Reviews for: Hedgeapple Farm

Average Review:

85 reviews



Greatest place in MD to get grass fed beef
By: Ian Shifrin    (Apr 28, 2010)

My wife and I make at least a monthly pilgrimage out to Frederick (30 minute drive) to get our meat for the month. We love their ground beef boxes ( twenty-one 1lb packages of ground beef) which are convenient and delicious. We can pull one out of the freezer for burgers, taco, spaghetti, etc.

They have some of the best all beef brats (I don't eat pork, so these really make my day).

I have gotten whole tenderloins and hanger steaks for special occasions, and everyone has raved. We even had them supply all the meat to our cater for wedding.

They used to have the best half smokes, and I keep asking Steve to bring them back before BBQ season really starts up, and I'm hoping that he will (maybe you can ask him to).

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



First of many purchases from Hedgeapple to come!
By: Jeff Bresnei    (Feb 15, 2010)

My wife and I just tried one of the Deluxe Box assortments that Scott put together for us, and I don't believe we will ever buy meat from a grocery store again! The beef was tender and melted in your mouth. It was so full of flavor, it put all other meat to shame. Its hard to believe something that tastes so good is actually better for your health too.

The night after we tried Hedgeapple farm beef, we ate at a really expensive restaurant that was having a prime rib special - though the restaurant was very nice- the steak simply could't compare! We cannot wait to try the rest of the meat selections.

Quality of meat aside, the quality of service at Hedgeapple is second to none. Scott was wonderful to deal with and perhaps the most knowledgeable butcher we have ever met.

If you haven't tried Hedgeapple Farms yet, you need to do so!!!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Wonderful Beef!
By: James Golden    (Jan 30, 2010)

I bought one of the farm's 40-50 lb. "premium beef box" a few weeks and have been living large ever since. I emailed Dr. Scott ahead of time and he was willing to swap out some comparably priced cuts for stuff my family likes. My box came with about 10 1-lb. packages and like the commenter below ours is almost gone. We've been making the best cheesburgers and spaghetti and meatballs we have ever eaten. My neighbors keep asking me for the recipe for the burgers. Tonight we finished two brontosaurus-sized t-bone steaks. One tip if you have never cooked was grass fed beef is to use slightly lower heat and get a good instant-read thermometer (like a Thermapen). Ours were perfect and better than almost anything I've ever had in a steak house. (And I found them a little better marbled than other grass-fed I have had.) The farm's cabin shop is organized and clean, and Scott is a true professional and will answer any questions you have. I will definitely be back!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Thank you!
By: Lori Brown    (Jan 30, 2010)

The flavor of the ground beef from Hedgeapple Farm is superb. Although I froze ten pounds of ground beef into one pound packages a week ago, our supply is almost gone. The rich flavor of the beef has our family craving hamburgers, spaghetti and meatballs, and then more hamburgers again from the grill. We are grateful to be able to purchase quality meat at a reasonable price. Thank you Dr. Scott!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Hedgeapple Farm
By: Patricia Groombridge    (Jan 24, 2010)

I get my meat and eggs from Hedgeapple and I am very pleased with the quality. Since I am a neighbor, I pass the farm on my way around town and see the way the animals are handled and treated. The atmosphere is very natural and humane, and reminds one of what farms of yesteryear were like. Thanks for being here and making it so easy to come by the log cabin and buy your products.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Superb beef!
By: Andrea Ware    (Jan 19, 2010)

The entire "Hedgeapple Farm" experience has been a very positive one! I recently learned of the farm after moving to the area over the summer, and made my first purchase of a box of assorted beef. Scott helped to customize the selection to meet our needs, patiently answered many e-mails and questions, and provided us with the most amazing beef! The beef cooks wonderfully, and tastes incredible. I feel great serving this to my family. The free-range eggs are delicious as well. I will be a returning customer!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Scott treats you like a member of his family every time
By: Ryan Gordon    (Dec 28, 2009)

Scott was amazing! When you talk to him, he treats you like you have known one another for years; I felt like giving him a big hug! It is so refreshing to see that there are still people out there who do business with a "family oreented" approach.

I am originally from Montana so I like to concider myself an expert on good steaks. All I can say is WOW! Every cut we purchased from Scott is tender and awesome. The price is fairly compareable to grocery store prices, and the meat itself is individually wrapped, bigger, and much better looking and tasting than anything you can buy in the store.

Again, being from Montana, I concider myself an afficianado of great jerky. To be frank, I have not had great jerky since leaving home. The jerky that Scott sells will blow your mind! It is among the best I have ever had and honestly, it was VERY unexpected and VERY appreciated.

To bring this review to a point, for as long as Hedgeapple is in business and as long as Scott is there stearing the boat, I will continue to purchase all of my beef from him.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Awesome Product & Service
By: Courtney Gordon    (Oct 28, 2009)

We love Hedgeapple Farm! The prices we paid were very competitive with what we pay at any of the area grocery stores, and the product is so much better for us. Scott is great - he answers any questions you e-mail him really fast. My husband and I previously worked retail, so we are really picky about how we are treated - Scott impressed both of us! The customer service was so great! You feel like you are buying from family out there, it is not your typical shopping experience. Not only was the service great, but we have been thrilled with the meat. The taste is great, the cuts are awesome, and they have everything you could possible want. I would (and have) suggest Hedgeapple to anyone! Oh, and if you make it out there - try the jerky, you can't find anything like it in stores!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review