Reviews for: Simple Food

Average Review:

13 reviews



Wonderful place to get back to nature
By:    (Apr 14, 2013)

Angela took my daughter and I for a tour yesterday. Such a wonderful place with amazing possibilities. They just had baby goats bouncing everywhere which my daughter thoroughly enjoyed. She even tried to kidnap one...lol We purchased raw milk which tasted wonderful. Worth the visit for sure.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Superior Farm Tour
By: Laura Hayden    (Aug 6, 2012)

My daughters and I visited the farm to help with chores and feed the goats/chickens. Our family has been enjoying the farm's milk and eggs for almost two years now and we were due for a visit - why did we wait so long? The farm tour was superior! Not only did we learn more about where our food comes from, but how much work goes into the quality we are able to enjoy in our kitchen. The girls giggled while feeding the goats our fresh-organic cucumbers, spinach, and apples we had brought; they had big eyes and huge smiles examining the colors of the eggs they found too. My favorite fun was seeing the chickens "come flying" when called and seeing how the goats had such great manners and actually knew each of their names! Big stuff for a city girl to take in. I also LOVED trying the chocolate mint - it was devine. The experience was a perfect day trip (we live in Olathe, KS) and the owners were the most hospitable I have met! Fantastic outing to share with the family.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Simple Food for your health
By: Lenore Nentwig    (Aug 19, 2011)

The products produced at the Simple Food Farm are one with the producer. Angela is passionate and dedicated about what she does. She has started off with the goats to milk products. In the kitchen she learned from her experiences to make a great goat cheese that is enjoyed by many of my fellow neighbors. From the pasture to the table I believe in supporting this farm - small business. Her products are Goat cheese and vegtables. I have been extremely satisfied with the quality of her products. I have toured her farm and she has taken time with her clients to show what her operations are all about. She demonstrates integrity in what she does at the farm as well as educates her clients about the her products and services. I have know Angela as a great buisness mind person who knows what she has and can deliver to her cliental.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Live Life Healthier & Longer! Save On Medications!
By: judy rothweiler    (Aug 16, 2011)

You should serious consider buying from Angela because she has combined her passion and her knowledge into a vocation for her family, and friends like you. As a person she has always loved the out-of-doors; and as she has grown so has her love & respect for Mother Earth, the Water, and our Air. She comes from a long line of farmers on both sides of her family so she has known "healthy food" all her life. So that's a little about her the following is about our lives.

While on a regular visit to donate blood my husband was told that he had high cholesterol & blood pressure & that is something you want to see his Dr. about right away. We were both surprised because because he worked out and was not over-weight so we thought we were pretty healthy. At this time our daughter was still in college studying Environmental Science, so Dad was as most people placed on pills to correct the issue. Upon her moving back to the area and establishment of her farm we were lucky to be some of her very first customers. At first we were just enjoying the taste of all the fresh goats milk & eggs and didn't think about the benefits to our health, but after a visit to the Dr. and a big improvement change in numbers cholesterol & blood pressure while still using the same medications; the Dr. asked what we were doing different we started to think back & the only change was the the fresh goats milk and eggs. So of course he was told to keep up the good work and a year later we now has no worries. Rick has always been proactive about his health so needless to say we are delighted Angela has chosen to provide us with this healthy choice. We believe prevention is always better than searching for a cure later.

The eggs are are the second staple & also tasty and healthy for us. One morning we didn't have enough for breakfast and I was forced to buy from the store. I bought the brown organic large, which was what we were used to & and hurried back home. When I broke the store bought eggs into the skillet next to free range eggs we found they looked completely different her eggs stood up taller, have a bright orange color yoke & the whites didn't run. They were not only more appetizing to look at her eggs were also full of flavor that didn't even compare to those from the store. We didn't set out to do a side by side test that morning, it just turned out that way.

It has been a tough couple of years to have a garden but they have managed to keep it producing from early Spring to late in the Fall. They have had so much Jeremy has been able to pickle and can several items while still providing fresh produce by the basket full. The kinds of veggies are too numerous to mention so check the next page for the listing.

