Reviews for: Open Acres CSA

Average Review:

12 reviews



a bounty of good food and good will
By: Katharine MacCornack    (Nov 8, 2010)

What a great CSA for so many reasons! First, the veggies are always fresh, organic, and beautifully displayed. The farm stand is both a feast for the eyes and the palate. Farmers Heather and Nate care diligently and responsibly for the land, and are dedicated to making a contribution to sustainable agriculture. They are an inspiration! Anyone who loves to cook and eat will enjoy this CSA, and it's economical and thrifty - you really won't have to buy more veggies if you use the ones from the CSA well. Heather and Nate are always providing recipes and ideas, or you can use your own. You really feel like you are part of nature in the setting along the river as well - I looked forward to every Saturday morning trip to the farm stand as a journey. I know that the other community members and I wondered what we would find each time. I already signed up for next year!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



YUMMO
By: Karen Moffat    (Nov 5, 2010)

Fresh...fresh...fresh and delicious. Some of the veggies were standard favorites, but what we really enjoyed was trying new ones. Each pickup was like opening up a present. You didn't know what you were going to find, but knew that it was going to be something good. We have to mention the vivid colors - you won't find baby bok choy the bright color of lime in any food store or the non-waxey rutabaga's that when mashed with the red potatoes are to die for. Many thanks to Heather and Nate for all of their hard work. We enjoyed every bite and can't wait for season two!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Worth Every Dime, and then some.
By: Alex Wolfson    (Nov 4, 2010)

It was a bit of a leap of faith for me to join Open Acres but at the close of their (our) first season I can truly say that I have not regretted it for a minute. I can comment on the quality of the food Nate and Heather have produced but others have expressed it far more eloquently in other reviews than I can. What I will express is my gratitude for the experience of what we call "The CSA Diet". Having to think about how and what to use from my weekly share has been a real, and tasty thrill. I eat differently than before, I eat better.

Let me add that those of us who are dedicated carnivores can only have better and tastier dining experiences with vegetables like these.

The Garlic, Good God in Heaven, The Garlic!

Thanx Nate and Heather, thanx much.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



A great decision!
By: Heather Wentz    (Nov 4, 2010)

I joined Open Acres CSA upon recommendation from a friend... and it turned out to be one of the best things I ever did for my young family! Visiting the farm with my husband and three year old son to pick out loads of beautiful, fresh, colorful produce, looking at the tractors and talking about where our food comes from was a great learning experience. Some of my most memorable moments were when my son was munching on a freshly picked carrot (with the top on) all the way home from a pick-up and also when he asked for kale chips as a bedtime snack! I feel great feeding my family Open Acres' produce. I look forward to next year's season when I can bring my two children and enjoy wonderful produce once again!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



the best!
By:    (Nov 4, 2010)

We moved to the area last year and began looking around for a CSA since we had enjoyed being a part of one in years past. We were so excited to find Open Acres! The first season was great. We were impressed with the quality of the produce and the care that Heather and Nate gave to everything they harvested. We enjoyed pick-ups each week because of their welcoming attitude -- we never felt like we were just another pick-up through a revolving door.

We are already looking forward to next season!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



An Open Acres Customer for life!
By: Rebecca Bettler    (Nov 3, 2010)

Last spring we heard about Open Acres shortly after the CSA season began. Thankfully, they still had room for us in their first season (that filled up shortly after). Week after week, we have had beautiful, delicious, fresh and wonderful produce. We enjoyed such an eclectic variety of vegetables, along with many great recipes supplied by Open Acres.

Additionally, Heather and Nate are two of the kindest and genuine people I know. They are always willing to work with us if we have to miss a pick up, and they really have a passion for what they do.

I'm know I'm not the only one who is seriously dreading the winter and having to go back to the grocery store for vegetables! I can't wait for the CSA season to start up again!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Can't wait for next season!
By: Victoria Maxwell    (Nov 3, 2010)

So pleased that Open Acres has come to our area. The shares are an excellent value, the produce is gorgeous, fresh and full of flavor and the weekly pick-ups are a happy, friendly, community experience. Can't wait till next season!! Thank you to our farmers for a wonderful first year.

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review



Need more stars for review!
By: trish gross    (Nov 2, 2010)

There are not enough stars to give Heather and Nate for the experience we've had with their farm this year. Each share has been a plethora of produce, presented beautifully. The bins and weekly quantities were always clearly marked. The produce clean, fresh and plentiful with a lot of variety. Heather and Nate were always friendly and full of suggestions or ready to listen to an idea. If a scheduled pick up would be a problem, they were flexible and willing to work with you. A charming couple, a competent and enviable CSA, I would recommend Open Acres with no reservations or hesitations and have already signed up for the 2011 season! This is really one of the best things I've ever done!

Congrats to Open Acres for a wonderful first year!

Flag as Inappropriate   Comment on this Review