Reviews for: Hedgeapple Farm

Average Review:

85 reviews



Fabulous resource
By: Elisabeth Curtz    (Oct 26, 2009)

This is the best grass fed beef we've tried, by far. My husband loves to grill steaks, and is extremely happy with the texture and flavor of the Hedgeapple cuts. We're also very happy to support an operation that is providing leadership on responsible environmental practices.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Yummy Beef, Superb Service
By: Pat Hancock    (Sep 26, 2009)

Love visiting the cabin and Dr. Scott. We love the beef and so appreciate how it is raised and it makes a HUGE difference in taste and how it feels in our body.

Just love the simplicity and sense of community buying our beef (and eggs) straight from the source. Also, having the ability to buy the cuts of beef as we need them is so much easier for us than having to buy a whole or half of a cow.

Thank you Hedgeapple.

Pat and Patty Hancock

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Great Beef, Great Service!
By: Katrea Carbone    (Sep 22, 2009)

After buying meat a few times from Heartland Foods, we decided that we could probably get a better deal by going straight to the farmer. Eatwild.com was a valuable resource because it helped us to find Hedgeapple Farm.

Dr. Scott Barao is wonderful! I emailed him almost every day for four days to ask various questions about pricing, products, quality, and even what kind of cooler we should bring to pick up our order. Dr. Scott is patient, kind, knowledgeable, and an all around nice guy. He helped us to choose the best cuts of beef for the price we could afford to pay and was at the store to help us pack up.

The beef is absolutely delicious. We bought a bit of beef jerky and it is so yummy; and for the record, I am not a beef jerky fan.

My husband is pleased, my children are happy, and I am thankful to know a farm with integrity from where we can purchase good quality and healthy beef.

You can't go wrong at Hedgeapple.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Best Place for Beef
By: Wendy D.    (Jul 31, 2009)

This is a great place to visit. Everything is wonderful, the staff more than courteous and helpful. I like supporting a local business, knowing that the animals the beef comes from are humanely treated, that what I'm eating and feeding family is healthful and wholesome. Have shared with family and friends who feel the same way. Gave a Hedgeapple Farm gift certificate last Christmas which went over well. I do stock up and get a better price on ground beef by buying in quantity and was happy to see 5 lb bulk packages at a great price. I'll be going back when we run low. I'm glad my sister told me about this place.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Great beef
By: Cari James    (Jul 3, 2009)

We found Hedgeapple Farm several years ago during "Family Festival at the Farm" I was so impressed with the staff, grounds, and animals! The cattle and land is treated carefully and with prudence. No wonder the beef tatstes great! We are big fans of the steaks, roasts, and ground beef. You can always find a good new recipe, too.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Yum!
By: Pam Howe    (Jul 3, 2009)

I no longer buy beef from the grocery store...only from Hedgeapple Farm. It is excellent quality and thanks to their beef, my daughter (age 6) loves steak! I found Hedgeapple after reading Nourishing Traditions by Sally Fallon. The people to run the store are friendly and helpful. Good stuff!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



The only beef to eat
By: Hope Green    (Mar 26, 2009)

Hedgeapple Beef is the only beef we eat. I love the purity of its taste, and I know it is healthy. It's also important for me to know that the cows are humanely raised and processed...good for the environment, good for the cows and good for the consumer. Since it's just my husband and me and our dog, I don't like buying large quantities, so the convenience of buying specialty cuts when I want and need them appeals to me.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Best Beef in Maryland ... No Bull! ... lol
By: Dan Kosek    (Mar 6, 2009)

We have been buying beef from HedgeApple Farms for about 2 years. Clean, healthy, great tasting roasts, steaks and burgers. Scott and Ryan are always ready to help anyway they can, from recipes to a hand getting our purchases out to the car. If you like beef, you'll love HedgeApple beef. If you don't like store bought beef, do yourself a favor, try some HedgeApple beef. :)

BTW ... Its the ONLY beef my 20 year old Celiac daughter can eat. She can taste the difference between grain feed mystery meat from the grocery store and real, grass feed, hormone/antibiotic free HedgeApple Beef!!! So can we!

Blessing to all the team at HedgeApple Farms. We are glad your local to us up in Thurmont.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review