Reviews for: Farmer John Palovchak's Produce

Average Review:

18 reviews



Keep it local. Make it fresh.
By: Thu Tran    (Jun 18, 2013)

Not all CSA's are created equal. What makes me feel extremely welcome on the Palovchak's farm property are the owners Gail and John. They put the member/customers first. This is apparent as you pull into the park area, they provide a large herb cutting garden. The trust they instill in sharing that space speaks volumes. Talk about providing freshness to their valued customers!

As a master gardener I am thoroughly impressed with John and Gail's natural approach to farming. They use grass clippings as mulch and weed barrier. Laying the grass between the plantings is labor intensive work that only true honest farmesr finds worth while. If they notice blossom rot or mold forming on some plantings that might compromise the health of the crop John and Gail pull the infected plantings to prevent the issue from spreading rather than using harmful sprays.

Thank you John and Gail for keeping it real. I love your ethical approach in the way you farm!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Great Produce, Friendly Family CSA
By: E Crunkleton    (Jan 4, 2013)

My husband and I have participated in this CSA for two years and fully expect to continue with our half-share. The vegetables are wonderfully fresh and delicious. The variety is great - we have had a wonderful time learning to use veggies that were previously unfamiliar to us and we have yet to meet one we haven't liked. We are also delighted with the 7-week Fall/Winter Extension option where we get an abundance of greens, root vegetables and more.

The Palovchak's have created a wonderful CSA community and their efforts are enjoyed and appreciated by many. We highly recommend joining this local resource.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



the best thing I have ever done for myself and my community
By: Kevin Flanagan    (Feb 7, 2012)

Five stars is not enough. Gail, John and Yvonne are simply wonderful people who offer an amazing abundance of fresh, oprganic food and plenty of advice on how to best use and enjoy it.

I keep saying over and over, the carrots you think you enjoy from those cello bags that traveled thousands of miles and were picked who knows when are NOTHING like the joy of eating sweet, savory and amazing carrots that were picked that moringing and only traveled about 2 miles!

Being a CSA member makes me feel good not only for my health and well being, but for the community I love and live in. As I got to know the Palovchak's over the course of last year I feel as if I have made new friends and look forward to seeing them each week and chatting about the pick and what else is happening around the area!

If you are in the Doylestown area, don't think twice...just do it and join. I'd guarantee you will feel like you are making a positive impact and difference on many many levels.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Delicious, Beautiful, Chemical-free Produce
By: Jessica Rodrigues    (Oct 26, 2011)

This was my first year doing a CSA and I couldn't say enough wonderful things about Palovchak's! It was so exciting to see what was available each week. They always had a great selection of high quality, clean, beautiful produce. We are a family of 3, my daughter only 18months, and we did the half share. We had plenty of produce to last us each week (and some weeks enough extra to freeze for winter). John, Gail and Yvonne are friendly and welcoming. It is such a joy to know the farmers who are producing the food that we eat. I signed up for the winter share. I tell everyone I know about this local jewel and plan to be back year after year!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Fun experience - Bountiful produce
By: Jennifer Steinberg    (Jan 26, 2011)

Our family's experience with Palovchak's Produce couldn't have been better. Each week we were amazed by the quantity, quality, and variety of the produce available. We still have plenty of frozen veggies from the summer/fall harvest and it's already late January! From staples like carrots to unusual items like popping corn on the cob, the farm covered all of our vegetable needs for the growing season and then some.

It's so nice to be able to talk to the people growing your food. I feel really good to know that my family is truly eating local foods grown using sustainable and environmentally conscious methods.

We are all looking forward to next season.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



If I Could Give Ten Stars, I Would
By: Jo Ann Frazee    (Jan 18, 2011)

I can't say enough good things about my experience with Palovchak's Produce. The produces was always clean, fresh and plentiful.

Some of the things I really liked were the old standbys. I didn't know that carrots could taste so good. The strawberries and blackberries were to die for...I often ate them all before I arrived home with my stash of produce! And it was so much fun trying new foods, much that I had never heard of before. When I didn't know what to do with the new food, Gail was always ready with a suggestion or recipe.

Also fun was receiving such treats as popcorn on the cob and fresh flowers, including sunflowers, and pumpkins for carving. They had a never-ending supply of fresh herbs, all I had to do was ask.

John and Gail are delightful. They treat everybody as family. On cold fall days they were ready with hot coffee and a friendly chat. My experience was wonderful. I can hardly wait for next year.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Delicious produce
By: Sarah Bower    (Jan 13, 2011)

Our family was so happy with everything we got this past season. This was our first experience with a CSA and it was wonderful. We tried vegetables that we never had before and eat more vegetables then we usually do. Gail and John are also very nice and great at giving you recipe ideas. We are looking forward to the 2011 season.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



True Family Experience
By: Beth Diguiseppe    (Jan 10, 2011)

I cannot stress enough how my family and extended family LOVED this experience. The Palovchak's are a warm, patient and welcoming family. For my immediate family, the direct experience of going to the farm & visiting the Palovchaks was a huge hit. Each week my boys (2 & 5) came to the farm with me to explore and learn about something new. My family learned about new foods and recipes. We cooked, canned (and even pickled okra!) and then shared our new recipes with cousins and grandparents. The food was fresh, clean and of wonderful quality. The fun, the memories and the new family traditions we made are priceless!

Thank you John & Gail!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review