Reviews for: The Zahradka Farm at Brown's Cove

Average Review:

14 reviews



Delicious veggies!
By: Des Welch    (Jun 4, 2014)

This was our first winter with the Zahradka Farm and our first experience with a CSA. We loved the vegetables, fresh and delicious and delivered to our door. Had no problem with the deliveries varying a bit due to weather, as we were kept well informed via email. We signed up immediately for the summer program and are looking forward to a great selection of summer goodies. Thanks, everyone at Zahradka Farm!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Winter CSA customer for 2 years
By: Cathy Chiang    (May 9, 2014)

Very happy with Zahradka Farm Winter CSA! Our 2nd year with them ... reliable, good service despite bad weather and great veggies especially spinach and broccoli. Home delivery is awesome!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



They win by default
By: Norla Trechthon    (Apr 21, 2014)

If there were ANY other winter CSA's available to Baltimore City, we would switch over in a heartbeat. All of the negative comments that are listed here do still remain true through the 2014 winter season: we never knew what day to expect our delivery since it changed almost every week without notice, their email responses are practically non-existent, and some of the produce was just plain BAD. Sure some of it was also pretty good, but isn't that what I'm paying for? I was also disappointed with the selection this year since last winter there seemed to be greater variety. That said, they do have great honey.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Dave Milford says:    (May 1, 2014)

Thank you for your honesty. It's refreshing after noticing on page 2 (March 14 & 15, 2012 reviews) that the CSA organizers are posting positive reviews without identifying themselves as such. I suspect there are more reviews like that on here that are not so easily identified by a name.

Bonnie Sorak says:    (May 24, 2014)

You would be wrong. No one is trying to hide anything. We pay for our shares AND volunteer to help a true family farmer and are honored to do so.



Zahradka Farm
By: Katie Shaw    (Apr 14, 2014)

Excellent experience all around. I've been a member of this CSA for several years, both summer and winter. I am always recommending to neighbors and co-workers to join up. It changed our eating habits in many positive ways.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Wonderful experience! Dedicated people!
By: Debbie Cochran    (Apr 12, 2014)

We joined the CSA program in Spring, 2013 with a small share. (Does feed 2-3 adults.) Pick-up was at the farm stand. Many a Saturday morning, we were there when the veggies were being brought in from harvest. There was a wide variety of veggies from which to choose. (The sweet corn last season was awesome.) We usually bought extra of any goodies that we wanted to try preserving for the winter. (I made some yummy peach jam!) We found the majority of the staff friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. We also ordered a medium turkey and the Christmas box. The turkey was excellent and HUGE. We were so satisfied with the experience that we joined the Winter program. Despite the trying winter, we had a nice assortment of fresh veggies delivered every week. We had few issues, and the farm was happy to fix any problem. We have been trying the "extras" (eggs, honey, breads, granola) and have been pleased with those items. You cannot beat fresh, local food. We are signed up for 2014!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



LOVE the Zahradka Farm CSA
By:    (Apr 11, 2014)

This past winter was our first season with the Zahradka Farm CSA and we loved it. It was a harsh and trying winter, but the farmers worked through it no matter what, and we had beautiful fresh veggies every week. I found that the farmers were extremely responsive to any question or concerns. I also love all the extras that you can add to your order each week like local fresh bread, honey, coffee beans, and eggs, too name a few. The variety and quality of all the produce and other products was excellent. I can not wait for the summer season to start up.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Amazing Experience! I'm Hooked!!!
By: Camden Field    (Apr 11, 2014)

I have been a CSA Customer for two years now and I love it! This is the first year we have participated in the Winter program and I was wowed! I have always purchased a medium sized share (8 generous items) during the Summer program, however during the Winter the farm only offers two sizes. When I inquired about which size to choose the integrity and honesty I received took me aback! The Farmer's Wife, Libby let told me I should try the smaller size to save money and if we wanted to upgrade we could do so whenever. I can not count the times I have been "sold a bill of goods" to put more money in a company's "pocket". This was not the Case with the Zahradka Farm. (Thank You!)

Their website was clear and the facebook page is awesome! The produce was so fresh and if there is an issue and you bring it to light... it is taken care of right away. The owners are in the office on Mon. and Tues. and they make that clear. On the other days they are working at the farm... duh!

We love you guys!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



every week I get reminded of being taken
By: Robert Strootman    (Sep 10, 2013)

We were completely aware of "shared risk". We assumed that in paying nearly a thousand dollars for the season = we get a better deal then the walk up person at a farmers market. Instead every week we lose money and get reminded of our mistake.

Produce is fine in nature. But for $937 for 24 weeks= $39 a week for 12 shares= we pay $3.25 a share. We pick up our CSA at a farmers market where the prices are listed. And so the result is unless we chose 12 shares of heirloom tomatoes each week...for our commitment, we get ripped off each and every week. A walk-up consumer, not committed to 24 weeks pays $5 for dozen ears of corn. We pay $6.50. A basket of green beans is $3. Onions of leeks or Kale $2.00....there is no adjustment for CSA members...and most items are $3.00...so even if we chose all $3.00 items we ONLY lose $4 that week...for having committed to the whole season.

Then, not written anywhere in the contract...we found out that we were permitted only one fruit per week. We had been members in the winter and this was not the case. But for the summer it is....and what angers me more is that the full share person with the most invested (and one would think, the most valuable) gets one share of fruit. The middle CSA of six items is allowed one fruit, the smallest share of 4 items is allowed one fruit. Which to me equals those of us who risked and committed the most money, get the most screwed.

I emailed complaining about all of this and was told I could go F-myself. Needless to say we won't make this mistake again. Id be happy to send my receipt and any documentation to validate this as authentic.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Camden Field says:    (Apr 11, 2014)

Seriously? Shop at Giant where veggies are weeks old, touched by 100 different people... it's a shame they even need a "contract" but I suppose it's to protect themselves from CERTAIN people.