Reviews for: Grassfield Farms LLC

Average Review:

11 reviews



What a great experience!
By: Alexis Hines    (Dec 30, 2013)

I cannot say enough about the quality of products that Howard and his family provided last season. He is dedicated to providing his members with the bounty from Mother Earth even when she is not so cooperative. I bought a two person share which provided plenty for the table, as well as some for freezing and sharing with family.

Things don't get much fresher than picked right out of the garden. Most of the vegetables were picked while I waited. Along with the vegetables came stories, recipes and just good friendly conversation.

This was my first experienced with a CSA. I picked the right one. I will be anxiously waiting for the next season to begin.

Thanks Howard for all you grow!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Howard Flenner says:    (Jan 16, 2014)

Thank you so much for the time that you took to write this very pleasant review. Each year things have ONLY improved and this is due to the CSA members who have given us a boost in the spring such as yourself! These nice reviews are heart-warming to me and I try to work hard to keep ALL of you smiling!! Howard (:



Grassfield Farms provides an excellent CSA experience!!
By: Michele Drews    (Sep 19, 2013)

If you're looking for a CSA, Grassfield Farms is the way to go.

I had never done a CSA before, but I read feedback on many sites before I made my choice. Grassfield Farms, and its owner/operator, Howard, was not very close to my home in Virginia Beach, but from prior customers' feedback, it was the clear choice.

Howard is a knowledgeable farmer who takes pride in his harvest and the service he provides to his CSA customers. He is happily tied to his farm and I have never arrived there, even on an off day, when Howard wasn't outside in the field or outside of his home, taking care for his land. His friend, Billy, a faithful neighbor and helper, Howard's grandchildren and Marley, the dog, always lend the visit a personal touch.

The vegetables and fruit you receive are all grown on Howard's farm. You can walk in the fields to see the food growing and, many times, Billy or Howard will pick things while you wait, to ensure the freshness of your share. There is no third party vendor to subsidize your CSA. I have learned to ask at farm stands now if the vegetables were grown on their farm or brought in. I have been surprised at the responses. At Grassfield Farms, you are getting local grown, fresh food.

I tried to make a list of the things I received, but failed because there is so much! I've received, herbs (spearmint, peppermint, lemon balm, oregano, sage, chives, sweet basil), rainbow chard, spinach, mixed salad greens, broccoli (the most delicious I've ever eaten!), kale, green tomatoes, red tomatoes, tomatillos, cherry tomatoes, onions, round zucchini, regular zucchini, acorn squash, regular squash, watermelon, butternut squash, cucumber, jalapeƱos, green/yellow/red peppers, pattypan, hot peppers of all sorts, cantaloupe, and more that I've certainly forgotten...and we are still moving into the fall harvest!

If you get a CSA share, expect to spend a bit of time washing, chopping, preparing and freezing your harvest, because there will certainly be more than you can eat. I thought I ate a lot of vegetables until I bought this CSA. Now I eat A LOT of vegetables. I bought a two-person share, but it is just for myself and my teen who doesn't care for vegetables (but will gladly try them if she knows they came from Howard). I've found myself freezing many things for winter and am dedicated to learning to jar some things too.

As a result of this experience, I am far more knowledgeable about where my food comes from. Before this, I had no idea there were three times for growing in the year and that the harvest would change depending on the month. I've started a home garden and will attempt growing my own vegetables next year. It's a learning process and Howard has freely shared knowledge and tips to make it successful.

To Howard, Billy, the grandkids and Marley: thank you for your hard work and service. You are all core members of your community and I appreciate your skill and dedication to your customers!

-Michele and Lennox

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Howard Flenner says:    (Oct 9, 2013)

Thanks so much for the review. I was just updating a little information and seen that you posted this VERY NICE review for the farm. It is ALWAYS my pleasure to help ANYONE in ANY WAY that I can. It has also been a pleasure to meet you and Lennox. Being someone in your capacity, we are all honored to know you and pray for you EVERY night. Thanks to BOTH of you once again. Howard



Grassfield Farms
By: Helen Hsu    (Mar 12, 2013)

We joined Grassfield farms CSA last year for the first time and we have joined again! The vegetables are super fresh and taste delicious. My favorites are the Russian Kale, broccoli and tomatoes. Our family tried fresh figs for the first time and loved them. You can see many of the vegetables growing at the pickup sight. Sometimes they are picked fresh for you when you come. When you support Grassfield farm, you are truly supporting a local family farm. Howard is thoughtful and personable. It is fun talking to him and his grandchildren. Howard aims to use no pesticides and works hard to make sure that all have a positive experience. We have been very happy.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Howard Flenner says:    (Mar 13, 2013)

Thank you so much for your review. We look forward to seeing you again this spring.



