Reviews for: Antaya Acres Heritage Farm

Average Review:

20 reviews



Great CSA farm with produce, eggs, & meat options
By: Thomas Helmholdt    (Nov 8, 2012)

My wife and I wanted to find a local farm where we could get organic produce after having purchased organic beef from a local farm. We believe that local grown produce, eggs and meat taste better and is healthier for our family. As a result of our search, we found Antaya Acres Heritage Farm and have received an abundance of CSA produce and eggs over the years with plenty to share with family and friends. My personal favorites are the large variety of melons, tomatoes, squash, and hot peppers available from the farm. We have now signed up to be part of the 2012 pork CSA for winter (after having sampled some of the spicy delicious sausage available from the farm). We have been a CSA customer with Antaya Acres Heritage Farm for over 3 years, so we have been there through the good years and the bad years. There are never any guarantees when it comes to farming. The true test of a CSA farmer's character comes when times are difficult. We were very impressed when Stephanie Antaya offered all of her customers the option to move their contracts from 2011 to the 2012 growing season due to weather related difficulties at the farm. They did not have to do that. According to the CSA contract, it is a shared risk and they could have left it at that. But these are decent, honest, hardworking farmers who always try to do the right thing with respect to their customers. We know this decision made it a very difficult time period at the farm over the past year, but we personally want them to know that we appreciates all of their hard work and dedication to grow and raise healthy food to feed our family. We have already signed up for the 2013 growing season, because we know this is a farm where we can get excellent organically grown produce, eggs, and meat. We look forward to another year with Antaya Acres Heritage Farm, a CSA farm that has earned our trust and respect.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Enough produce to share!!
By: Sue Ann Larabell    (Oct 30, 2012)

I subscribed to a half-share of produce plus eggs. Almost every week I was sharing with sisters and/or parents because It was just to much for me and because I really wanted to share this great produce with everyone. Over the season I received onions (you gotta try the 'candy cane' variety), melons (four different kinds), peppers & tomatoes (enough to preserve for winter), multiple deliveries of kale, chard, herbs, eggplant, corn, squash and a kohlrabi the size of a basketball.

Stephanie is always very knowledgeable about her produce and helpful when I have questions on how to preserve or prepare the bounty. She is also clearly passionate about being able to continue raising livestock & crops in the manner they were intended. She works hard, and is, therefore, not able to update her Web site (blog) on a regular basis, but can be counted on to return a phone call without a long delay.

Next year promises to be fabulous!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Re: Antaya farms registering pigs
By: Lorrie Huntley    (Jul 30, 2012)

Finally, after a year and posting complaint adds throughout the Internet about receiving our grazing pigs registration papers! the Antayas did send our papers to us. We lost a season of breeding but the Antaya's did make good. Thanks for all the helpful farmers for their support with this matter and for all the new contacts for heritage pigs. We run an eleven acre farm and work full time so we are not strangers to hard work but, honesty is still the best policy, Restored faith in mankind :).

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Brats and produce
By: Darcy Monier    (Jul 30, 2012)

We have purchased the brats that have come from the pigs at Antaya Acres and have been more then satisfied. We raise our own pork on our farm but when we have run low Steph is always there to pick up our slack. The produce that we also have gotten from them has been great. We again do grow our own garden but they are able to fill in where we don't have the space. Farming is a tough job, I know first hand. Thanks for all you do Steph and Brett, it is appreciated!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Papered Large Black Piglets
By: len feebz    (Jul 24, 2012)

I found Antayas Acres on craigslist and i like the large black breed of pig. We made an agreement that they would trade me some papered large black breeding stock in exchange for my china polands piglets. After my pigs were picked up in early spring 2011 i was told i would get my large black piglets in early summer 2011 as they were not born yet. Later that summer i was informed that i would not get my large black piglets due to the piglets were not purebred, and they were not able to get papers .I was told i would half to wait for a later litter. The following spring and still no piglets i decited to take back my pigs that were not payed for. After several phone calls and attempts to get in contact with Brett. Finally i was able to get them to agree to let me pick up my pigs.It was a long ordeal that i would rather not go through again. The family was very polite and helpful while retreving my gilts I gave this farm a 2 star needs inprovement i think they got in way over their head, got to big to fast. Never should offer papered pigs if you do not have the papers on your sows yet. Im shure this was a learning experiance that can be corrected, as for me cash no more trading I reed lots of reviews and i can see that their is a lot of people that have had good dealings with antaya acres, and some that had bad. While my experiance was bad i appreciate the fact that this family is trying to live off of the land. And willing to grow food for others. People do not understand the amount of hard work this demands.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Brett & Stephanie Antaya says:    (Jul 26, 2012)

