Reviews for: Hedgeapple Farm

Average Review:

85 reviews



Safe, delicious meat
By: Christy Tosatto    (Sep 8, 2008)

After the tragic death of my husband's father years ago of a heart attack at age 56, my husband and I minimized our meat intake.

Discovery of Hedgeapple Farm and the health benefits of grass fed beef has brought back the burger at our house to thunderous applause. It's shocking to me how different this beef tastes and smells. The flavor is simply amazing.

We now eat beef more than once a week. The chopped sandwich steaks and bratwurst are much leaner and more tasty than conventional products. The beef cubes are versatile and perfect for chili, stews, and curries.

Hedgeapple's meat is reasonably priced, conveniently packaged, and stacks beautifully in the freezer. The one pound packs thaw quickly in the microwave.

To top it all off, Scott Barao's friendly, knowledgable service makes every visit a pleasure.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Great!
By: Carla    (Sep 4, 2008)

We love Hedgeapple Farm meats. We have been buying organic meat for about 2 years from the grocery store. We only recently discovered Hedgeapple Farm, after reading a book about the importance of supporting local farms. (Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver.) The ground meat just smells so fresh when you open up the package and the beef brisket is terrific.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Fresh from Farm to Table
By: Michele    (Aug 18, 2008)

Grandparents on both sides of my family were farmers, so I grew up with the freshest of meats and produce. As an adult, shopping in grocery stores, I could never seem to find the same quality of foods as I had been used to. What a treat to have discovered Hedgeapple's! Living in close proximity, I must have passed the store hundreds of times before venturing in one day. I'm so very glad I did. I now recommend the place to family and friends who have also been pleased with their purchases.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Great Beef and Good for the Monocacy River Too!
By: Sean McCabe    (Aug 9, 2008)

I was a next door neighbor of this farm for 5 years and I can tell you they are everything they say they are. I always witnessed humane care towards the cattle on the farm. Their farming practices also directly benefit the Monocacy River, a Maryland Scenic and Wild River. They have also placed an easement on their land to keep it as it is today for future generations to enjoy.

Since they began selling direct from the farm I have been a customer and now my family only buys their beef. Their beef is of high quality and they are very friendly and easy to work with. Nothing better than buying local AND buying high quality for a good price.

We enjoy all their cuts, the steaks are great, but lately our Baltimore Pit Beef (aka - roast beef) recipe using their roast cut has been fantastic.

You will not be disappointed - Enjoy!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



It really does matter
By: Susan Lyons    (Aug 9, 2008)

Coming from a farm family background, my sisters and I have always felt a strong connection to the land and have an appreciation for how we nourish our bodies. After reading books like Mad Sheep, Plenty, Animal Vegetable Miracle, and of course Fast Food Nation, we can only eat beef from a place like Hedgeapple Farms. My husband is the real meat eater, I only eat ground beef once in a while, and we made the decision about a year ago that Hedgeapple Farm would be our only source of beef. We see the cattle living a natural life - grazing and walking around - on our way to and from work - it really does matter. A lot of people think it is gross or disgusting to actually have a connection to the meat they consume, but I grew up on a farm so I understand the respect and caring that is involved in producing meat for consumption when all efforts are made to provide a natural life cycle. It's time to do things differently and thoughful purchases of food products is going to make a huge difference in our world. Oh, let me say that the quality is fantastic.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

says:    (Sep 10, 2008)

We drive past the farm, watching the activity of the cattle and feel good supporting the local efforts of farmers who care about their "investment". Knowing that the meat is fresh and locally grown draws us away from reliance on the major chain food stores. The quality of the meat is excellent and while priced higher than store bought meat, the added amount is worth it knowing that this is locally grown and free from the inhumane production techniques of feedlot beef. Thanks Hedgeapple for a great source of local food.



Great food I feel safe eating
By: Beth    (Aug 8, 2008)

With all the stories about this recall and that contamination, I've been getting more and more worried about the safety of our food supply. So I've been trying to eat local foods from people who eat what they grow and sell only locally. It's not possible to completely do that, but I feel much safer trying. So I was really glad to find a safe source for beef. And the best part is how good it is. I've had the ground beef, the flank steak (red-wine marinated), the kabob meat, and the sirloin steak. All tasty and reasonably priced for the quality. You really do get what you pay for!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



What a terrific local resource!
By: Anne Wolfe    (Aug 8, 2008)

I've been working on buying all of my food locally, and supporting local farmers - Hedgeapple Farm is the only place where I purchase beef. Hiqh quality beef, staff, location - you name it - it's GREAT!

Their meats are individually shrink wrapped and are sold frozen, so bring along your cooler during these hot summer months. As well as carrying every meat cut known to man, they have delicious frozen 'prepared' items that are sold by the quart. We love the beef barbeque (they also have 'Sloppy Joe's). These are a wonderful way to create a quick and easy meal when I'm short of time. They occasionally have cage-free eggs available too, just ask!

Even something as mundane as ground beef tastes terrific - I've had folks eat things that I've prepared using Hedgeapple meats (like chili, which already has strong flavors), and ask - 'What did you do to this?! It's REALLY good!' The only difference in the recipe was the Hedgeapple meat!

Come and visit and give it a try - you won't be sorry (they're competitively priced, and their value is much higher) - and support our local farms!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Great farm, great food, lovely place to visit
By: Heather    (Aug 8, 2008)

We like driving to the farm and getting the beef directly from where the cows are born and raised. We feel better about the beef knowing the animals are treated humanely and also knowing where they came from. The treatment of their animals is a high priority to the farm, or we would not be buying beef from them. This matters a lot to us, as you can probably tell! The beef tastes great and is a great value, too.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review