If healthy food is what you are searching for you have found it!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



5 star
By: Jane McLaughlin    (Aug 12, 2011)

I have known Angela for over a year and been sampling her cheese, goat milk, and vegetables. The flavors are excellent. I hated the taste of goat cheese and milk until I tried hers. She knows the name of her goat by the taste of the milk! That's just incredible to me! I always thought all milk tasted the same, but certain breeds of goat produce varying amounts of fat which affects the flavor. Her background in environmental concerns is reflected in the wholesome feed and farming practices she practices. Although we had an excess of produce from our garden last summer, I still bought and traded with her as her varietal and heirloom plants just tasted better than what we grew and my husband also practices wholesome organic gardening methods. I purchased some of her special goat cheese to serve at our Sierra Club auction last year and it tasted better than some of the products donated by green dirt farm this spring. If flavor is what you desire, buy from this farmer!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Simple Food
By: Becky Whaley    (Aug 12, 2011)

I have visited with Angela on several occasions regarding her goat herd and her goat products she sells. We've swapped some information about what works/doesn't work for both of us. Her animals are well taken care of, and it's apparent she is in tune to each and every one that roams freely on the farm. I have purchased a milking doe from her recently. I feel she represented her very honestly. She is constantly updating her knowledge by networking with others and attending various seminars and clinics.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Conscious Farming
By: Dev Atma La Plante    (Aug 12, 2011)

As long as I have known Angela, she has demonstrated a sincere respect for life. As her yoga teacher, I have personally seen her take that yogic perspective from the yoga mat to the Mother Earth. From establishing a sanctuary for butterflies to raising goats she is always mindfull of the sacredness of life.

Angela is never too busy to share her knowledge with others. I've been taken around her farm where she not just explains but also demonstrates the various farming technologies to all those interested.I've also seen her business grow....a sure sign of someone committed to her values and her customers.

I have puchased her goat cheese on several occasions and found it to be of very high quality.Also, friends living in the area (I now live in southwest Florida) tell me of the quality of her products as well!

Thank you Angela for making a positive impact on this planet!!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Simple IS Better!
By: Penny Scott    (Aug 11, 2011)

My daughter, granddaughter and I visited with Angela earlier this week. I was actually looking for produce to can and I was refered by a neighbor to try Simple Foods. Angela was great and she gave us an impromptu tour of her farmstead, all the while educating us on the benefits of the goats milk and goats milk products. She was very kind and knowledgeable and she has very well kept and good mannered animals. The only experience I had ever had with goats milk was years ago and it was odorous and strong tasting so I thought all of goats milk tasted this way - Wrong! Indeed it is how they are raised organically by Angela. Her goats milk is very good, it had a "regular" milk taste but smoother, that is the only way I can think to explain it, you must taste it for yourself. I even drank mine warm (which she does have cold milk to taste if you prefer) I drank it all and the best part was I kept it down and did not have to run to the restroom within 5 minutes either. I do not try new food products very often. I have IBS and I.C. (I.C. is Interstitial Cystis in my bladder which is incurable) and I am very limited in what I can eat and drink and do, fatigue and weakness. Also I have Osteopenia (on the verge of Osteopororis) and Bursitis in mostly my left hip and yes at 39 I am way too young for these things - early menopause resulting in a total hysterectomy gives some explaination. Cows milk is really hard on me and I have tried other kinds of milk products same reaction and I cannot do soy whatsoever. Nor can I tolerate fresh fruits & veges, meats, anything with acid it is easier to say what I can eat, a much shorter list. Angela's goats milk was delicious, fresh and full of probiotics, calcium, B12 vitamin and potassium to name a few all of which my body is literally starving for I don't do well keeping pills / vitamins down and I am not able to supplement through my diet with food choices since I am so limited. I didn't know goats milk could be so good for you. So I am going to incorporate Angela's goats milk products into my diet and see first hand the health benefits that will come from it.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review