Biggest problem with my transaction with Leonard was after purchasing 13 'registered' LBH gilts/sows, we only ever received paperwork on one of them. Only 7 of the 13 proved fertile, and 2 of those died during farrowing to stuck piglets. The one sow we actually have registration papers for is the one we bought from Kay Wolfe, who at the time was the president of the LBHA and could print her own. I couldn't deliver on registered piglets because we couldn't get the paperwork for our pigs from the people who we purchased them from. Most of them couldnt get the paperwork from Ted Smith in Mississippi, or at least that was our understanding. Ted has been behind for so long it was standard practice for his registry for paperwork to take up to a year. Ted is in his 80s and in poor health last we had heard, so getting paperwork from his registry at this point will probably never happen. Communication between us should have been better, but I work 100 plus hours a week trying to hold down the fort up here, while Brett works downstate and the little people stay down there with him most all of the time. I was barely hanging on...I stopped talking to just about everyone and went into survival mode. I haven't sold a purebred LBH since, nor will I - papered or not they are not a good production pig..but it took us a good while to get that all sorted out. Noone wants to speak the truth about the pigs because they are afraid it will hurt the market for the purebred hogs, and it would. We only cross them for meat these days. Our results with the crossbred hogs have been much better. You get the marbling with the benefits of a larger genepool. I'm sorry Leonard, I wish I could have fixed it sooner and I wish I had a better solution to offer. I had no way of knowing we wouldn't get the paperwork. There were 3 seperate breeders involved and I firmly believe they all thought that they would be able to get them (just like we did) and it just never happened. I would have loved to offer you a cash refund, but Lord we just didn't have it...so we did what we could. You know what circumstances I have up here.



Re: Tamworth heritage grazing pigs from Antaya Farms
By: Lorrie Huntley    (Jul 4, 2012)

Thank you very much for the link pertaining the Antaya heritage farm. For your information they told us they had no irrigation systems set up at the farm( no running water at the farm whatsoever). They were hauling water from a neighbor's in a 250 gallon tote to water their pigs. As you have read our situation on Craig's list with the unregistered pigs, ( no registration given making us unable to breed and sell this year and confirmed with the Tamworth Association of America)Brett gave us a call on the 4th to inform us he was going to sue us for liability for the add we placed on Craig's list. None the less, they flagged our post, within 15 minutes we posted again and will keep on until satisfaction or court. Below is a link to our posting that explains the unprofessionalism of Antaya Acres who are clearly amatuers learning the business off other people's unfulfilled investments buyers beware!!!

http://flint.craigslist.org/grd/3118853959.html

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Shady & dishonest business practices. Stay away from CSA
By: Judy Smith    (Apr 18, 2012)

This is an amateur CSA and they do not know what they are doing.

In their description they fail to mention that they did not deliver a single vegetable in 2011 to CSA subscribers! Do not be fooled. Steph is trying to deceive potential CSA subscribers by deleting any mention on her blog (antayaacres.com) of her failure to deliver any of the food shares last year. She posted numerous blogs in May and June 2011 detailing the difficulties of growing the crops and her eventual failure to deliver any of the promised shares. Her explanation for not producing any of food was put down to there being a lack of water and an extraordinarily hot summer. Strangely enough at many Farmer's markets in the region other farmer's were able to grow and sell their products without any difficulties?!

When asked about refunds for her failure to deliver to her subscribers, her response was oh well, I need to feed my family and I cannot afford to reimburse anyone and we need whatever is grown to feed our family during the winter season. So pretty much tough luck!

If you are looking for a professional CSA who communicates clearly with their shareholders, LOOK ELSEWHERE! She did not even have the decency to confirm when she received our CSA payment check but went ahead and happily cashed the cheque. We paid in advance trusting comments on here that this was a good CSA but to our disappointment we are out over $400 and have yet to receive 1 vegetable from Antaya Acres Farm!

Steph be honest with your subscribers and repost on your blog what really happened last year and I hope that you will be able to deliver on your promises to last year's subscribers!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review

Comments on this Review:

Brett & Stephanie Antaya says:    (Apr 18, 2012)

While I appreciate Judy's frustration with last years growing season, her assessment of what happened is unfair and inaccurate. Several CSAs in our area are no longer in business after severe drought and uncharacteristic hot temperatures last spring. Three consecutive days in May were over 100 degree heat index and those crazy temps continued on into June. Rather than deliver small and disappointing baskets last year, we communicated with our customers and we moved every single customer forward to this growing season for the exact same programs that they signed up for last year at our expense (including Judy if she wishes to take part). That is more than any other CSA that I am aware of would have been willing to do. CSAs operate on a risk/reward system and we decided to absorb the risk end of it, instead of passing on the devastation to the people who chose to put their faith in our farm. It is important to our farm and family that each of our members feel that the money that they spend through the farm is money well spent and that the program is a signifigant value. There are no guarantees in gardening, but I have been a large scale organic gardener for over 15 years, and last year is the first year we were unable to deliver. As far as communication goes..I blog several times a week during the growing season and even as we have grown as a farm I am still the one who delivers the produce personally. I have a cell phone which I keep on me 24/7 and I am available to answer questions whenever they might arise. If anyone has any questions about last years growing season I would be happy to answer them, but I never received a call or an email voicing Judy's concerns personally. I did however, spend extensive time communicating the garden to our shareholders every step of the way. I am looking forward to a wonderful growing season this summer and to getting to know all of our CSA customers this CSA season. Steph

Brett & Stephanie Antaya says:    (Apr 20, 2012)

One other thing I would like to point out is that you don't really know the character of the farm you are working with until times get tough. When a season is abundant and the weather is cooperative all things are bright and beautiful and everyone is happy - farmer and subscriber alike. When seasons are ugly and devastating you get to know one another on a whole different level. CSAs are unique in their format and require an understanding and commitment that is reciprocated. Last season for the farm the cost was severe, and making the decision to move everyone forward to this season means that we will make approximately 1/4 of what we have made as a farm on the garden in seasons past. We did it because we care about our customers.



Delicious
By: Jennifer Betsistas    (Jun 30, 2011)

The pork is wonderful. The flavor and leanness of this pork is unlike anything that I have ever purchased. I have been part of other meat CSA's in the past and this pork is the best by far.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review