Reviews for: Shangri La Farm

Average Review:

15 reviews



So much to see here...Love it!
By: Jackie Eak    (Nov 3, 2013)

Was looking for eggs since our chickens are molting & have passed Elaine's farm many times & never knew just where to park until we found her here on Local Harvest, so we made a phone call to her & within an hour we had 2 dozen farm fresh eggs & a wonderful tour of her farm. I can not wait to come back when it is warmer & the farms growing season is in full swing!! We even got to meet her wonderful friends & found I lived on the same road as her friend...what a small world! :) There is so much to see & do here & depending on the season I can definitely see spending the whole day here! The owner Elaine is a very warm & welcoming woman who cares about all her animals & plants & I can tell works very hard to keep them all happy...you will not find any animal here that looks unhappy...I have never seen such beautiful happy animals.<3 If you love to reuse, upcycle & think outside the box you will definitely LOVE Shangri La Farm! Thank you so much Elaine for the eggs & I am sure we will have a long relationship w/ you & your fur friends :) All our best to you, Bill & Jackie "Hens & Hounds Haven"

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



A wonderful place full of organic food, learning and love!
By: Amanda Pierson    (Apr 2, 2013)

I cannot say enough good things about Shangri-La farm. Elaine, the farmer who owns this place, is one of the most wonderful people I've ever met. She is so kind and truly committed to promoting eating organic food. The prices are very fair, and she is very honest and flexible. Most CSAs have crazy rules and are very strict- this place offers exactly the opposite. I would highly recommend paying this farm a visit, you won't regret it.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Truly a Heaven on Earth
By: Joyce Wang    (Sep 4, 2012)

I had the most amazing opportunity this summer volunteering on Elaine's farm. She always made sure I was safe, that I was learning, and that I enjoyed my hours spent on the farm. She integrates sustainable agriculture methods, such as integrated pest management and passive solar heating, with her hard work in order to provide the best and freshest food at an incredibly reasonable price. I got to pack food for the weekly co-ops, and for $30 there about 18 lbs of fresh produce, ALL ORGANIC. Not just potatoes and weighty vegetables, but cucumbers, peaches, strawberries, grapes, tomatoes, corn, zucchini, yams, lemons, avocados, mangos, bananas, eggs, milk, home-grown greens [delicious! I hardly eat salad, but these are just phenomenal], herbs, eggplants, onions, garlic, string beans, the list goes on forever. She also has jams and spreads, pickles, and bread for sale, all homemade. Not to mention her incredible garden at the back of the farm. The spicy lettuce is to die for. All her tomatoes are sun-ripened and plump before she picks them. And of course, many other surprises that you'll just have to visit to see! She puts so much care and love and energy into her work, and you can really see and feel it when you go to the farm. She's so generous, always giving you more than what you pay for. I learned so much at the farm, from health benefits of overlooked weeds to how rewarding some good ol' manual labor is. She helped me see a lot regarding what I want to learn in college, what I want my career to be, and how to focus on paving the way to my dream future. If you ever have time, please please PLEASE visit Shangri La Farms, bring your kids and spouse, join her co-op, go to her markets, maybe even help out! But in all honesty, do whatever you can so that you can get yourself just a little taste of heaven. :)

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Elaine Taylor says:    (Sep 5, 2012)

Hello Joyce. Thank you for your kind words of encouragement. I really appreciate all that you have done for me. I trust that you are back to school and learning how you too can live your dream. Always remember that I am here for you if you need me. Sincerely Elaine



One of a Kind!
By:    (Feb 4, 2012)

This is what a woman farming can create..with endless passion, perseverence and the desire to feed those who believe in a healthier and simpler way of life Elaine is an inspiration to all of us.....especially those who think it can't be done!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



tasty co op shares!
By: jessie bersey    (Feb 4, 2012)

today was my second trip to shangri la farm, and just as last time, we had a lovely time. the weather was much nicer today, and my 4 year old daughter, my dad and i enjoyed about an hour with elaine as she showed us around and let us check out the animals and her grounds. again, the food looks delicious and i already broke into the raw organic cheddar for dinner tonight, as well as the spinach. that is the best cheese i have ever had! elaine is such a kind, genuine person and i truly enjoy talking to her. i would love to take my daughter back (she did NOT want to leave) and have her learn the ways of a farm and the work that goes into it. as others have said, the prices are great and the share is generous. its nice to support a local as well, someone who really deserves it and cares about what she is doing!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



if this is winter food, I can't wait till the SUMMER
By: margaret sager    (Feb 1, 2012)

Buy local, support small bussiness, and eat right. Because of the Organic Produce Co-oP I don't have to go to Shoprite, Stop & Shop nor Pathmart to get healthy. I get milk that has flavor. I happen to be a cheddar fan of cheeses. And the White Raw Cheddar is nice and crisp in taste. The garlic is large and has flavor. To me the cream of the crop is the organic potatoes. Something that is grown in the ground you know is going to soak up all the chemicals, impurities and nasty stuff. So to get organic potatoes is just the bee's knee's. I have turned on two of my neighbors to the Shangri La Farm Organic Produce Co-op. And I will continue to buy local, support small bussiness and eat right.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Great Food Co-op !
By: Jade Greene    (Jan 30, 2012)

Shangri La Farm recently started an organic food co-op that is well worth its reasonable pricing. I get a half-share (I'm single), share it with another single friend, and it still lasts me all week ! The veggies, milk, cheese, and eggs are all farm fresh, and for less than I was spending at the supermarket for non-organic, I'm getting ALL organic !

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Bravo!
By:    (Jan 29, 2012)

I was excited to receive my first bag of organic goodies from Elaine a couple of weeks ago. A generous amount of wholesome food was included; the avocado was perfect, the eggs from her chickens and the assortment of fruits and vegetables were fresh and delicious. Elaine took me out to her hothouses and we harvested a big container of fresh mixed greens. What a treat! As always Elaine is gracious, welcoming and a wonderful networking source for info concerning food sustainablity and all things creative. I applaud Elaine and Rick for giving us a choice to the standard food options, and working so hard to offer a community based resource that betters the lives of it 's participants.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review