Reviews for: Sweet Home Organics

Average Review:

8 reviews



First CSA and very happy
By: Mike Fi    (Oct 18, 2012)

We truly enjoyed out CSA experience with SHO this year. The variety was great, exposing us to new veg options and twists on old recipes using new produce. The weekly newsletter was always eagerly anticipated and the recipes included were very helpful. Thanks!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Love Love Love!
By: Lina Coulson    (Jul 26, 2012)

I could not be happier when I get these awesome vegetables. I have been able to try new things. I think the quality, taste, and people who run it are awesome. I also appreciate the weekly email with recipes and tips which comes in handy! Thank you :)

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Delicious Organic Local Veggies
By: Dana Thomas    (Nov 6, 2011)

I am so happy that I became a member of the Sweet Home Organics CSA this year. When you become a member, you get much more than just the delicious food. Kim and Rachel are really friendly and knowlegeable, and it's a pleasure to see and talk with them at the weekly pickup. They provide great advice for storing the veggies as well as great ideas for recipes in the weekly emailed newsletter.

The vegetables that we received this year were so good! I was really happy with the variety of vegetables that we received in our boxes. The veggies came nicely bundled and were always fresh. I also like that they reuse their boxes and containers to reduce waste. Near the end of the season, they held a CSA member potluck at the farm where it was great meeting other members and eating awesome food.

I am continuing my membership in 2012 and will continue to do so in the future. Thank you Kim and Rachel and all the volunteers at the farm for your hard work and the delicious food!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Proud to have them in the community!
By: Jennifer Downing    (Jun 30, 2011)

I purchased seedlings from Sweet Home this spring and they have grown like gang busters and are phenomenally tasty. I will certainly visit the farm stand to fill in holes from my own garden harvests.

You really have to check them out - their work is terrific and I am so glad they have chosen St. Charles as their home.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Happy Bellies:)
By: Savannah Stewart    (Jan 11, 2011)

I searched for two years for a CSA that was close to home and had organic veggies. My husband and I were delighted to find SHO and our farmers, Kim and Rachel. We received box after box of fresh vegetables and herbs and occasionally items from other local farmers. We also had wonderful opportunities to help on the farm and really felt like a part SHO family and community. I have a garden at home and was grateful for the help and support Kim and Rachel provided when I had questions. We also didn't have to shop for vegetables for about 2.5 months~keep in mind there are only two of us and we are vegetarians. How great is that?

The night before we went to fetch our veggies, we received an email about our box as well as some useful links to recipes. I was so grateful for these emails because there were some veggies in the boxes that I had never seen let alone prepared before. Farmer Kim even made videos to show how to prepare some of these veggies. Knowing what we were getting really helped meal planning so that we could use everything at its peak freshness!

We look forward to another great year with Sweet Home Organics!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Terrific first year!
By: Maggie Haroldson    (Jan 8, 2011)

Sweet Home Organics is fantastic. This was our first experience with a CSA and we were extremely pleased. My sister-in-law and I split the box, and there was plenty of tasty, healthy food. I love most vegetables, but was introduced to some exciting new veggies and learned to love some I thought I hated. (Fresh beets? Swiss chard? Yum!) In addition, the weekly newsletters and videos gave us practical hints on how to prepare unfamiliar foods and also provided many wonderful recipes that have become family favorites. Kim and Rachel could not be more helpful, hardworking and friendly. Signing up again was a no-brainer. We can hardly wait to see what they have in store for us next year.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



First CSA, Best CSA
By: Greg Busse    (Jan 7, 2011)

This is the first CSA my wife and I have joined and we could not be happier. We have read so many stories about so many other CSAs that had all kinds of flaws and we have had nothing but positive experiences with Sweet Home Organics.

The quality of the produce is excellent, the methods they use are truly organic and environmentally friendly, we get a wide variety of different foods (including some interesting and exotic veggies), and the quantities are almost overwhelming for a 2-person household. We hardly ever had to go shopping at a grocery store for more than a couple extra things during the season. Households that have children should find the quantities to be more than adequate.

The farmers themselves are also good people and I think this is really important to mention. They held an open-house event at the beginning of the growing season and we actually got to go out to the farm, meet our farmers, see the actual food that was being grown for us and the methods being used. The farmers are extremely knowledgeable and love what they do which greatly increases the quality of the product. It feels really good to actually know the people who are growing your food and know where it comes from and that we can trust them to do a good job. They're also fun, friendly people who are fun to talk to and hang out with.

I highly recommend this CSA to anyone who is near one of the pick up locations and my wife and I will be sticking with them for as long as they're around. Joining a CSA is one of the best decisions we've made as a family and we are extremely lucky to have joined such a high-quality farm.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



This is a wonderful CSA!
By:    (Aug 10, 2010)

I was tempted to leave a rating for Sweet Home Organics before the produce was even available because of the enthusiasm, knowledge, dedication, and wonderful communication skills of the farmers. Now that we're halfway through the season, I can say that everything provided backs up my initial feelings in spades. This season has brought a wide variety of fresh produce, helpful tips, anecdotes, and information, photos, farm visits and opportunities to help, as well as fun food preparation videos. Sweet Home Organics truly embodies every aspect of what being a part of a CSA is all about. I would highly recommend becoming involved with the Sweet Home Organics farm to everyone who really wants the full experience of being part of community supported agriculture. Thank you Kim and Rachel!

Lesli K.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review