Reviews for: Shared Bounty CSA

Average Review:

21 reviews



Five Stars!
By: Margaret Scavotto    (Aug 22, 2011)

This is our first summer with the Shared Bounty CSA and we can't say enough good things about it. We opted for the 1/2 share, delivered, for 2 people. The delivery charge is well worth it, a cooler of produce appears on your doorstep every Saturday. If you cook every night, the full share might work for 2 people. We like to eat out a couple times a week and also buy a few things from the local farmer's market, so the 1/2 share was perfect for us. The produce is both gorgeous and delicious, and includes greens, kale, eggplant, strawberries, potatoes, lots of fresh herbs, kohl rabi, butternut squash, broccoli, cauliflower, zucchini, cucumbers, corn, tomatoes, etc. Every week there are several different kinds of vegetables. The night before, Jim sends out a newsletter with the delivery contents, plus recipes for everything in the box. Two of the veggies we had never tried before (kale and kohl rabi) turned out to be our favorites. I definitely recommend this CSA as a great way to commit to locally and responsibly grown food.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Highly Satisfied
By: mike crecelius    (Jul 13, 2011)

This is my first experience with a CSA subscription and I am totally on board. I feel I've always eaten "healthy" meals but this has taken me to a new level. I share my weekly delivery with folks at work and everyone agrees the quality of the food is greatly superior to what we are used to at our grocery stores. I thought new potatoes couldn't be improved upon until tasting Shared Bounty's. I would never have thought to try beets untill I received them last week; I'm a new fan. We made turnip fries last week; they were the best "fries" I've ever had.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Highly Recommended
By: Scott Kane    (Jul 1, 2011)

This is our first year with Shared Bounty and we went with a full share. I was concerned because my last experience many years ago with a different CSA was underwhelming bags of field greens. But Jim put my concerns to rest! Each week he brings a great mix of items all of excellent quality right to our door. We have been enjoying old favorites and have gotten to try some new favorites. We went with the egg option and have been equally happy with the size and quality of the eggs we get each week.

If you're thinking about a CSA my advice is to go for it and buy your share from Shared Bounty before it sells out.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Great Experience
By: Nicole Helm    (Jun 27, 2011)

This is my family's first year trying a CSA and we have been very happy with Shared Bounty. I had always wanted to try a CSA but was leery about it because I am a very picky eater. We went with a half portion, and have been very pleased.

The produce has been top notch and our family of three has tried a lot of things we would have never picked up at the grocery store. We look forward to the newsletter each week of what we can expect and possible recipes to use.

I had high hopes for this experience, and Shared Bounty has gone above and beyond what I hoped for. I would highly recommend them to anyone interested in CSA food.

We have already decided we will be doing this again next year. Shared Bounty is excellent!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Awesome, easy CSA!
By: Kate Wilson    (Jun 27, 2011)

This is my first season with Shared Bounty, after a (full) year splitting a share using FairShares. I love that Shared Bounty just does veggies, as I'm mostly vegetarian, and that they do half-shares. The delivery option is so easy - just set out an empty cooler in the morning and by the time I get home I have plenty of food for the week!

All produce has been incredibly fresh (complete with some farm friends, aka caterpillars...protein!), and the videos (posted on youtube) are always entertaining. There's a weekly newsletter sent out to the members with the list of produce for the week as well as recipes including everything, in case you aren't sure what to do with all the veggies. The eggs are delicious (and huge)!

It's great to know that everything is grown just down the road, and I'm looking forward to more. As the season goes on, we're getting a larger selection in the weekly box - so exciting! The half-share is definitely too much food for one person, but it's great to share.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



The Kids are eating VEGGIES!!
By: Stephanie Greiner    (Jun 27, 2011)

We joined Shared Bounty this year, 2011, and we've been VERY happy with our experience. We purchased a 1/2 share and our family of 4 (2 toddlers, 2 adults) has really enjoyed opening our cooler each Saturday morning!

Shared Bounty has kept us informed and sent amazing newsletters with great recipes each week! We get a great variety of herbs, veggies and fruit and my kids have tried EVERYTHING (even the purple kohlrabi)! This is the first time my two little ones have tried so many different varieties...they may not love it all but if I say, "It came from the farm!" They are more apt to trying and it's been a huge success.

We're very happy with Shared Bounty, they do an excellent job and we're looking forward to the rest of the season and many growing seasons to come!!!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Local and quality produce
By: Teresa Roth    (Jun 19, 2010)

I am proud to be a shareholder in Shared Bounty CSA. I am always so excited to see what the week's delivery will be! The convenience is unparalleled; the newsletter is e-mailed to me and the produce is delivered to my doorstep. There is something so satisfying about preparing and consuming food that is locally grown! I have enjoyed my favorite veggies (zucchini, broccoli, cauliflower, lettuce, potatoes, herbs, strawberries) but have also had the opportunity to experiment with produce that I normally wouldn't have (kale, swiss chard.) The brown eggs are delicious as well. Their website is easy to navigate and informational, and I look forward to visiting the farm!!!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



great experience!
By: Margaret Cochran    (Jun 17, 2010)

This is our first experience with a CSA and it has been great! We love having the food delivered to our doorstep each week, the produce is very clean and healthy and I love that we are eating more healthy foods now. I confess it worried my family that we would be eating a lot of veggies now but so far no complaints! I will be delighted to sign up again next year!

I give it 5 stars but not sure that is showing up above.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review