What's For Dinner?
By: Betty HAWORTH    (Feb 20, 2013)

For Years I read about CSA Farms but they are in California and the Northeast and in stories in magazines. BUT,,one day I thought about doing a search on the internet just to see if there was a CSA Farm within driving distance to me. We live in Moyock. Surprise, I found we DO have some CSA Farms in Hampton Roads.. I read all the reviews and decided to call Grassfield Farms, the closest one to me. I spoke to Howard and liked him. I sent him a check for a couple share and waited for spring to come.. No more gardening in our back yard plot.. I would let the expert do the farming. Although we had a weather disaster last year, we still ate quite well all year with plenty for the freezer. My favorite is Kale and Mustard greens and yellow squash. And best, we made a friend and enjoy talking with Howard and getting to know him.. ( He is quite a smart man). Most of all, I like the idea that Howard uses minimal chemicals and only when necessary. When I make my Kale and Bean soup I know I have something really healthy. I will be sharing my veggie recipes with everyone and hope they are well liked... Pray for a cool summer and lots of squash.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Howard Flenner says:    (Feb 20, 2013)

Thank you Betty and Roy. It has been a pleasure to have you as members of Grassfield Farms CSA. It has been a joy to speak with you guys each week and email back and forth throughout the winter. There is nothing like meeting new friends each year. Thank you once again!



Grassfield Farms
By:    (Feb 19, 2013)

2013 will be our fourth year with Grassfield Farms. If it wasn't fantastic, we wouldn't be coming back year after year.

Howard is incredibly knowledgable about the local area (what grows and doesn't) and makes sure we get the freshest produce. He tries to make the farm very family-friendly and encourages us to try something new. (Howard, I'm still not going to eat okra. No way!) We always have enough to can and freeze, but there are always enough fresh goodies to eat your fill.

I personally think that this CSA gives you a lot of bang for the buck. The location is convenient and the produce is divine, even the ugly tomatoes. Here's to a wonderful 2013 season!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Howard Flenner says:    (Feb 19, 2013)

Thank you so much for the very kind words. We have lots of new cool weather crops sprouting and growing in the hot houses right now and we will be transplanting these to the fields very soon. Thanks again



FABULOUS!
By: Stacy Meyers    (Feb 11, 2011)

There is not more to say that hasn't been said already by the other reviewers. This was my first CSA experience and I absolutely loved it. There is no way I could go back to buying strictly "conventional" produce! All the vegetables were delicious and I tried a lot of new things that I normally wouldn't. Even my 3 year old daughter could taste the difference and would often ask for things in the car as we were leaving the farm! Howard was so friendly, personable and knowledgeable about everything, picking up my share was always a pleasure. Thank you for such wonderful service and I look forward to this year's season immensely!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Howard Flenner says:    (Feb 21, 2011)

Stacy, Thank you so much for the kind review. It is always a pleasure to see you and Em on the pick up days. I too look forward to seeing all of you guys in the spring. See ya soon!!! Howard



Friendly farm! Yummy veggies!
By: Maria Cordomi    (Jan 4, 2011)

This was my family's first CSA experience and we are so glad we signed up!! Farmer Howard is awesome and you can tell that he is passionate about his work. As for the produce...absolutely delicous!! Some of our favorites were tomatoes, spinach, and broccoli. We were also introduced to new veggies that we really enjoyed. We are super excited for the 2011 season!! Thank you Farmer Howard for all your hard work!!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Howard Flenner says:    (Jan 12, 2011)

Maria and Family, you guys are the greatest. I am so happy to have a pick up point closer to you guys for the 2011 season. Realizing after we had set up pick up points more in tune to the Chesapeake area, I knew that several members were traveling great distances to pick up their shares, so, we have added a Thursday pick up at the Western Branch Community Center that will prove to be much more convenient for our Portsmouth members as well as our members traveling from Newport News and Hampton. I can not wait to see you guys in the spring. See ya soon. Howard



Great!
By: Katie Reaves    (Dec 22, 2010)

This was our first experience with a CSA and we have been very pleased. Howard is always very friendly, greeting us with a smile every week. We were happy to see that this was a very family friendly farm. My children (2 boys) loved coming out to see Howard and to explore the farm. We have very much enjoyed the vegetables. Our share was more than enough for us to be able to eat plenty during the season and freeze enough to last us through the winter as well. He also took care of us as customers by accomodating our personal preferences. My husband loves jalepenos and he gave huge amounts of jalepenos throughout the season and whenever we requested. He went out of his way to make sure that we were happy. I would definitely recommend this to anyone!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Howard Flenner says:    (Dec 22, 2010)

Thank you so much for the kind review. I have not been able to find the book titled "CSA's for Dummies" yet and have learned very much this past season. It was a great season for meeting new friends, however, I would have preferred better weather patterns. It was very much, my pleasure, to have you and your family as members of our "growing " CSA program.