Reviews for: Wayland Chilies

Average Review:

14 reviews



Exceptional, Fresh, Rare...
By:    (Jun 13, 2014)

I have purchased habanero powder from the Virgin Islands to Colorado to England and nothing compares to the habanero powder I just received from Wayland Chilies. It is amazingly fresh and the flavors so delicious. The grind is perfect and the smell is divine. I could go on and on. Oh, and the shipping was super-fast. I received my order within 2 days. I'm so happy to have found this place!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Deliciously fragrant dried basil
By: Lara Chelak    (Mar 31, 2014)

Never knew dried basil could be so wonderful and fragrant! Thank you! We'll definitely be purchasing from Wayland Chilies again :)

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



So far so GREAT !!
By: Jennifer Looy    (Feb 19, 2014)

I ordered Espanhola from Wayland Chilies. My seeds arrived today in an envelope via us mail. They arrived on time and as expected. There were no sowing instructions with the shipment. Thank you Wayland Chilies I look forward to giving these a try this season.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



my favorite chili powder for stir fries
By: Corinne Zuhlke    (Sep 19, 2013)

This chili powder has great fruity, rich (and hot) flavor that goes with a lot of things. It gives Thai dishes an authentic flavor and also goes well in various stir fries. Several times I've found it to be just the thing to turn a meal from good to great. It's a staple in my kitchen. The powder was very fresh when I received it, and it lasted me nearly two years.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



looks like a bell pepper
By: John Bermer    (Jan 3, 2013)

Has a nice spiciness, not as hot as they say. A little bit more expensive in grocery stores (what do you expect for fresh veges). Great in salsa and when used as a bell pepper substitute. I have noticed that when you remove the seeds and placenta (middle section that holds the seeds) it does tame it down more. Leave that section in for more spiciness, but remove the seeds so that you can grow your own.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Great seller
By: Pam Jenni    (Oct 2, 2012)

I absolutely love Spencer! He's wonderful, spectacular customer service second to none, fast service, and a great selection of high quality seeds. Top notch all the way. And he's always available to answer questions and give advice. I have bought seeds from him for 2 seasons and have been happy with the quality and will remain a customer.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Hard to Eat but...
By:    (Jul 22, 2012)

But they are soooo YUMMY!!!. My Abuelo (Grandfather) grew these when I was a child, and just recently a co-worker gave me a zip lock bag full of these from his garden (San Jose, California). I cried not just because of the heat but because of the memories the fire in my mouth brought back. I'm Mexican and these "little devils" were used to help the parents stop their children from biting their nails. But these chilies dry well and can be stored in lidded jars, pickeled, made into a "screaming" salsa. cooked with are excellent in soups. But have to be handled with care. My employer no longer allows my co-worker or I to give chilies away to fellow co-workers during lunch...a few "first-timers" had to go to the hospital for eye or mouth burns.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Who needs roasted red pepper flakes when there is this!
By: Jeff Schultz    (Apr 30, 2012)

Ordered this last year and I am still working on it. Great flavor and great heat.. anything that used to get grocery store roasted red pepper flakes now gets this.

The heat is a bit much to use on everything so I made a mix with some more milder pepper (hot shots pepper mix actually) and it is perfect.

This is a must have for anyone who loves heat. Highly recommended.

Also great communication from the seller and a great product. Just purchased some more stuff that I am looking forward to trying. Thanks!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review