Reviews for: Wimer's Organics

Average Review:

19 reviews



Very Pleased!
By: Jennifer Oglesbee    (Nov 20, 2009)

This has been my first CSA experience, and I am so pleased that I chose Wimer's Organics! Every box is filled with such a wonderful variety of fresh, delicious, and gorgeous vegetables. I have had an opportunity to try some new vegetables this season while also consistently receiving many of my reliable favorites. I love that the produce is organic and appreciate that Mr. Wimer sends us weekly e-mails notifying us of what will be arriving in our next box, giving us information about what is happening on the farm, and sharing recipes. The wide variety of pick-up locations is also a great benefit of this CSA and has made it very convenient for my husband and I to participate. I would highly recommend Wimer's Organics to anyone considering a CSA membership!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



A great experience
By: Jeffrey Rupertus    (Aug 19, 2009)

It's been a great experience for me and my wife being members and site hosts for Bud and his farm. The food is delicious. Though the cooking duties are left to my (significantly) better half - believe me when i say that's best for all involved - I certainly do my share of the eating duties. The food is fresh and keeps longer than any vegetables that I've ever purchased before. For those wondering what to do with all the greens in the beginning of the year, in addition to the recipes Bud was sending I started making smoothies with kale, dandelion greens, spinach, bananas, and strawberries. They are a delicious and nutritious start to the day.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Fresh and delicious
By: Joe    (Jul 14, 2009)

This is our first CSA membership. We are very pleased with it so far. The produce is probably better than we have ever had before. It is very fresh and clean, and with a good variety of items. Bud Wimer is very easy to communicate with, and we love the fact that we can purchase a half share directly from him, and not have to find our own person to split the share with. The CSA membership has definitely exceeded our expectations, and we are very happy with it.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Delicious
By: Ian Toner    (Jul 13, 2009)

My wife and I had been talking about joining a CSA for two years, and we finally did it! Wimer's was a great choice. We eat a lot of veggies, but even so, it's taken a lot of creativity and determination to eat all of the amazing produce we've been getting every week. I agree with other reviewers that there have been a lot of greens so far, but I think part of the fun of the CSA is learning what's actually in season when, and feeling more connected to the natural cycle of harvesting. We look forward to the newsletter every week to see what new things we'll be getting. All the items we've received so far have been very fresh and tasty. It's really been nice having lots of fresh herbs around, too, especially since our own herb garden is pretty minimal.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Wimer's Organics is great
By: tanya veitch    (Jul 12, 2009)

This is our first year with a CSA. We love it. Every week there is all this fresh, organic produce. It has made me think outside the box and cook with things that I had never used before - like garlic scapes and mustard greens. Yum to both. Fresh, free range eggs are better for the environment and for the chickens as well, not to mention that they have wonderful bright yolks and taste better. I love the food and feel good about buying it from Bud. I highly recommend it!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Love Wimer's CSA
By: Desiree Mest    (Jul 10, 2009)

This is my first time getting a CSA box, and like the other reviewers, I am very happy with Wimer's CSA. I've compared what we've gotten with what friends have gotten through different CSAs, and overall we're happy with what we get. To help someone who may be thinking about Wimer's though - you can't choose what you get each week. I personally love that, because now I can't get enough kale and chard, which is something I previously would have only had occassionally. Not being able to choose really opens you up to different things. One downside, though, is that the early shares are mostly greens. Again, I love the kale, chard, etc., but sometimes we do wind up with to many salad greens or lettuce (of course, it is only 2 of us using the box, so if you have a family the amount of lettuce might work for you). One other thing to look for if you are considering a CSA - this CSA is only veggies (although I hear you can pay extra for eggs and flowers). Other CSAs might give you fruit and even meats and cheese - however, these other CSAs then won't have as many vegetables, maybe not even enough to get you through the week. Overall, great experience. I only wish there were some discussion board where the members could swap recipes!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



1st Time CSA member & very pleased
By: Bolanle Oyeleye    (Jul 10, 2009)

This is my first CSA share and I am absolutely pleased. What I love about Wimer Organics is the produce is 100% fresh, not to mention the fact that it's organic. I really appreciate the newsletter we get before the box arrives because I get to research information on produce that I've never tried before. The recipes Bud shares are also very helpful, eg the Iced Mint Tea recipe :). In the future I hope there will be an option for CSA members to select which produce we get in the box. Regardless, I would recommend this CSA to anyone who's looking for the best of the best. Thanks.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Beautiful veggies every week!
By: Roseann Deal    (Jul 6, 2009)

Bud Wimer and his team do a wonderful job of producing the most delicious and beautiful organic vegetables. I am splitting a share with a co-worker and even passing along some veggies to my mom...more than enough to go around. If are committed to eating healthier, you will not be disappointed. Bud also provides very helpful information and great recipes to his customers each week via an email newsletter. I highly recommend Wimer's Organics!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review