left to my own devices.

In addition to the produce grown on the farm, I greatly value the local grass-fed beef, eggs and organic chicken products that are available. It doesn't get more convenient than that to purchase food that is good for our bodies, the Earth, and our local community.

One aspect of the CSA experience that I truly cherish is volunteering in the field. I haven't done this nearly as much as I'd like, but I enjoy it immensely. It's a chance to learn about Andrew's goals for the farm, understand more about green beans and plowing methods, and develop a greater appreciation for farming and the food that we depend on.

Each year, when I am faced with the decision to write my check committing to another year, my conclusion is always the same - how can I not.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Incredible Family Experience
By: Julianne Babione    (Feb 13, 2011)

We are anxiously awaiting the start of our third year as members of the Buckhill Farm CSA and could not be happier. Farmer Andrew lovingly manages this farm and allows our family to experience a wonderful selection of local produce throughout the entire growing season.

I think for us one of the most special parts of Buckhill is the inclusion of our entire family in farm activities. We have young twin daughters who are able to actively participate and love picking up our share each week. One of their favorite memories from last summer (just shy of their 4th birthday) was helping with the garlic harvest party. Farmer Andrew was so kind and included them in activities that we were age appropriate - they helped sort, count and bundle the garlic and really felt like they had an important job to play on the farm.

For us, that's what being part of a CSA is all about - thank you Andrew & Coral!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Great Veggies!
By: Amy Enders    (Oct 12, 2009)

This is my first year in a CSA. My experience with Buckhill Farm has been very positive, not only from an educational standpoint but also from health and quality standards. Farmer Andrew is extremely knowledgeable in all of the foods he provides. Any question that I've ever heard asked of him, from nutrition to recipes, has been answered in great detail. As my first (CSA) year progresses, I am learning new ways to prepare the fresh produce and also ways to cook/freeze so that I will have healthy alternatives over the winter. The only downside to this experience is that I am now spoiled...store-bought produce just isn't as good anymore!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Local, fresh food
By: Rebecca Durbin    (Sep 28, 2009)

This is our second year at Buckhill Farms, and we (my husband and I and our two young girls) have enjoyed it immensely. I've learned what is in season when, and have tasted delicious varieties of tomatoes that I've never heard of before. We've also added such vegetables as cabbage and turnips to our diet - increasing the variety of healthy food we eat and helping our girls learn how to eat well as they grow. I love knowing that my food is grown five miles from my house, and I'm eating in-season, organic, fresher-than-fresh produce grown by someone I now know. And it's truly delicious! The peas and potatoes are like nothing I'd ever tasted before.

One other thing I especially like about being a part of Buckhill Farms is that Farmer Andrew always keeps a bin out for compost behind the distribution room. I've started using a separate trash can for our fruit and veggie scraps, so our weekly garbage pick-up at home is only about half of what it used to be. Not only am I keeping all of that stuff out of the landfill, I'm giving it new life, making good soil to grow food that I'll someday share in. It's wonderful all around.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Top Marks
By: RM Shepherd    (Sep 7, 2009)

This is our second year taking part in Farmer Andrew's CSA and we have enjoyed our participation immensely. We have participated in Community Supported Agriculture previously, so the idea was not new to us. Each Saturday is a treat as we set out to see what goodies our local soil and farmer has produced for us. We feel good about cooking with chemical-free vegetables. The veggies are local and in season. The variety is terrific. We've been able to keep up with the produce in general and have frozen some batches of beans and tomatoes so as not to waste anything. Definitely will be wanting a share again next year!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Passionate farmer with a big heart
By: suzanne stewart    (Sep 2, 2009)

It really shows that farmer Andrew is passionate about his farm. Each week he offers an excellent variety and quantity of fresh produce. Always a pleasant experience to pick-up food as the room is clean and sunny and everything is clearly marked. In his newsletters, he likes to keep members informed about what's going on in the fields and also adds a recipe or two sometimes. Also like that any produce that is not picked up is donated to others who may not normally have the opportunity to enjoy such wonderful fresh local tasty produce.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review